Make us your home page
A Times Editorial

Times editorial board recommendations for the 2012 primary

The Tampa Bay Times editorial board has recommended candidates for federal, state and local offices on the Democratic, Republican and nonpartisan ballots on Aug. 14. The full recommendations can be viewed by clicking on the name of the office sought.

Editor's Note: Congressional and legislative districts have shifted significantly this election cycle due to the state's once-a-decade redistricting. To find the districts you are eligible to vote in, click on your county's name:

Hernando | Hillsborough | Pasco | Pinellas



U.S. Senate

• Democrats: Bill Nelson

• Republicans: Dave Weldon

U.S. House

• District 13 Republicans: C.W. Bill Young

• District 14 Republicans: Evelio Otero

• District 17 Republicans: Tom Rooney




Florida Senate

• District 17 Republicans: John Legg

• District 20 Republicans: Jack Latvala

• District 22 Republicans: Jim Frishe

• District 24 Republicans: Tom Lee

Florida House

• District 34 Democrats: Lynn Thomas Dostal

• District 36 Republicans: Mike Fasano

• District 37 Republicans: Richard Corcoran

• District 57 Republicans: Jake Raburn

• District 59 Republicans: Betty Jo Tompkins

• District 61 Democrats: Betty Reed

• District 63 Democrats: Mark Danish

• District 65 Republicans: Peter Nehr

• District 66 Democrats: Mary Louis Ambrose

• District 67 Republicans: Ed Hooper

• District 68 Republicans: Frank Farkas

• District 69 Republicans: Kathleen Peters

Circuit Court

(Judicial races are non-partisan contests. If no candidate wins more than 50 percent of vote on Aug. 14, the two top vote getters will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.)

5th Circuit, Hernando County

• Public Defender: Bo Samargya

13th Circuit, Hillsborough County

Group 14: Mark Wolfe

6th Circuit, Pinellas & Pasco counties

• Group 15: Andy Steingold

• Group 31: Kim Campbell

• Group 45: Jack Day



(School board, county judge and mayoral races are nonpartisan contests. If no candidate wins more than 50 percent of vote on Aug. 14, the two top vote getters will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.)

Hernando County

Sheriff, Republicans: Al Nienhuis

Elections Supervisor, Republicans: Shirley Anderson

Property Appraiser, Republicans (open primary): John Emerson

School Board District 2: Matthew Foreman

School Board District 4: Robert Neuhausen

Hernando County Commission

• District 1, Republicans: Nicholas Nicholson

• District 3, Republicans: John Druzbick

• District 5, Republicans: James "Jimmy" Lodato

Hillsborough County

Property Appraiser, Republicans: Ronda Storms

Elections Supervisor, Democrats: Craig Latimer

Commission District 2, Republicans (open primary): Victor Crist

Commission District 6, Republicans: Don Kruse

County Judge Group 3: Ann Ober

County Judge Group 4: Frances Maria Perrone

County Judge Group 12: Matt Lucas

Hillsborough School Board

• District 1: Susan L. Valdes

• District 3: Cindy Stuart

• District 5: Doretha Wynn Edgecomb

• District 7: Carol W. Kurdell

Pasco County

Sheriff, Republicans: Chris Nocco

Property Appraiser, Republicans: Mike Wells

County Judge Group 2: Tom Hanlon

School Board District 2: Joanne Hurley

School Superintendent, Republicans: Kurt Browning

Port Richey Mayor: Eloise Taylor

Pasco County Commission

• District 1, Republicans: Ted Schrader

• District 3, Republicans: Kathryn Starkey

• District 5, Republicans: Jack Mariano

Pinellas County

Sheriff, Republicans: Bob Gualtieri

County Judge Group 2: Cathy Ann McKyton

Pinellas County Commission

• District 7, Democrats: Ken Welch

Pinellas School Board

• District 1: Elliott Stern

• District 7: Rene Flowers

Times editorial board recommendations for the 2012 primary 07/17/12 [Last modified: Monday, August 6, 2012 10:59am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours