Times editorial board recommendations for the 2012 general election

Published October 8 2012
Updated November 6 2012

The Tampa Bay Times editorial board has recommended the following candidates for federal, state and local offices and decisions on state and local ballot measures on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. The full recommendations can be viewed by clicking on the name of the office sought or the ballot measure title.

Editor's Note: Congressional and legislative districts have shifted significantly this election cycle due to the state's once-a-decade redistricting. To find the districts you are eligible to vote in, click on your county's name:

Hernando | Hillsborough | Pasco | Pinellas



U.S. President: Barack Obama

U.S. Senate: Bill Nelson

U.S. House, District 11: Richard Nugent

U.S. House, District 12: Gus Bilirakis

U.S. House, District 13: C.W. Bill Young

U.S. House, District 14: Kathy Castor

U.S. House, District 17: Tom Rooney



Senate District 20: Jack Latvala

Senate District 24: Tom Lee

Senate District 26: Bill Galvano

House District 34: Nancy Argenziano

House District 35: Rose Rocco

House District 57: Jake Raburn

House District 58: Dan Raulerson

House District 59: Gail Gottlieb

House District 62: Janet Cruz

House District 63: Shawn Harrison

House District 65: Carl Zimmermann

House District 66: Mary Louise Ambrose

House District 67: Ed Hooper

House District 68: Dwight Dudley

House District 69: Kathleen Peters



Florida Supreme Court Merit Retention

Justice R. Fred Lewis: YES

Justice Barbara Pariente: YES

Justice Peggy Quince: YES

2nd District Court of Appeal Merit Retention

Judge Anthony K. Black: YES

Judge Darryl C. Casanueva: YES

Judge Charles A. Davis Jr.: YES

Judge Edward C. LaRose: YES

Constitutional Amendments

Amendment 1: NO

Health care services

Amendment 2: NO

Veterans disabled due to combat injury; homestead property tax discount

Amendment 3: NO

State government revenue limitation

Amendment 4: NO

Property tax limitations; property value decline; reduction for nonhomestead assessment increases; delay of scheduled repeal

Amendment 5: NO

State courts

Amendment 6: NO

Prohibition on public funding of abortions; construction of abortion rights

• (Amendment 7: Removed from ballot)

Amendment 8: NO

Religious freedom

Amendment 9: NO

Homestead property tax exemption for surviving spouse of military veteran or first responder

Amendment 10: NO

Tangible personal property tax exemption

Amendment 11: NO

Additional homestead exemption; low-income seniors who maintain long-term residency on property; equal to assessed value

Amendment 12: NO

Appointment of student body president to Board of Governors of the State University System



(School board, county judge and mayoral races are nonpartisan contests. The candidates represent the two top vote getters from the Aug. 14 primary ballot.)


Sheriff: Al Nienhuis

Supervisor of Elections: Shirley Anderson

County Commission District 1: Nick Nicholson

County Commission District 3: Diane Rowden

County Commission District 5: Ramon J. Gutierrez

School Board District 4: Robert Neuhausen

Referendum: Environmental lands: YES

Referendum: Mosquito control: NO

Brooksville City Council, Seat 2: Frankie Burnett

Brooksville City Charter No. 1: YES

Brooksville City Charter No. 2: YES


Property Appraiser: Bob Henriquez

Supervisor of Elections: Craig Latimer

County Commission, District 4 (East Hillsborough): Al Higginbotham

County Commission, District 6 (countywide): Kevin Beckner

School Board District 7: Carol W. Kurdell

Charter amendment: Change "handicap" to "disability": YES

Charter amendment: Require financial impact statements: NO

Plant City charter amendment:
Allow city commission to fill vacancies: YES


Sheriff: Chris Nocco

Clerk of Circuit Court: Paula O'Neil

Property Appraiser: Mike Wells

Tax Collector: Mike Olson

County Commission District 3: Kathryn Starkey

County Judge Group 2: Tom Hanlon

Referendum: Penny for Pasco sales tax renewal: YES


Sheriff: Bob Gualtieri

Supervisor of Elections: Deborah Clark

County Commission District 1: Janet C. Long

County Commission District 3: Charlie Justice

County Commission District 7: Ken Welch

School Board District 1 (countywide): Elliott Stern

School Board District 7 (South Pinellas): Rene Flowers

Referendum: Continuation of ad valorem tax for schools: YES