press release
5/16/13 09:29AM

Paul Tash, CEO of Tampa Bay Times, elected chair of Pulitzer Prize Board

Paul C. Tash, who began his career as a Times reporter and rose to become the chairman and chief executive of Florida’s leading newspaper, has been elected chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

TAMPA BAY, FL – Paul C. Tash, who began his career as a Times reporter and rose to become the chairman and chief executive of Florida’s leading newspaper, has been elected chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board, Columbia University announced today.

Tash replaces co-chairs Gregory Moore, editor of The Denver Post, and Thomas L. Friedman, foreign affairs columnist for The New York Times.

“Leading such a prestigious group is among the greatest honors of my career,” Tash said. He was a Pulitzer Prize journalism juror four times before becoming a member of the Pulitzer Prize Board in 2005.

A native of South Bend, Ind., Tash graduated summa cum laude in 1976 from Indiana University.  He received a Marshall Scholarship and graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor of laws degree from Edinburgh University in Scotland in 1978.

He started with the Times that fall as a reporter covering local news.  He also has covered state government in Tallahassee and served as city editor, metropolitan editor, Washington bureau chief and, ultimately, editor of the Times.  From 1990-91, Tash was the editor and publisher of Florida Trend, a statewide business magazine owned by Times Publishing.

Tash is chairman of the Poynter Institute for Media Studies, a school for journalists and media leaders, which owns Times Publishing. He also serves on the boards of the Associated Press and the Committee to Protect Journalists.  Tash is a member of the Florida Council of 100, a group of business leaders.

In 2012, Tash received the Distinguished Alumni Service Award from Indiana University, and he was recently inducted to the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame.

Tash is married to the former Karyn Krayer of St. Petersburg, a high school teacher. They have two daughters; one is a physician at Duke University Medical Center, the other a student at Duke Law School.    

Often a finalist in the Pulitzer Prize competition, the Times has won nine Pulitzers, including two in 2009, for Feature Writing and National Reporting. In 2013, the Times won a Pulitzer for Editorial Writing after campaigning to restore fluoridation to the county water supply, which serves 700,000 residents.

About the Tampa Bay Times
The Tampa Bay Times is widely considered one of the Top Ten newspapers in America and has won nine Pulitzer Prizes. It is Florida’s largest newspaper, with an average circulation of 402,422 Sunday and 340,260 daily (AAM FAS-FAX March 2013). The Times is produced by the Times Publishing Company, which also publishes - Tampa Bay’s largest local news Web site with 2.4 million unique visitors each month (Nielsen NetView six-month average for 10/12-3/13). Additionally, the company publishes the free daily tbt*, an edition of the Tampa Bay Times, tb-two*, a free paper written by Tampa Bay area students distributed to students, and the Pulitzer Prize-winning website,; and produces special events, specialty publications, and targeted advertising programs.

About the Pulitzer Prizes
The Pulitzer Prizes, which are administered at Columbia University, were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911. A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes, which were first awarded in 1917. The 19-member board is composed mainly of leading journalists or news executives from media outlets across the U.S., as well as five academics or persons in the arts. The dean of Columbia’s journalism school and the administrator of the prizes are nonvoting members. The chair rotates annually to the most senior member or members. The board is self-perpetuating in the election of members. Voting members may serve three terms of three years for a total of nine years.

More featured news | Post your news