Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

2010 IRL schedule

Date, Time, tv Event track Track type comment
March 14 Sao Paulo Indy 300 Streets of Sao Paulo, Brazil 2.6-mile street course The season opener saw five leaders, as Ryan Hunter-Reay pressured Ryan Briscoe into a mistake only to lose out to Briscoe's Penske Racing teammate, Will Power.
Sunday, 3:30 p.m., Ch. 28 Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Streets of St. Petersburg 1.8-mile street course This is one of nine street or road courses on the schedule, compared to eight ovals. To think, just five years ago St. Petersburg was the series' first non-oval race.
April 11, 3 p.m., Versus Grand Prix of Alabama Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham 2.38-mile road course One of two new circuits for the series, along with Sao Paulo. The series tested in Birmingham in February, with Team Penske recording the top three laps.
April 18, 3:30 p.m., Versus Long Beach Grand Prix Streets of Long Beach, Calif. 1.968-mile street course The longtime open-wheel venue joined IndyCar last year with Dario Franchitti, who knew the place well from his CART/Champ Car days, taking the win.
May 1, 1:30 p.m., Ch. 28 Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. 1.5-mile oval Last year, Graham Rahal earned his only career oval pole here last year and Scott Dixon ended former teammate Dan Wheldon's two-year winning streak at the track.
May 30, noon, Ch. 28 Indianapolis 500 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5-mile oval Helio Castroneves didn't have a great season by his standards in 2009 but that was all forgotten when he won at the Brickyard for the third time, delivering Roger Penske's 15th win in the 500.
June 5, 8 p.m., Versus Firestone 550k Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth 1.5-mile oval This is another track where Castroneves became a three-time winner last year. Of the 20 races here, 14 have had a margin of victory of less than a second.
June 20, 1:30 p.m., Versus Iowa Corn Indy 250 Iowa Speedway, Newton 0.875-mile oval If Dario Franchitti wins here, look out. This is the one track where he has earned victories in both of his series championship seasons, 2007 and '09.
July 4, 3:30 p.m., Ch. 28 Grand Prix at the Glen Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International 3.4-mile road course Penske Racing has earned the pole in all five IndyCar events here (three by Helio Castroneves) but no wins. Dale Coyne Racing, with Justin Wilson driving, pulled off the Cinderella win last year.
July 18, 12:30 p.m., Ch. 28 Honda Indy Toronto Streets of Toronto 1.721-mile street course Michael Andretti was the king of this circuit in the CART era with seven victories. Last year one of his team's former drivers, Dario Franchitti, stole the show.
July 25, 5 p.m., Versus Rexall Edmonton Indy Edmonton City Centre Airport 1.973-mile airport course Will Power earned his first series victory here last year, relegating teammate Helio Castroneves to his second runnerup finish in the race's two years.
Aug. 8, 2:30 p.m., Versus Honda Indy 200 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington 2.258-mile road course Scott Dixon has been the driver to beat on natural road courses in the series and this place is no exception; he has won two of the three series events here.
Aug. 22, 5 p.m., Versus Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma Infineon Raceway, Sonoma, Calif. 2.303-mile road course This race has seen five winners in five years, but last year's performance was the most dominant as Dario Franchitti led wire-to-wire.
Aug. 28, 7 p.m., Versus Peak Indy 300 Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill. 1.5-mile oval Ryan Briscoe won the closest race of the season and fourth-closest in series history last year, edging Scott Dixon by 0.0077 seconds. This track has three of the top four closest IndyCar finishes.
Sept. 4, 8 p.m., Versus Meijer Indy 300 Kentucky Speedway, Sparta 1.5-mile oval In 10 races this track has had nine winners; only Buddy Lazier (2000-01) has won twice. It's also the only series track with two female pole-sitters (Sarah Fisher, 2002, and Danica Patrick, 2005).
Sept. 18, 10:30 p.m., Versus Indy Japan 300 Twin Ring Motegi 1.5-mile oval Last year's race was perhaps the most competitive in the track's seven IndyCar events, with a record number of cars running at the end (20) and on the lead lap (nine).
Oct. 2, 6 p.m., Versus Miami Indy 300 Homestead-Miami Speedway 1.5-mile oval Last year's finale was not only dramatic, with Dario Franchitti taking the race and the title in the final laps, but also the second-fastest race in series history at an average of 201.420 mph.

2010 IRL schedule 03/25/10 [Last modified: Friday, March 26, 2010 9:39am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours