Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Audi owns 12 Hours of Sebring

SEBRING — Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen and Dindo Capello teamed to win the 12 Hours of Sebring on Saturday by four laps.

Kristensen, from Denmark, won the race for the sixth time, extending his record. Capello, from Italy, has won five times, and McNish, from Scotland, four.

The 60th annual endurance classic was the opener for the American Le Mans Series and the debut for the World Endurance Challenge series.

The winning Audi completed 325 laps at Sebring International Raceway. Audi won for the first time since 2009.

Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Loic Duval were second in another Audi R18. Stephane Sarrazin, Vicente Potolicchio and Ryan Dalziel were third in a Honda, six laps behind the leaders on the 3.74-mile track.

Joey Hand won the GT class with a pass on the last corner of the last lap in a BMW. He teamed with Dirk Mueller and Jonathon Summerton to edge a Corvette driven by Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor.

Sadler's gamble pays

BRISTOL, Tenn. — Elliott Sadler went 14 years without a victory in the Nationwide series. Now he has two in three weeks.

Sadler picked up his second victory of the season when his crew chief left him out on the track on old tires during the final caution of the Ford EcoBoost 300 at Bristol Motor Speedway.

The call put Sadler in the lead on the final restart, with 28 laps left, and he easily held off Kasey Kahne and Brad Keselowski.

Before his win two weeks ago at Phoenix, Sadler had not won in the series since Oct. 31, 1998, at Rockingham, N.C.

"To win two of the first four races is awesome, and we've got to keep adding to them. There's blood in the water," said Sadler, the series points leader.

Sadler raced to his first Sprint Cup victory at Bristol in 2001 when he stayed out on old tires. Crew chief Luke Lambert was a senior in high school watching that race from the grandstands, and he decided Saturday to borrow that strategy.

F1: Lewis Hamilton led a 1-2 for McLaren by earning the pole for the opening Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne. Hamilton qualified in 1 minute, 24.922 seconds to edge Jenson Button. The race was run overnight. Off the track, Mercedes' wing system was questioned. Lotus wants a definitive ruling from the sport's governing body.

motorcycles: Joey Pascarella won the Daytona 200 Pro SportBike race at Daytona International Speedway. He led 41 of the 57 laps and held off 2011 winner Jason DiSalvo, Cameron Beaubier and Martin Cardenas to win by 0.048 seconds. Elena Myers became the first woman to win a pro motorsports event at Daytona, taking the 10-lap Pro SuperSport race on her Suzuki.

Audi owns 12 Hours of Sebring 03/17/12 [Last modified: Monday, March 19, 2012 1:01am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. NBA playoff schedule

  2. NHL playoff schedule

  3. Pro Bowl returning to Orlando in 2018


    ORLANDO — The Pro Bowl will return to Orlando in 2018 for the second straight year.

    Bucs  wide receiver Mike Evans runs a route as Denver Broncos cornerback Chris Harris Jr. defends during the first quarter of the AFC-NFC Pro Bowl in January at Camping World Stadium in Orlando. [LOREN ELLIOTT | Times]
  4. Erasmo Ramirez makes his third start of the season.
  5. If Tony Dungy sticks around, he'll broadcast the 2021 Tampa Super Bowl for NBC


    Lost in the Super Tuesday news of the Super Bowl coming back to Tampa was this nugget:

    Pictured, from left, Dan Patrick, co-Host, Tony Dungy, studio analyst, Aaron Rodgers. [Ben Cohen/NBC]