Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Audi regains place as 12 Hours of Sebring winner

SEBRING — Audi introduced a new car with the same old winning results in Saturday's 12 Hours of Sebring.

Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen and Rinaldo Capello, who now have a combined total of 12 victories in the sports car classic at Sebring International Raceway, outdueled a Peugeot shared by Franck Montagny, Sebastien Bourdais and Stephane Sarrazin in a battle of diesel-powered prototypes. It was Kristensen's record fifth Sebring victory.

The Audi R15 won in record fashion, covering 383 laps and averaging 117.986 mph, breaking the mark of 115.85 set in 1986.

It is Audi's ninth win in the American Le Mans Series opener in 10 years — a string broken only by Porsche last year — and the third time in that stretch Audi won in the debut of a new car.

A tire puncture in the ninth hour cost the Peugeot about 45 seconds and put it out of pit sequence. The top two cars swapped leads on stops several times in the final hours, but the French entry lost the top spot for the last time when Montagny pitted for fuel with 44 minutes left.

Kristensen said McNish was incredibly cool in the last hour.

"In the end, he faced immense pressure," Kristensen said. "But (the Peugeot team) gambled and stayed on the same tires at the end, and that worked in our favor."

Bourdais, a Frenchman and former St. Petersburg resident, said of McNish, "He just turned the heat up. Franck drove like a madman, but he couldn't get close enough."

Adrian Fernandez and Luis Diaz won the LMP2 class and finished fourth overall in an Acura. Other winners were a Corvette in the GT class (driven by Johnny O'Connell, Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia) and a Ferrari 430 in GT2 (with Jamie Melo, Mika Salo and Pierre Kaffer).

Audi regains place as 12 Hours of Sebring winner 03/21/09 [Last modified: Saturday, March 21, 2009 11:52pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. What you need to know about Bucs training camp


    Bucs training camp is here.

    This morning was the first of 13 practices that are free and open to the general public, so we have all the details to answer your questions about where and when and so on.

    Dirk Koetter is nothing if not precise, with practices starting at 8:45 a.m. and running until 10:27. [LOREN ELLIOTT | Times]
  2. Fennelly: It's high time for Bucs to take Tampa Bay back


    TAMPA — Welcome to the proving ground.

    Bucs training camp begins today.

    Hard Knocks and flop sweat.

    Work and more work.

    "We have a lot to prove,'' wide receiver Mike Evans (13) says. "We're good on paper, but we've got to do it." [LOREN ELLIOTT | Times]
  3. HomeTeam 100: Players 1-10


    When he's not holding things down on the O-line, Nicholas Petit-Frere is holding his own in the classroom with a 3.7 grade-point average. (Andres Leiva, Times)
  4. HomeTeam 100: Football's a slam dunk for Nicholas Petit-Frere


    Berkeley Prep senior Nicholas Petit-Frere is one of the nation's most coveted offensive tackle recruits in the class of 2018. (Andres Leiva, Times)
  5. Rays morning after: How exactly did they let that game slip away


    Rays manager Kevin Cash assumed Thursday's game was over when Gary Sanchez rolled a ground ball toward the shortstop spot with the tying run on third and two outs in the ninth. So did closer Alex Colome. As well as second baseman Tim Beckham.

    Gary Sanchez of the New York Yankees drives in Brett Gardner to tie the game in the bottom of the ninth inning.