Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Auto Racing Glance

Sprint Cup

What: Daytona 500

When/where: Today, practice (Speed, 1 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 10:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (Ch. 13, noon); Daytona Beach.

Last year's winner: Matt Kenseth.

Fast facts: Hendrick Motor-sports teammates Mark Martin and Dale Earnhardt Jr. earned the top two starting positions. At 51, Martin is the oldest 500 pole-sitter. … Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne won Thursday's twin 150-mile qualifying races.

Up next: Auto Club 500, Feb. 21, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.


What: Drive4COPD 300

When/where: Today, qualifying (ESPN2, 3 p.m.); Saturday, race, 1:15 p.m. (ESPN2, noon); Daytona Beach.

Last year's winner: Tony Stewart.

Fast facts: Danica Patrick is making her NASCAR debut, driving the No. 7 Chevrolet for JR Motorsports. In her stock car debut Saturday, the IndyCar star was sixth in the Daytona ARCA race. She's set to run 13 Nationwide races this year. … Kyle Busch won the series championship last year for Joe Gibbs Racing. … Chrissy Wallace is attempting to join father Mike, uncle Kenny and cousin Steve in the field. If she qualifies, it will mark the first time that a father and daughter have raced together in the series.

Up next: Stater Bros. 300, Feb. 20, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.


What: NextEra Energy Resources 250

When/where: Today, race (8 p.m., Speed Channel); Daytona Beach.

Last year's winner: Todd Bodine.

Fast facts: The series has adopted shootout-style, double-file restarts and lifted its year-old ban on changing tires and adding fuel on the same pit stop. … Johnny Benson is driving the No. 95 Ford for Danny Gill. After winning the 2008 series title, Benson lost his ride last season when Red Horse Racing failed to find sponsorship, then was injured in June in a Supermodified event in Michigan.

Up next: Atlanta 200, March 6, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, Ga.


What: Kragen O'Reilly Winternationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 8 p.m.); Pomona, Calif.

Last year's winners: Ron Capps (Funny Car), Doug Kalitta (Top Fuel) and Jason Line (Pro Stock).

Fast facts: Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Robert Hight (Funny Car), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana (Pro Stock Motorcycle) are the defending series champions.

Up next: NHRA Arizona Nationals, Feb. 19-21, Firebird International Raceway, Chandler, Ariz.

Auto Racing Glance 02/11/10 [Last modified: Thursday, February 11, 2010 8:43pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, Associated Press.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays let early lead get away again in loss to Angels (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — As pleased as the Rays were to win consecutive series against the contending Red Sox, Indians and Yankees and to get briefly back over .500, there was a lot of talk in the clubhouse before Monday's game against the Angels that it was time to do better.

    Tampa Bay Rays third base coach Charlie Montoyo (25) high fives designated hitter Corey Dickerson (10) as he rounds third on his lead off home run in the first inning of the game between the Tampa Bay Rays and the Los Angeles Angels at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Monday, May 22, 2017.
  2. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Monday's Rays-Angels game

    The Heater

    OF/DH Corey Dickerson missed out on a good birthday gift when AL player of the week honors went instead to Detroit's J.D. Martinez. Dickerson hit .385 with five homers, nine RBIs and nine runs; Martinez went .389-4-9-7 and got the nod.

  3. Rays journal: Alex Cobb learning to work with what he has



    If this were 2012 or 2013, even 2014, RHP Alex Cobb would have problems. He would find himself working with only two of his three pitches, with the missing pitch being his trusty changeup.

    Alex Cobb, working mainly with his fastball and curveball, is 3-1 with a 2.78 ERA over his past five starts. The Rays right-hander tries to continue his strong stretch tonight against the Angels.
  4. Rays vs. Angels, 7:10 p.m. Tuesday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Angels

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
  5. Fennelly: This season's Chris Archer is a pleasure to watch

    The Heater


    At this time last season, through 10 starts, Rays pitcher Chris Archer was 3-5 on his way to 9-19.

    Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Chris Archer (22) throwing in the first inning of the game between the Tampa Bay Rays and the New York Yankees at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, May 21, 2017.