Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Kyle Busch earns Sprint Cup pole, Nationwide victory

FORT WORTH, Texas — Kyle Busch raced to his third consecutive NASCAR Nationwide victory this season and his sixth overall at Texas Motor Speedway just hours after earning the pole for tonight's Sprint Cup race at the track.

Busch led 91 of 200 laps Friday night to become the first six-time winner in the series at the 1½-mile, high-banked track.

He he has four wins this season in NASCAR's second-tier series to extend his record to 55. Busch finished 2.27 seconds ahead of Brad Keselowski in the O'Reilly Auto Parts 300, with Austin Dillon was third and Dale Earnhardt Jr. fourth.

Sam Hornish maintained the series points lead despite finishing 34th.

In Cup qualifying, Busch edged older brother Kurt with a lap of 196.299 mph. The Busch brothers will start on the front row for the second time in Sprint Cup.

"Not too shabby of a day. ... I feel like we have a good piece for the race," Kyle said before the Nationwide race. "It felt that good. Sometimes you feel that good and it's not very fast."

It took that record qualifying lap to knock Kurt off the pole after his lap of 195.688 mph in his Chevrolet.

"A track record is a small feather in the cap," Kurt said. "The fact that it's Kyle, I wouldn't want to lose to anybody other than him, but it is bitter that I did lose to him."

Tampa's Aric Almirola (195.009 mph) will start third on the 11/2-mile track, alongside his Richard Petty Motorsports teammate, Marcos Ambrose (194.946), both driving Fords.

The Busch brothers have never finished 1-2 in a Sprint Cup race, but they came close at Texas. Kurt Busch won the 2009 fall race in Fort Worth. Kyle ran out of fuel late and finished 11th.

Formula One: The series is bracing for its return to Bahrain next week amid fresh protests about staging a grand prix in a country still riven by sectarian and political divisions. The protests might not be as intense as the past two years — prompting the cancellation of the 2011 race and vast security measures to allow the 2012 grand prix to proceed — but thousands still demonstrated against the race, to be held April 21. … Felipe Massa had the fastest time in practice for the Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai in 1 minute, 35.340 seconds, ahead of Ferrari teammate Fernando Alonso. Qualifying was held overnight.

Kyle Busch earns Sprint Cup pole, Nationwide victory 04/12/13 [Last modified: Saturday, April 13, 2013 12:07am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Sunday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    RHP Chris Archer's primary problem Sunday, as in much of September, was a lack of slider command. When he can't throw it where he wants, and doesn't have the confidence in the changeup to throw it often, he can't win with just his fastball.

  2. Somehow, Rays' Chris Archer remains just shy of being an ace

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — Chris Archer had another bad game Sunday.

    Chris Archer is sputtering to the finish line, his rough start on Sunday his fourth in his past five in which he hasn’t gotten past four innings.
  3. High school senior Chasten Whitfield inspires young anglers


    MADEIRA BEACH — The kids lined up single file, snow cones in hand, a procession of sweaty, excited grade-schoolers watching Chasten Whitfield throw a cast net.

    Whitfield, a rising senior at Bradenton Manatee, demonstrates how to throw a cast net at the FishKids tournament in Madeira Beach. She also taught knot tying.
  4. Wreck helps Kyle Busch take control of Monster Cup's ISM 300

    Auto racing

    LOUDON, N.H. — Kyle Busch saw little but billowing white smoke that engulfed the track and blinded enough drivers that it caused a tremendous wreck that notably altered the race running order.

    Kyle Busch celebrates with a burnout after his third victory of th e season that earns a berth in the second round of NASCAR’s playoffs. He also has some fun with Loudon the Lobster.
  5. Why Jake Dotchin hasn't played this preseason


    Turns out, there's a reason why Lightning defenseman Jake Dotchin hasn't played at all in the first four preseason games.