Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Coughlin wins fifth NHRA Pro Stock title

POMONA, Calif. — Jeg Coughlin won his fifth Pro Stock title Sunday in the Auto Club NHRA Finals, joining John Force, Shawn Langdon and Matt Smith as season champions.

Coughlin, a four-time event winner this season in his Dodge Avenger, took the title when his only remaining challenger, Jason Line, lost in the second round of eliminations.

"I think this is one of the tightest and one of the most intense championships I've ever won," said Coughlin, the eighth driver in NHRA history to win five pro series championships. He also won a Super Gas title in the NHRA Lucas Oil Series in 1992.

After wrapping up the season Top Fuel title in qualifying, Langdon raced to his seventh victory of the year, beating Doug Kalitta.

In Funny Car, Matt Hagan beat Force in the final and finished second in the series standings. Force wrapped up the title in the previous event in Las Vegas.

Rickie Jones raced to his first career Pro Stock victory, beating Allen Johnson in the final round.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec topped Scotty Pollacheck in the final. Smith won the title in Las Vegas.

F1: Having threatened to skip the season's last two races because of a pay dispute, former world champion Kimi Raikkonen, 34, will now miss them anyway because of back surgery. Raikkonen is leaving Lotus after this season to drive for Ferrari.

Coughlin wins fifth NHRA Pro Stock title 11/10/13 [Last modified: Sunday, November 10, 2013 10:25pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2016 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours