Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Daniel Suarez is first Mexican to win a NASCAR national race

Daniel Suarez

Daniel Suarez

BROOKLYN, Mich. — Daniel Suarez became the first Mexican-born driver to win a NASCAR national race, passing Kyle Busch and holding off one of the sport's top stars in the Xfinity series Menards 250 on Saturday.

"To be able to be an example to bring more people is great," said Suarez, who moved to the United States five years ago.

Busch led 88 of the 125 laps at Michigan International Speedway, but he couldn't stay ahead of Suarez for the final two.

"I didn't know Suarez was coming like that," Busch said. "He had some speed."

Suarez, 24, is the first non-American to lead any of NASCAR's three national series in points. He became the first Mexican to win the Xfinity series' rookie of the year award last year.

Winning a race adds quite a feat to his accomplishments. "This is monumental," said David Wilson, president of Toyota Racing Development.

Paul Menard, Erik Jones and Elliott Sadler rounded out the top five. "It couldn't have been scripted better because (Suarez) had to beat some heavy hitters," Wilson said. "He didn't do it at a stand-alone event."

Jones raced with "Dave," instead of his name, painted above the driver-side window. His father, Dave, died this week at 53 not long after being diagnosed with cancer. "Erik made a point to be in that race car," Wilson said. "He did it to honor his father."

F1: Defending champion Lewis Hamilton earned the pole for today's Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal for a fifth time and the second year in a row. Hamilton turned in the fastest lap of qualifying, completing the 2.71-mile Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in 1 minute, 12.812 seconds, for his fifth pole of the year. Mercedes teammate and points leader Nico Rosberg starts next to him on the front row.

NHRA: Steve Torrence took his fifth Top Fuel No. 1 qualifier of the season with a 3.735-second pass at 325.06 mph in Summernationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, N.J. Ron Capps topped Funny Car (3.870 at 318.62), Jason Line led Pro Stock with the fastest time of the year (6.519 at 212.56), and Eddie Krawiec led Pro Stock Motorcycle (6.783 at 195.53).

LATE FRIDAY: Rookie William Byron passed two-time NASCAR truck series champion and current points leader Matt Crafton with five laps left to win the Rattlesnake 400 in Fort Worth, Texas. It was the second career victory for Byron, 18, who graduated from high school last month.

Daniel Suarez is first Mexican to win a NASCAR national race 06/11/16 [Last modified: Saturday, June 11, 2016 11:12pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays let early lead get away again in loss to Angels (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — As pleased as the Rays were to win consecutive series against the contending Red Sox, Indians and Yankees and to get briefly back over .500, there was a lot of talk in the clubhouse before Monday's game against the Angels that it was time to do better.

    Tampa Bay Rays third base coach Charlie Montoyo (25) high fives designated hitter Corey Dickerson (10) as he rounds third on his lead off home run in the first inning of the game between the Tampa Bay Rays and the Los Angeles Angels at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Monday, May 22, 2017.
  2. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Monday's Rays-Angels game

    The Heater

    OF/DH Corey Dickerson missed out on a good birthday gift when AL player of the week honors went instead to Detroit's J.D. Martinez. Dickerson hit .385 with five homers, nine RBIs and nine runs; Martinez went .389-4-9-7 and got the nod.

  3. Rays journal: Alex Cobb learning to work with what he has



    If this were 2012 or 2013, even 2014, RHP Alex Cobb would have problems. He would find himself working with only two of his three pitches, with the missing pitch being his trusty changeup.

    Alex Cobb, working mainly with his fastball and curveball, is 3-1 with a 2.78 ERA over his past five starts. The Rays right-hander tries to continue his strong stretch tonight against the Angels.
  4. Rays vs. Angels, 7:10 p.m. Tuesday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Angels

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
  5. Fennelly: This season's Chris Archer is a pleasure to watch

    The Heater


    At this time last season, through 10 starts, Rays pitcher Chris Archer was 3-5 on his way to 9-19.

    Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Chris Archer (22) throwing in the first inning of the game between the Tampa Bay Rays and the New York Yankees at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, May 21, 2017.