Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Del Worsham, Andrew Hines wrap up NHRA titles in finale

POMONA, Calif. — Del Worsham raced to his first Funny Car season title and went on to take the event victory Sunday in the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals.

Worsham beat playoff rival Jack Beckman in the semifinals to secure the season title and join Kenny Bernstein and Gary Scelzi as the only driver to win championships in both nitro categories.

Worsham, the 2011 Top Fuel champion, beat Tommy Johnson Jr. in the final round for his fourth victory of the season, 30th in Funny Car and 38th overall.

Andrew Hines won his second consecutive and fifth championship in Pro Stock Motorcycle when his closest rival, Jerry Savoie, lost in the second round.

Shawn Langdon won the Top Fuel event, Allen Johnson topped Pro Stock and Eddie Krawiec won Pro Stock Motorcycle. Antron Brown (Top Fuel) and Erica Enders (Pro Stock) had already clinched their titles.

Formula One: Nico Rosberg won the Brazilian Grand Prix, leading from start to finish in Sao Paulo and beating Mercedes teammate and already-crowned season champ Lewis Hamilton.

Del Worsham, Andrew Hines wrap up NHRA titles in finale 11/15/15 [Last modified: Sunday, November 15, 2015 10:32pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours