Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Formula One intrigue increases with Michael Schumacher's return

Months of anticipation and speculation will end Sunday when the Formula One season begins and Michael Schumacher marks his return to racing at the Bahrain Grand Prix.

At 41, the seven-time F1 champion comes out of three years of retirement to race for the newly formed Mercedes GP, which bought out last year's constructors' champion Brawn GP.

Schumacher said he felt like "a child at Christmas" coming to Bahrain, where he lines up against defending champ Jenson Button, two-time champ Fernando Alonso, 2008 winner Lewis Hamilton and talented Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel. Button joins McLaren after stunning the experts with his title at Brawn.

"I love this fight," Schumacher said. "It is because of this fight that I came back to Formula One."

Alonso is the preseason favorites as the driver looks reinvigorated after his move to Italian giant Ferrari, which also welcomes Felipe Massa back for the first time since he had life-threatening injuries in a crash at the Hungarian GP in July.

"It's a very important moment for us after a horrible year. It was also a difficult moment for me with the accident," Massa said. "I'm concentrated, I'm ready 100 percent."

Schumacher's experience could pay dividends as refueling has been banned, so teams can only pit to change tires. Also, the top-10 qualifiers can't swap tires before the start of the race.

The American team, USF1, won't be ready this season, reported last week, due to financial turmoil. The team, based in Charlotte, N.C., has released all of its personnel.


Driver lineup

No. Name Team Country

1 Jenson Button McLaren England

2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren England

3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes Germany

4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Germany

5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Germany

6 Mark Webber Red Bull Australia

7 Felipe Massa Ferrari Brazil

8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Spain

9 Rubens Barrichello Williams Brazil

10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams Germany

11 Robert Kubica Renault Poland

12 Vitaly Petrov Renault Russia

14 Adrian Sutil Force India Germany

15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India Italy

16 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso Switzerland

17 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso Spain

18 Jarno Trulli Lotus Italy

19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Finland

20 Karun Chandhok HRT India

21 Bruno Senna HRT Brazil

22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber Spain

23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber Japan

24 Timo Glock Virgin Germany

25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin Brazil


Date Site Time TV

Sunday Sakhir, Bahrain 8 a.m. Speed

March 28 Melbourne, Australia 2 a.m. Speed

April 4 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 4 a.m. Speed

April 18 Shanghai, China 3 a.m. Speed

May 9 Barcelona, Spain 8 a.m. Speed

May 16 Monte Carlo, Monaco 8 a.m. Speed

May 30 Istanbul, Turkey 8 a.m. Speed

June 13 Montreal Noon Ch. 13

June 27 Valencia, Spain 8 a.m. Ch. 13

July 11 Silverstone, England 8 a.m. Ch. 13

July 25 Hockenheim, Germany 8 a.m. Ch. 13

Aug. 1 Budapest, Hungary 8 a.m. Speed

Aug. 29 Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium 8 a.m. Speed

Sept. 12 Monza, Italy 8 a.m. Speed

Sept. 26 Singapore 8 a.m. Speed

Oct. 10 Suzuka, Japan 2 a.m. Speed

Oct. 24 Yeongam County, South Korea 2 a.m. Speed

Nov. 7 Sao Paulo, Brazil 11 a.m. Speed

Nov. 14 Abu Dhabi, UAE 8 a.m. Speed

Formula One intrigue increases with Michael Schumacher's return 03/12/10 [Last modified: Friday, March 12, 2010 11:23pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. LSU's Paul Mainieri defends FSU's Mike Martin; Gators play Friday


    OMAHA, Neb. — LSU coach Paul Mainieri says whether Florida State's Mike Martin ever wins a national championship should have no bearing on how his long career in college baseball is judged.

    MADE IT: TCU’s Josh Watson beats the tag of Louisville catcher Colby Fitch during Thursday’s late College World Series game.
  2. Lightning fans, don't get attached to your first-round draft picks

    Lightning Strikes

    CHICAGO — When Lightning GM Steve Yzerman announces his first-round pick Friday night in the amateur draft at No. 14, he'll invite the prospect onto the stage for the once-in-a-lifetime photo opportunity.

    Tampa Bay Lightning left wing Jonathan Drouin (27) eludes  Montreal Canadiens left wing Phillip Danault (24) during the second period of Wednesday???‚??„?s (12/28/16) game between the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Montreal Canadiens at the Amalie Arena in Tampa.
  3. Lightning GM Steve Yzerman also has top-9 wing on his wish list

    Lightning Strikes

    CHICAGO — Much has been made about the Lightning's interest in bolstering its blue line, even after last week's acquisition of defense prospect Mikhail Sergachev.

    Tampa Bay Lightning general manager Steve Yzerman gestures as he speaks to the media about recent trades during a news conference before an NHL hockey game against the Carolina Hurricanes Wednesday, March 1, 2017, in Tampa, Fla. The Lightning, over the past few days, have traded goaltender Ben Bishop to the Los Angeles Kings, forward Brian Boyle to the Toronto Maple Leafs, and forward Valtteri Filppula to the Philadelphia Flyers. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara) TPA101
  4. Peter Budaj loves 'vibe' with Lightning


    Two years ago, nobody was willing to give Peter Budaj a shot, the veteran goalie wondering if he'd ever play in the NHL again.

    Peter Budaj signed a two-year extension with the Lightning, worth $1.025 million per year.