Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Kyle Busch earns Sprint Cup pole at New Hampshire

Erik Jones is in the lead on his way to winning the Trucks series race at Iowa Speedway in Newton.

Associated Press

Erik Jones is in the lead on his way to winning the Trucks series race at Iowa Speedway in Newton.

LOUDON, N.H. — Kyle Busch went from upside down to top of the field.

Busch continued the season-long trend of track record qualifying speeds, turning a lap of 138.130 mph Friday to win the pole at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It's the second pole of the season for Busch, who will be joined on the front row by reigning Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson for Sunday's Camping World 301.

Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart and Jamie McMurray completed the top five. Tampa's Aric Almirola, coming off of his first career sprint Cup victory on Sunday at Daytona, starts 19th.

Busch starts first a week after he rolled over at Daytona in the Coke Zero 400. He was involved in a 25-car wreck and was flipped in his No. 18 Toyota.

"I thought it was a little bit tight but I guess I was driving through it enough that it was still carrying good speed," Busch said. "Lap felt good. It didn't feel that good, but it felt good."

Morgan Shepherd, 72, made the race when a 44th entry dropped out, putting him in the field automatically. In the No. 33 Chevrolet, he'll extend his mark as the oldest driver to start a race in NASCAR's Sprint Cup series.

RTA reaction: NASCAR president Mike Helton said there is no animosity from the governing body toward the recently formed, nine-team Race Team Alliance that will collaborate on initiatives and issues facing auto racing. The goals of the RTA include lowering costs for NASCAR teams and creating one voice on issues facing the teams. The RTA includes Hendrick Motorsports, Joe Gibbs Racing, Roush Fenway, Stewart-Haas, Team Penske, Chip Ganassi Racing, Michael Waltrip Racing, Richard Childress Racing and Richard Petty Motorsports,

IndyCar: Scott Dixon earned the pole for tonight's Iowa Corn Indy 300 at Iowa Speedway in Newton. The defending series champion ran a lap of 186.256 mph on the 0.875-mile oval, edging Chip Ganassi teammate Tony Kanaan. Series co-leader Helio Castroneves starts third and the other co-leader, Will Power, starts ninth.

Trucks: Erik Jones led for 131 of 200 laps and won the NASCAR Trucks series race in Iowa, giving Kyle Busch Motorsports its seventh win in nine races this season. It's the second career win for the 18-year-old Jones, and the sixth victory of 2014 for the No. 51 truck.

Kyle Busch earns Sprint Cup pole at New Hampshire 07/11/14 [Last modified: Friday, July 11, 2014 11:37pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. NFL commissioner, players' union angrily denounce Trump comments on national anthem


    SOMERSET, N.J. — The National Football League and its players' union on Saturday angrily denounced President Donald Trump for suggesting that owners fire players who kneel during the national …

    President Donald Trump walks off the stage after he speaks at campaign rally in support of Sen. Luther Strange, Friday, Sept. 22, 2017, in Huntsville, Ala. [Associated Press]
  2. Matt Peca making case for Lightning spot


    Center Matt Peca said he didn't read too much into the fact he was the only Lightning player to appear in each of the first three exhibition games.

    But Peca, 24, loved it.

    Matt Peca won nine of 10 faceoffs Friday, a skill the Lightning badly needs.
  3. Bucs players respond to Trump comments on anthem protests


    President Donald Trump shared his thoughts Friday night on NFL players protesting during the national anthem, suggesting that NFL owners should "fire" players who kneel during the anthem in protest. His remarks are alreading drawing responses from many NFL players, including some Bucs.

    Bucs players Mike Evans and Jameis Winston stand with coach Dirk Koetter during the national anthem in a game played in San Diego last season.
  4. Rays morning after: Wilson Ramos showing glimpses of what's possible in 2018


    The real payoff for the Rays signing C Wilson Ramos last off-season will come in 2018, when he can play a full season fully recovered from right knee surgery.

    Catcher Wilson Ramos connects for a two-run single in the fifth inning against the Cubs on Sept. 20, 2017.
  5. Buccaneers-Vikings Scouting Report: Watching Kyle Rudolph, Adam Thielen and Everson Griffen


    No matter how much film we study, no matter how much data we parse, we just don't know how an NFL season will unfold.

    Four of tight end Kyle Rudolph's seven catches this season have come on third down, including this 15-yard touchdown in the Vikings' opener against the Saints. [Getty Images]