Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Kyle Busch takes Daytona trucks race

Kyle Busch, bottom right, and Timothy Peters, front row left, lead a pack. The two battle to the end with Busch barely winning.

Getty Images

Kyle Busch, bottom right, and Timothy Peters, front row left, lead a pack. The two battle to the end with Busch barely winning.

DAYTONA BEACH — Kyle Busch made a little history at a pretty big track.

Busch used a perfectly timed pass to win Friday night's NASCAR truck series opener, becoming the first driver to win an ARCA race, a trucks race, a Nationwide Series race and a Sprint Cup race at Daytona International Speedway.

Busch edged Timothy Peters in the final few feet to provide one of the closest finishes in series history.

Peters led coming out of the final turn in the NextEra Energy Resources 250 and did all he could to block Busch, nearly forcing him into the outside wall. But Busch didn't blink and drove by Peters just before the finish.

It was Busch's 36th series victory and first at Daytona.

"Well, it sounds awesome," said Busch, acknowledging he'd rather win the Daytona 500. "This has been eluding me. I finally got one."

Johnny Sauter was third followed by Ryan Truex, Ron Hornaday and Ryan Blaney.

This finish was the series' closest in 15 years at Daytona.

On Lap 74 of 100, "the big one" struck. A major wreck, so common in restrictor-plate races, involved 17 trucks and took 10 out of contention. No driver was hurt.

Rain delayed the start for about an hour.

Rookie on top: Dylan Kwasniewski won the pole for his Nationwide series debut — the first rookie since Rusty Wallace in 1985 to win the pole at Daytona — by following Turner Scott Motorsports teammates Danica Patrick and Kyle Larson through traffic.

Kwasniewski, 18, ran a lap at 192.078 mph in the rain-shortened qualifying. Larson was second with a lap at 192.074, and Patrick was third as Turner Scott's cars went 1-2-3 for today's DRIVE4COPD 300.

"Danica did a fantastic job of leading us through the pack and getting us clean through there," Kwasniewski said.

The session was the first for NASCAR's new multicar, knockout-style qualifying format.

Safety first: An incident Wednesday in Cup practice — when a car stayed on the track after it flipped up into a wall barrier — reinforced track president Joie Chitwood's belief that everything is in place for fans to have a safe experience.

Improvements were made after Larson's car went flying during a Nationwide race last year and car parts went scattered into the stands, injuring a handful of fans.

"The fence did exactly what it was supposed to," Chitwood said. "There was a kink in one of the cables. We got out there and repaired it, actually quicker than we thought we would. We want to do everything possible to keep our fans safe, and I think we've shown our commitment to do that."

Hall nominees: Former Cup champions Bill Elliott and Terry Labonte are among first-year nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Drivers Buddy Baker and Wendell Scott and team owners Robert Yates, Rick Hendrick and Richard Childress also were nominated by a 22-person committee.

Drivers no longer have to be retired to get elected; they are now eligible if they have competed for 30 or more years or turned 55. Labonte, 57, is racing in Sunday's Daytona 500

NHRA: John Force led Funny Car qualifying at the CarQuest Nationals in Phoenix with a run of 3.990 seconds at 317.79 mph. Doug Kalitta (3.735 seconds, 327.74 mph) led Top Fuel and Chris McGaha (6.530, 210.64) topped Pro Stock after two of four attempts.

Kyle Busch takes Daytona trucks race 02/21/14 [Last modified: Saturday, February 22, 2014 12:24am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays journal: Erasmo Ramirez ready to start a day after closing game

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — RHP Erasmo Ramirez was on the mound to finish Sunday's 15-inning marathon win over the Twins and will start tonight's game against the Rangers.

    The Rays’ Erasmo Ramirez throws 12 pitches in the 15th inning against the Twins to earn the save then says after the game that he’s ready to make his scheduled start against the Rangers: “My arm feels good.”
  2. Rays exhausted but happy after 15-inning win over Twins (w/video)

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — Before the Rays eventually won Sunday's 6½-hour, 15-inning marathon against the Twins 8-6, they did plenty to lose it. And we need to get that out of the way first.

    The Rays’ Evan Longoria enjoys a laugh after scoring, barely, to tie it in the ninth on Steven Souza Jr.’s two-out single.
  3. Tom Jones' Two Cents: ABC's Indy 500 coverage is stellar again

    TV and Radio

    Times columnist Tom Jones looks back at the best and worst from a weekend of televised sports.

    Best coverage

    Takuma Sato left, celebrates after winning the Indianapolis 500 as Helio Castroneves is a little late passing him. ABC’s coverage of the race is stellar throughout, with plenty of extras but no fake drama.
  4. Takuma Sato surprise winner of wreck-filled Indy 500

    Auto racing

    INDIANAPOLIS — Takuma Sato, a journeyman driver, became the first Japanese winner of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday when he held off three-time champion Helio Castroneves in a 230-mph wheel-rubbing duel to the finish.

    Scott Dixon’s car goes over the top of Jay Howard, soaring so high that Helio Castroneves drove under it while it was airborne. Stunningly, there were no serious injuries.
  5. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Sunday's Rays-Twins game

    The Heater

    The Rays won because they got two innings of good relief from each of the two pitchers who contributed to them losing Saturday's game, Danny Farquhar (who again struck out Miguel Sano) and Tommy Hunter, who both posted zeroes.