weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Motorcycle star Marc Marquez wins 10th straight

INDIANAPOLIS — Even Marc Marquez's imperfections couldn't derail his perfect season Sunday.

The 21-year-old MotoGP sensation recovered from a bad start to take the lead, gave it back, then retook the lead for the final 18 laps, beating fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo by 1.803 seconds to become the first back-to-back winner of the Indianapolis Grand Prix. Italy's Valentino Rossi was third.

Though Marquez has been unbeatable this season on his Repsol Honda with eight poles and 10 wins in 10 races, it looked as if a couple of early miscues might put that streak in jeopardy. Not a chance.

"Every race I go to the weekend and I say, 'Okay, here maybe is the time to finish second or third. Here will be the time that I will struggle,' " Marquez said. "But every race I feel so strong."

Marquez, who last year became the youngest world champion ever, is now the youngest rider to win 10 straight races, breaking the mark Mike Hailwood set in 1964 when he was 24 years, 86 days old. Marquez is 21 years, 174 days. The streak ties Australia's Mick Doohan (1997) for the longest run in the series' modern era.

United SportsCar Championship: Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi won at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis., for their third victory of the year in Action Express Racing's No. 5 Corvette. The Prototype class points leaders overcame six cautions periods, a brake problem and a spin through the grass to top Oswaldo Negri and John Pew by 2.240 seconds. Pierre Kaffer and Giancarlo Fisichella won the GT Le Mans class in a Ferrari F458 Italia.

Motorcycle star Marc Marquez wins 10th straight 08/10/14 [Last modified: Sunday, August 10, 2014 8:32pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours