Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Sato wins Long Beach IndyCar race

LONG BEACH, Calif. — Takuma Sato became the first Japanese driver to win an IndyCar race on Sunday in the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

The win came in Sato's 52nd career start and was the first for A.J. Foyt Racing since Airton Dare won at Kansas in 2002. Foyt wasn't on hand to make his first trip to Long Beach's Victory Lane; a sciatic nerve that will require surgery forced him to watch on TV at home in Texas.

The win on the street course in Long Beach, where Foyt never won as a driver and had not won as an owner, was a huge accomplishment for the team. A.J. Foyt Racing's last win on a street or road course was with Foyt driving at Silverstone in 1978.

"It was an easy win," Sato said. "It was just a perfect weekend, to be honest. The team did a tremendous job — pit stops, right calls, the power was great, and I was comfortable in the car and able to push everything."

Foyt said via telephone the "last five laps were the longest five laps of anything."

The win pushed Sato to second in the IndyCar standings and was redemption for the Honda driver, who is probably best known for crashing on the final lap of last year's Indy 500.

Formula One: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won his second straight Bahrain Grand Prix in Sakhir, beating Lotus drivers Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.

"Fantastic race. It was seamless from start to finish," said Vettel, who started second and grabbed the lead for good on the 17th lap. He beat Raikkonen by 9 seconds.

Vettel extended his lead in the championship standings to 10 points ahead of Raikkonen after four of 19 races. Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton moved up to third after finishing fifth.

NHRA: Matt Hagan ended a 17-month win drought by scoring the Funny Car victory at the Four-Wide Nationals at Concord, N.C. Hagan's Dodge Charger covered the distance in 4.071 seconds at 315.34 mph to beat Blake Alexander, Tim Wilkerson and Chad Head. Spencer Massey (Top Fuel), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana Jr. (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also were winners in the only NHRA event that features competition in four lanes.

Sato wins Long Beach IndyCar race 04/21/13 [Last modified: Sunday, April 21, 2013 9:40pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Friday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    RHP Alex Cobb hates to hear how he "battled through" or "grinded out" a start rather than just dominated, but that's kind of what he did Friday, allowing nine hits and a walk and being charged with two wild pitches but only three runs in earning his 12th win.

  2. Lightning's Steven Stamkos looks close to top form in first game since November

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — Lightning captain Steven Stamkos was curious how he would feel — and perform — in Friday's exhibition against Nashville, his first game since mid-November knee surgery.

    The Lightning’s Alex Killorn, left, makes his preseason debut and has an assist in a 3-1 win against the Predators at Amalie Arena.
  3. Rays journal: Rays tie franchise home run record

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — A major flaw in the Rays offense this season — and thus a major reason for their inconsistent play and losing record — has been too much reliance on the home run.

    Wilson Ramos points after hitting a grand slam during the second inning, putting the Rays up 4-0.
  4. Ww's Odessabeach makes run at Husker Magic stakes final


    ST. PETERSBURG — When Hurricane Irma blew through Florida earlier this month, Ww's Odessabeach remained in her comfort zone.

  5. Steven Souza Jr. vindicating big trade for Rays

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — There was a time when the three-team, 11-player transaction the Rays orchestrated to get Steven Souza Jr. from the Nationals looked liked a bad deal.

    The Rays’ Steven Souza Jr. has 30 home runs while improving his defense and baserunning.