Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up next races on major auto racing circuits

Sprint Cup

What: Sylvania 300

When/where: Today, practice (Fox Sports 1, noon), qualifying (FS1, 3:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 9 a.m.); Sunday, race (ESPN, 2 p.m.); Loudon, N.H.

Fast facts: Five-time series champion Jimmie Johnson has a record 22 victories in 91 Chase starts. … Brian Vickers won the July race. … Bobby Labonte is returning to drive JTG Daugherty's No. 47 Toyota. He missed three races after breaking three ribs in a bicycle accident.

Standings: 1. Matt Kenseth, 2,063; 2. Kyle Busch, 2,055; 3. Johnson, 2,052; 4. Kevin Harvick, 2,048; 5. Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch, 2,040; 7. Jeff Gordon, 2,039; 8. Ryan Newman, 2,035; 9. Clint Bowyer, 2,035; 10. Kasey Kahne, 2,032; 11. Greg Biffle, 2,032; 12. Joey Logano, 2,011; 13. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2,010


What: Kentucky 300

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, qualifying, race, (ESPN News, 7:30 p.m.); Sparta, Ky.

Fast facts: The race is the series' sixth and final standalone event of the year. … Truck series regular Jeb Burton is making his Nationwide debut, driving Turner Scott Motorsports' No. 34 Chevrolet. Truck points leader Matt Crafton and series rivals Dakoda Armstrong, Joey Coulter and Ryan Blaney also are racing. … Sprint Cup driver Brad Keselowski won the June race at the track.

Standings: 1. Sam Hornish, 921; 2. Austin Dillon, 904; 3. Regan Smith, 885; 4. Elliott Sadler, 877; 5. Brian Vickers, 865

Formula One

What: Singapore Grand Prix

When/where: Today, practice (NBC Sports Network, 9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBCSN 1 p.m.); Sunday, race (NBCSN, 8 a.m.); Singapore

Fast facts: Kimi Raikkonen is leaving Lotus after the season to return to Ferrari. The Finn raced for Ferrari from 2007-09, winning the series title in 2007. The move came a day after Felipe Massa announced he was leaving Ferrari after the season. Raikkonen won the season-opening Australian Grand Prix and has five second-place finishes. … The race is the series' lone night event.

Standings: 1. Sebastian Vettel, 222; 2. Fernando Alonso, 169; 3. Lewis Hamilton, 141; 4. Kimi Raikkonen, 134; 5. Mark Webber, 130


What: Texas Fall Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Sunday, 11:30 p.m.), Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 8:30 p.m.); Ennis, Texas

Fast fact: The event is the second in the six-race Countdown. The top 10 in each class qualified for the playoffs.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Spencer Massey, 2,174; 2. Shawn Langdon, 2,150. Funny Car — 1. Matt Hagan, 2,214; 2. Ron Capps, 2,132. Pro Stock — 1. Mike Edwards, 2,194; 2. Jeg Coughlin, 2,184. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Hector Arana, 2,183; 2. Matt Smith, 2,150


Next: Grand Prix of Houston, Oct. 5-6, Streets of Houston

Standings: 1. Helio Castroneves, 501; 2. Scott Dixon, 452; 3. Simon Pagenaud, 431; 4. Marco Andretti, 430; 5. Ryan Hunter-Reay, 427


Next: Smith's 350, Sept. 28, Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Standings: 1. Matt Crafton, 609; 2. James Buescher, 568; 3. Ty Dillon, 550; 4. Jeb Burton, 539; 5. Ryan Blaney, 527

Up next races on major auto racing circuits 09/19/13 [Last modified: Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:26pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, Associated Press.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rick and Tom podcast: Bucs' Gerald McCoy frustrated with disrespectful fans


    Rick Stroud and Tom Jones discuss Gerald McCoy's latest comments on disrespectful fans who attack his teammates, Donald Trump, protests by DeSean Jackson and Mike Evans, and his respect for the …

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive tackle Gerald McCoy (93) warms up before an NFL game between the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Minnesota Vikings at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minn., on Sunday, Sept. 24, 2017.
  2. NFL owners' unity with players might be short-lived


    The image was striking — several owners of NFL teams locking arms with their players on the sidelines Sunday, and the Cowboys' Jerry Jones on Monday night, in a dramatic statement of defiance to a president who ridiculed their sport and condemned players for refusing to stand during the national anthem as a …

    Quarterback Colin Kaepernick, currently without a team, has cited racial injustice and police brutality among the reasons for not standing during the national anthem. [Associated Press]
  3. Anthem protest, the latest: Jerry Jones joins Cowboys on field in show of solidarity


    As President Donald Trump continued tweeting Monday about his displeasure with NFL players for staging demonstrations during the national anthem, the Cowboys took a knee on the field just before the anthem was performed on Monday Night Football. Dallas players were joined by owner Jerry Jones, and they quickly …

    Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, center, joins the team in taking a knee before the national anthem Monday night. They stood and linked arms for the anthem.
  4. Bucs journal: Gerald McCoy says players who kneel have team's support


    TAMPA — Receivers Mike Evans and DeSean Jackson were the only Bucs players kneeling during the national anthem before Sunday's game against the Vikings, but DT Gerald McCoy said the team supports their protest "100 percent."

    Bucs tight end Cameron Brate pulls in a touchdown catch as Vikings safety Andrew Sendejo (34) hits him in the back of the head.
  5. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)