Up next races on major auto racing circuits

Sprint Cup

What: AAA 400

When/where: Today, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11 a.m.), qualifying (ESPN, 3 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 11 a.m.); Sunday, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1 p.m.); Dover, Del.

Fast facts: Matt Kenseth has two victories at the track, the last in the 2011 spring race. … Tony Stewart, sidelined by a broken leg, won in June at the track. … Denny Hamlin is being honored by the March of Dimes with the prestigious "Champion for Babies" award recognizing his work raising awareness for the foundation's signature fundraiser. He joins Arnold Palmer, Joe Namath and Greg Gumbel as the fourth recipient of the award. … Kyle Busch was voted the third-quarter winner of the driver of the year award. Busch was a winner in all three of NASCAR's top national series over the summer. He had two wins in Sprint Cup, three in Nationwide and one in trucks. He beat out sprint car driver Donny Schatz for the award, voted on by a panel of journalists and broadcasters.

Standings: 1. Matt Kenseth, 2,111; 2. Kyle Busch, 2,097; 3. Jimmie Johnson, 2,093; 4. Carl Edwards, 2,075; 5. Greg Biffle, 2,073; 6. Kevin Harvick, 2,072; 7. Kurt Busch, 2,071; 8. Jeff Gordon, 2,069; 9. Ryan Newman, 2,064; 10. Clint Bowyer, 2,063; 11. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2049; 12. Joey Logano, 2042; 13. Kasey Kahne, 2040


What: 5-Hour Energy 200

When/where: Today, practice (Fox Sports 1, 12:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, noon), race (ESPN, 3:45 p.m.); Dover, Del.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch, coming off a victory two weeks ago at Chicagoland, has won 10 times this season to push his series record to 61. … Joey Logano is driving the No. 22 Mustang.

Standings: 1. Sam Hornish, 962; 2. Austin Dillon, 947; 3. Regan Smith, 917; 4. Elliott Sadler, 908; 5. Brian Vickers, 902


What: Smith's 350

When/where: Saturday, practice, qualifying, race (Fox Sports 1, 8:30 p.m.); Las Vegas

Fast facts: Ryan Blaney won the race last week at Kentucky Speedway. … Ron Hornaday won the 2011 race for the last of his series-record 51 victories.

Standings: 1. Matt Crafton, 609; 2. James Buescher, 568; 3. Ty Dillon, 550; 4. Jeb Burton, 539; 5. Ryan Blaney, 527


What: Midwest Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Sunday, 3:30 p.m.), Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 8:30 p.m.); Madison, Ill.

Fast fact: The event is the third in the six-race Countdown. The top 10 in each class qualified for the playoffs.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Doug Kalitta, 2,251; 1. Shawn Langdon, 2,251. Funny Car — 1. Matt Hagan, 2,272; 2. Cruz Pedregon, 2,221. Pro Stock — 1. Jason Line, 2,264; 2. Jeg Coughlin, 2,256. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Hector Arana, 2,261; 2. Matt Smith, 2,250


Next: Grand Prix of Houston, Oct. 5 and 6, streets of Houston

News: The Indianapolis Motor Speedway board of directors voted to add a second race in May at the historic Brickyard. It's the first time IndyCar drivers will compete on something other than Indy's 2½-mile oval, and it's the first time they'll prepare for two races in one season at the speedway. The road race is scheduled for the weekend of May 10-11, two weeks ahead of the series' marquee event, the Indianapolis 500. Finals details have not yet been worked out.

Standings: 1. Helio Castroneves, 501; 2. Scott Dixon, 452; 3. Simon Pagenaud, 431; 4. Marco Andretti, 430; 5. Ryan Hunter-Reay, 427

Formula One

Next: Korean Grand Prix, Oct. 6, Korean International Circuit, Yeongam, South Korea

Standings: 1. Sebastian Vettel, 247; 2. Fernando Alonso, 187; 3. Lewis Hamilton, 151; 4. Kimi Raikkonen, 149; 5. Mark Webber, 130

Up next races on major auto racing circuits 09/26/13 [Last modified: Thursday, September 26, 2013 9:20pm]

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, Times wires.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours