Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up next races on major auto racing circuits

Sprint Cup

What: Duck Commander 500

When/where: Today, practice (Fox Sports 1, 6 p.m.); Saturday, practice (FS1, 10:30 a.m.), qualifying (FS2, 3 p.m.); Sunday, race (Ch. 13, 3 p.m.); Fort Worth, Texas

Fast facts: NASCAR will not regulate tire pressures at Texas Motor Speedway, and if drivers have tire failures during the race, officials believe they won't be able to blame Goodyear. Hoping to give more control over setups and strategy to race teams, NASCAR is refusing to get involved in monitoring whether teams choose to follow recommendations set each week by Goodyear. There were multiple tire issues at California two weeks ago, and many drivers tried to blame the product Goodyear brought to the track. NASCAR insisted the issues were self-inflicted and a product of teams going far beyond the air pressure limits recommended by the manufacturer. … The record for the most races at the start of the season without a repeat winner is 10 in 2000. This is the seventh race of the season, and there have been no repeat winners. … Jimmie Johnson won the November race at the track.

Standings: 1. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 227; 2. Matt Kenseth, 218; 3. Carl Edwards, 217; 4. Jeff Gordon, 216; 5. Johnson, 209; 6. Kyle Busch, 189; 7. Brad Keselowski, 188; 8. Joey Logano, 187; 9. Austin Dillon, 179; 10. Ryan Newman, 174


What: O'Reilly Auto Parts 300

When/where: Today, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4 p.m.), (ESPN2, 8:30 p.m.); Fort Wroth, Texas

Fast facts: Kyle Busch won this year at Phoenix and Bristol to push his series-record victory total to 65. … Busch is racing along with fellow Cup drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick and Matt Kenseth. ... Brad Kese­lowski won the November race at the track.

Standings: 1. Regan Smith, 185; 2. Trevor Bayne, 185; 3. Ty Dillon, 179; 4. Chase Elliott, 177; 5. Elliott Sadler, 174


Next: North Carolina Education Lottery 200, May 16, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

Standings: 1. Timothy Peters, 82; 2. Johnny Sauter, 82; 3. Matt Crafton, 78; 4. Ryan Blaney, 78; 5. Ron Hornaday, 76.

Formula One

What: Bahrain Grand Prix

When/where: Today, practice (NBC Sports Network, 11 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (NBCSN, 12:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (NBCSN, 11 a.m.); Sakhir, Bahrain

Standings: 1. Nico Rosberg, 43; 2. Lewis Hamilton, 25; 3. Fernando Alonso, 24; 4. Jenson Button, 23; 5. Kevin Magnussen, 20


Next: Grand Prix of Long Beach, April 13, Long Beach, Calif.

Standings: 1. Will Power, 53; 2. Ryan Hunter-Reay, 40; 3. Helio Castroneves, 36; 4. Scott Dixon, 32; 5. Simon Pagenaud, 30


Next: Four-Wide Nationals, April 11-13, zMAX Dragway, Concord, N.C.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Doug Kalitta, 412; 2. Antron Brown, 339. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 367; 2. John Force, 358. Pro Stock — 1. Erica Enders-Stevens, 344; 2. Jason Line, 329. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Steve Johnson, 114; 2. Scotty Pollacheck, 93

Up next races on major auto racing circuits 04/03/14 [Last modified: Thursday, April 3, 2014 10:00pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, Associated Press.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Joe Maddon gets warm reception in return to the Trop

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The night was arranged to honor former Rays manager Joe Maddon in his first visit back to the Trop, and the standing ovation from the bipartisan crowd and scoreboard video tribute seemed proper acknowledgments of his hefty role in the Rays' success during his nine-year stint.

    Chicago Cubs manager Joe Maddon (70) talks with reporters during a press conference before the start of the game between the Chicago Cubs and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2017.
  2. Rays vs. Cubs, 7:10 p.m. Wednesday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Cubs

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM; 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
  3. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Tuesday's Rays-Cubs game

    The Heater

    Chris Archer's night ended with his 11th loss, but he and the Rays should feel good about his six solid innings. After the forearm tightness scare in Chicago, he had two rough outings (15 hits, 11 runs, seven innings), so Tuesday was a reassuring rebound.

  4. At 6-8, Lightning prospect Oleg Sosunov comes with, and needs, a high ceiling

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — When Hall of Famer Phil Esposito first saw Lightning prospect Oleg Sosunov, he joked that the 6-foot-8 defenseman could reach the Amalie Arena ceiling.

    Lightning 6-foot-8 defenseman Oleg Sosunov competes in the preseason opener. Phil Esposito jokes that Sosunov can reach the ceiling at Amalie Arena.
  5. Jones: Rays' Kevin Cash doesn't mind following in Joe Maddon's steps

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — On this particular night, he's the other guy. He's like a talk-show guest scooted to the end of the couch. He is Kevin Cash. And the Rays manager is standing in the home dugout at Tropicana Field.

    ST. PETERSBURG, FL - SEPTEMBER 17: Manager Kevin Cash (L) of the Tampa Bay Rays reacts to action during the game against the Boston Red Sox at Tropicana Field on September 17, 2017 in St. Petersburg, Florida. (Photo by Joseph Garnett Jr./Getty Images) 700012494