Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up next races on major auto racing circuits

Sprint Cup

What: Toyota Owners 400

When/where: Today, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10 a.m. and 1 p.m.), qualifying (FS1, 5 p.m.); Saturday, race (Ch. 13, 7 p.m.); Richmond, Va.

Fast facts: They are calling it "Track Takeover" at Richmond International Raceway, and track president Dennis Bickmeier hopes allowing fans onto the racing surface a few hours before race time will not only improve their experience at the 0.75-mile oval but bring more of them back. "This is a way to give people that access and let them kind of see the sport up close, or a little closer," he said. "This sport defined access, and we've got to keep that going." Richmond has opened the front-stretch before but only for a section off the front stretch. On Saturday night, fans will be able to walk the entire surface, take in live music, tour a NASCAR hauler and pose for pictures at key spots in the track's history. They also are encouraged to share those pictures on social media, a vehicle the track has used to try and highlight its status as an enjoyable place to visit. … The race is the third short-track event of the season. Carl Edwards won at Bristol on March 16, and Kurt Busch took the Martinsville race March 30. Edwards won the September race at Richmond. … Kyle Busch swept the spring races at the track from 2009-2012. … Denny Hamlin is from nearby Chesterfield. ... Richard Petty won a record 13 times at the track.

Standings: 1. Jeff Gordon, 297; 2. Matt Kenseth, 296; 3. Edwards, 278; 4. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 271; 5. Jimmie Johnson, 270; 6. Kyle Busch, 269; 7. Brad Keselowski, 246; 8. Joey Logano, 245; 9. Ryan Newman, 236; 10. Austin Dillon, 235; 11. Greg Biffle, 227; 12. Tony Stewart, 224


What: ToyotaCare 250

When/where: Today, qualifying (ESPN2, 3 p.m.), race (ESPNews, 7 p.m.); Richmond, Va.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch won this year at Phoenix and Bristol to push his series-record victory total to 65. He has won four times at Richmond. … Kevin Harvick has a series-record six victories at the track. … Brad Keselowski won the September race at the track.

Standings: 1. Chase Elliott, 271; 2. Regan Smith, 258; 3. Elliott Sadler, 251; 4. Ty Dillon, 248; 5. Trevor Bayne, 241


What: Grand Prix of Alabama

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying; Sunday, race (NBC Sports Network, 3 p.m.); Birmingham

Fast facts: The race is the third of the season. … Team Penske's Will Power, the winner of the season-opening race at St. Petersburg, won at Barber in 2011-12. … Scott Dixon has finished second in each of the four races at Barber.

Standings: 1. Power, 93; 2. Mike Conway, 66; 3. Simon Pagenaud, 60; 4. Helio Castroneves, 55; 5. Ryan Hunter-Reay, 54


What: Spring Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 3 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 2:30 p.m.); Baytown, Texas.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Doug Kalitta, 485; 2. Antron Brown, 460. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 488; 2. John Force, 453. Pro Stock — 1. Erica Enders-Stevens, 426; 2. Jason Line, 384. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Andrew Hines, 180; 2. Scotty Pollacheck, 169


Next: SFP 250, May 9, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Mo.

Standings: 1. Timothy Peters, 82; 2. Johnny Sauter, 82; 3. Matt Crafton, 78; 4. Ryan Blaney, 78; 5. Ron Hornaday, 76

Formula One

Next: Spanish Grand Prix, May 11, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona

Standings: 1. Nico Rosberg, 79; 2. Lewis Hamilton, 75; 3. Fernando Alonso, 41; 4. Nico Hulkenberg, 36; 5. Sebastian Vettel, 33

Up next races on major auto racing circuits 04/24/14 [Last modified: Thursday, April 24, 2014 10:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Orioles Buck Showalter's Trop takedown includes bullpen mounds, bathroom options, bladder problems


    Orioles manager Buck Showalter has never been a fan of the Trop, and after Monday's 5-0 win he — with some prodding from O's TV man Gary Thorne — took a few more shots during their MASN interview, specifically about the location of the bullpen mounds, and the lack of bathroom facilities.

    Orioles manager Buck Showalter has never been a fan of Tropicana Field.
  2. What a perfect USF football season would and wouldn't mean


    TAMPA — USF held its first fall practice Monday. A mere technicality. It's mind-bending how many people think that USF, sure to be ranked in the preseason Top 25, is going to throw down a 12-0 regular season with the schedule placed before it. This from a team that has never won a conference championship in its …

    The hiring of Charlie Strong, shown here, cente,r with USF president Judy Genshaft and athletic director Mark Harlan during his introductory press conference non Dec. 15, 2016, is one of several reasons for the Bulls' high football expectations this season.  [ JOEY KNIGHT | Times]
  3. HomeTeam 100: Players 31-40


    Wesley Chapel High School running back Dexter Leverett (6) runs the ball past Hudson High School offensive linebacker Cody Sutphin (8) during the second half at Wesley Chapel High School in Wesley Chapel, Fla., on Oct. 8, 2016. Wesley Chapel won the game 39 to 34
  4. Florida Gators' 2018 recruiting class cracks top 10


    While I was out on vacation, the Florida Gators apparently picked up their recruiting.

    By a lot.

  5. Five undrafted rookies to watch in Bucs training camp


    Rookies report today for Bucs training camp, with veterans joining in Thursday and the first practice Friday morning, and with HBO's "Hard Knocks" chronicling this year's camp, there's always an interest in the underdog storyline of undrafted rookies trying to make the 53-man roster.

    Bucs linebacker Richie Brown, an undrafted rookie trying to make Tampa Bay's roster this preseason, is shown during last year's St. Petersburg Bowl after he recovered a fumble for Mississippi State.