Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up nextCompetition on the major circuits:

Atlanta Motor Speedway has been good to Jimmie Johnson, who celebrated after winning the Kobalt Tools 500 in March 2007 at the Hampton, Ga., track.

Associated Press

Atlanta Motor Speedway has been good to Jimmie Johnson, who celebrated after winning the Kobalt Tools 500 in March 2007 at the Hampton, Ga., track.

Sprint Cup

What: Kobalt Tools 500

When/where: Today, qualifying, 6:30 p.m. (Speed Channel); Sunday, race, 1:30 p.m. (Ch. 13); Hampton, Ga.

Fast facts: Jimmie Johnson will try to become the first driver to win three straight races at Atlanta. He has posted eight top-five finishes and nine top-10 placings in 13 career starts at the track. Sunday, Johnson was denied a fourth straight victory at Las Vegas. … Tony Stewart bruised his foot 108 laps into Sunday's race when his right front tire failed and he hit the wall. … Ryan Newman is tied with Buddy Baker for most poles at Atlanta with seven, but has not carried any of those into a win. … Carl Edwards swept both Atlanta events in 2005. … Mike Skinner will replace AJ Allmendinger at Red Bull Racing this weekend. He failed to qualify at Las Vegas, making him 0-for-3 on the season. Brian Vickers has made all three races in the other Red Bull car.

Points leaders: 1. Carl Edwards, 491; 2. Kyle Busch, 470; 3. Ryan Newman, 450; 4. Kasey Kahne, 444; 5. Kevin Harvick, 428; 6. Greg Biffle, 427; 7. Jeff Burton, 421; 8. Martin Truex Jr., 371; 9. Elliott Sadler, 368; 10. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 361; 11. Tony Stewart, 355; 12t. Kurt Busch, Brian Vickers, 348.


What: Nicorette 300

When/where: Saturday, qualifying, 9 a.m. (Speed Channel), race, 1:30 p.m. (ESPN2), Hampton, Ga.

Fast facts: No Nationwide driver has won three straight at Atlanta. Mark Martin is the only one to have three wins overall at the track. … Dario Franchitti was sixth at Las Vegas for his career best NASCAR finish. … Tony Stewart's run of two straight wins ended when he wrecked 138 laps into the 200 lap event last week. … Toyotas have won two of the first three races, but Chevrolet (10) and Ford (six) are the only manufacturers with wins at Atlanta. … A NASCAR appeals committee reduced penalties Tuesday for two crew chiefs punished for violations found before the season-opening race. Newt Moore, crew chief for Johnny Sauter, had his suspension reduced from six weeks to two by the three-member National Stock Car Racing Commission. Charlie Wilson, crew chief for Cale Gale, had his $15,000 fine reduced to $5,000 by a separate three-member panel.

Points leaders: 1. Tony Stewart, 472; 2t. Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, 430; 4. Carl Edwards, 415; 5. David Ragan, 409; 6. Clint Bowyer, 396; 7. David Reutimann, 369; 8. Mike Wallace, 357; 9. Dario Franchitti, 344; 10. Brad Coleman, 329.


What: American Commercial Lines 200

When/where: Today, qualifying, 4:45 p.m., race, 8:30 p.m. (Speed Channel), Hampton, Ga.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch has won both of his truck starts at Atlanta, in 2005 and last year's fall event. He ran in the top 15 in all but one of the 260 combined laps. … Todd Bodine followed his win in the season-opener at Daytona with a second-place finish last week. He won at Atlanta during his championship season of 2006. … Ron Hornaday Jr. edged Bobby Labonte by 0.008 seconds during the 2005 event, making it the closest truck finish on a superspeedway. Hornaday also lost to Busch by 0.971 seconds last year for the widest margin in the event's seven-year history. … Toyota trucks have won five straight races dating to last year.

Points leaders: 1. Kyle Busch, 365; 2. Todd Bodine, 345; 3. Johnny Benson, 340; 4. David Starr, 284; 5. Rick Crawford, 281; 6. Phillip McGilton, 261; 7. Chad McCumbee, 255; 8. Dennis Setzer, 254; 9. Ron Hornaday Jr., 253; 10. Stacy Compton 250.


Next race: Indy 300, March 29, Homestead.

Formula One

Next race: Australian Grand Prix, March 16, Melbourne.


Next event: Gatornationals, March 16, Gainesville.

Points leaders: Top Fuel — 1. Tony Schumacher, 191; 2. Larry Dixon, 190; 3. David Grubnic, 130. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 189; 2. Jack Beckman, 162; 3. Cruz Pedregon, 147. Pro Stock — 1. Greg Anderson, 175; 2. Jeg Coughlin, 171; 3. Jason Line, 148.

Up nextCompetition on the major circuits: 03/06/08 [Last modified: Thursday, October 28, 2010 9:29am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Fennelly: What's not to like about Lightning's start?

    Lightning Strikes

    BRANDON — No one is engraving the Stanley Cup. No one has begun stuffing the league MVP ballot box for Nikita Kucherov.

    The Lightning, with a win tonight, would match the best start in franchise history, 7-1-1 in the 2003-04 Cup season.
  2. Quarterback Jameis Winston will start Sunday for the Bucs


    TAMPA — Jameis Winston hadn't thrown in practice since he injured his right shoulder in Sunday's loss at Arizona, and with that uncertainty, a wide line of TV cameras and reporters' cellphones were all out Friday morning, recording the moment as Winston tested his shoulder with his first throws early in …

    Despite a sore shoulder, Jameis Winston will be making his 38th consecutive start since being drafted first overall in 2015.
  3. Bucs journal: LB Kwon Alexander ready to return from injury


    TAMPA — LB Kwon Alexander, sidelined by a hamstring injury since the second quarter of the Bucs' season opener against Chicago, will finally make a healthy return Sunday against the Bills.

    Linebacker Kwon Alexander needs “to get my stats back up” after being out since the opener.
  4. A rare treat Saturday for Rowdies: a home playoff game


    ST. PETERSBURG — Rowdies fans, set to be rewarded with their first home playoff match in five years, can also take a little credit for it.

    From left, Georgi Hristov, Joe Cole and Marcel Schafer are among the Rowdies’ top scorers.
  5. Why it's too early to give up on the Bucs


    Don't panic. It's not too late for the Bucs.

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Jameis Winston (3) and wide receiver Mike Evans (13) celebrate after the defense recovered a fumble during the second half of an NFL game between the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Arizona Cardinals at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., on Sunday, Oct. 15, 2017. LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times