Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Will Power wins pole at Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

ST. PETERSBURG — Qualifying for today's Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg featured a handful of surprises mixed with one inevitable result:

Will Power winning the pole.

Penske Racing's Australian ace won his fourth consecutive Grand Prix pole Saturday in 1 minute, 01.207 seconds (105.870 mph) to set a series track record for the third time in four seasons.

"We just have to be smart and keep heading towards what we've wanted for a long time, which is a championship," said Power, the three-time IndyCar runnerup.

Power's best lap around the 14-turn, 1.8-mile circuit topped the time of 1:01.3721 he clocked last March. It also placed him three-tenths of a second ahead of Takuma Sato (1:01.5776) for the series' season opener.

"Will is outrageously quick," Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe said.

Just not as quick as some expected.

Power and others predicted earlier in the week that a new breed of Firestone tires would lead to 59-second laps. Instead, the lack of testing on the red tires and changing conditions led to unpredictable results.

Sato's No. 14 Honda will join Power in Row 1. The 36-year-old, making his debut with the A.J. Foyt Enterprises team, has only two podium finishes in three seasons in the series. KV Racing newcomer Simona de Silvestro made her first appearance in the Fast Six and qualified a career-best third in her No. 78 Chevy.

"I've never been in this position," de Silvestro said.

Neither has St. Petersburg resident Tristan Vautier.

The 23-year-old Frenchman qualified sixth for his IndyCar debut. Vautier has won his past two series debuts, taking the checkered flag in Star Mazda (now known as Pro Mazda) at Sebring in 2010 and winning the Indy Lights race here last spring to earn his ride with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

"This one is a little tougher," Vautier said.

A handful of the series' top veterans can attest to that.

While Hinchcliffe (fourth) and defending Grand Prix winner Helio Castronenves (fifth) lived up to expectations, a few big names from powerhouse programs failed to advance to the final qualifying segment.

Defending series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport had one of the quickest cars Friday but finished more than half a second behind Power and will start eighth. Four-time series champ and 2010 race winner Dario Franchitti qualified 10th in his No. 10 Honda.

"It's frustrating not being up there where we want to be," Franchitti said.

His Chip Ganassi Racing teammate is even farther behind.

Three-time Grand Prix runnerup Scott Dixon was almost a full second slower than Power. The two-time series champ will start 20th after he couldn't advance from the first qualifying stage.

Neither could Graham Rahal, whose only IndyCar victory came on the streets of St. Petersburg five years ago. His No. 15 Honda will start 15th.

"It's always like that in IndyCar," Power said after winning the 30th pole of his career. "You can never predict what's gonna happen."

Except for who will win the pole in St. Petersburg.

Matt Baker can be reached at or on Twitter @MattHomeTeam.

Will Power wins pole at Grand Prix of St. Petersburg 03/23/13 [Last modified: Saturday, March 23, 2013 11:58pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rowdies settle for draw at home


    ST. PETERSBURG — The good news for the Rowdies is that they still haven't lost a game at Al Lang Stadium since late April. The bad news is they had to settle for a 1-1 tie against Ottawa on Saturday night in front of 6,710 sweaty fans.

  2. Bats come to life, but Rays' freefall continues (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG —The six runs seemed like a ton, just the second time the Rays had scored that many in a game during their numbing two-plus-weeks stretch of offensive impotency, and amazingly, the first time at the Trop in nearly two months.

    Lucas Duda connects for a two-run home run in the sixth, getting the Rays within 7-5. A Logan Morrison home run in the ninth made it 7-6, but Tampa Bay couldn’t complete the comeback.
  3. Rays journal: Cesar Puello, who has one major-league game, claimed off waivers

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Looking to add punch to their right-handed lineup, the Rays claimed OF Cesar Puello off waivers Saturday from the Angels.

  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Saturday's Rays-Mariners game

    The Heater

    SS Adeiny Hechavarria doesn't always look like he's going hard, but he showed impressive reactions Saturday in reversing field to catch a ball that clanked off the catwalk then firing to second to double up Guillermo Heredia on an attempt to tag up.

  5. Bucs journal: Simeon Rice gives master class on sacks to defensive ends


    TAMPA — As the Bucs seek their first 10-sack season from a player since Simeon Rice in 2005, who better to help that cause than Rice himself?

    Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers great Simeon Rice works with defensive end Noah Spence (57) after practice at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017.