Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Tampa baseball wins Division II national title

Tampa celebrates its sixth Division II national title in baseball, and its first since 2007. It’s the third championship as Spartans coach for Joe Urso.


Tampa celebrates its sixth Division II national title in baseball, and its first since 2007. It’s the third championship as Spartans coach for Joe Urso.

CARY, N.C. — Tampa captured its sixth NCAA Division II baseball championship Saturday night, defeating Minnesota State Mankato 8-2.

The Spartans (47-12) outscored their opponents 40-14 and capped the tournament with a dominating performance over the Mavericks in front of 2,478 at Coleman Field.

"Just so proud of this group," Joe Urso said after capturing his third national title as Spartans coach. "They did everything we asked from them. (Starting pitcher) Jon Keller came out and set the tone for us."

Keller (6-3) allowed six hits and one run over seven innings, striking out five to help clinch UT's first national title since 2007. The 6-foot-5 junior right-hander, a transfer from Nebraska, was elated to earn his first college championship.

"It's been unbelievable," Keller said. "The opportunity to come to Tampa, it's been a blessing."

Minnesota State (42-9) was in its first title game. It was only the second meeting between the teams — the Mavericks won 6-2 in the 1986 NCAA Tournament over a Spartans team that included Tino Martinez.

Tampa's previous national titles were 1992-93, '98, and back-to-back under Urso in 2006-07.

Jake Schrader, a former Pasco High standout, was named the tournament's most outstanding player. The two-time Tampa Bay Times All-North Suncoast player of the year went 2-for-3 in the final and hit .444 (8-for-18) with two home runs, seven RBIs and a .944 slugging percentage in five games in the national championship tournament.

UT's Zach Gawrych, Jacob Tillotson, and Mike Adams joined him on the all-tournament team.

The Spartans got started in the bottom of the second when Sean O'Brien got their first hit and B.J. Zimmerman followed with a single. Schrader's double scored O'Brien for the first run. A double down the third-base line from Gawrych scored Zimmerman and Schrader against Mavericks starter Harvey Martin, who had come in 9-0.

An overthrow from Martin allowed Gawrych to advance and Adam Pendleton's double scored him. With no outs, Martin, the D-II pitcher of the year, was pulled after 28 pitches. Connor Obrochta singled to left off reliever TJ Larson, scoring Pendleton to make it 5-0.

"That was huge," Pendleton said of the big inning. "We just came out and were aggressive. … We got some timely hits, and it just worked out for us to get (Martin) out of the game."

The Mavericks scored a run in the fourth, but the Spartans answered in the bottom half as Gawrych scored on a sac fly by Michael Danner.

Minnesota State cut the lead to 8-2 in the ninth, and Urso made one more change on the mound, bringing in Aaron Gerbasi. Gerbasi got Jon Heiderscheit to fly out to second baseman Lucas Skjefte as the Spartans poured onto the field to celebrate.

"My fear coming into this year was that I knew I had a special group of guys," Urso said. "I just wanted this to end well for them. This will go down as my favorite team ever. I didn't think anyone would ever beat that 2006 team. That's how proud I am of these young men."

The Spartans are scheduled to arrive at Tampa International Airport at 11:30 a.m. today via Southwest Airlines.

Tampa baseball wins Division II national title 06/01/13 [Last modified: Sunday, June 2, 2013 12:25am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. For starters: Rays at Twins, looking for another with Odorizzi starting


    UPDATE, 12:45: Cash said Robertson was taking better swings Friday and so he wanted to move him up today, liking the idea of having three straight right-handers vs. a LHP they don't know much about. ... Souza was still smiling this morning about his failed dive attempt last night, and the reaction it got. .. The …

  2. Why the Lightning would consider trading Jonathan Drouin

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — This summer, the Lightning could trade one of its most dynamic young players ever.

    Tampa Bay Lightning left wing Jonathan Drouin (27) celebrates with his team on the bench after beating Chicago Blackhawks goalie Scott Darling (33) to score his second goal of the period and to tie the score at 4 to 4 during second period action at the Amalie Arena in Tampa Monday evening (03/27/17).
  3. Why the Lightning should keep Jonathan Drouin

    Lightning Strikes

    Keep him.

    Jonathan Drouin is live bait. The Lightning is ready to run the hook through him and cast him out there again. Drouin has enough talent for the Lightning to meet some defensive needs in a deal.

    Keep him.

    Lightning wing Jonathan Drouin celebrates after beating Los Angeles Kings goalie Peter Budaj during the first period of Tuesday's win in Tampa. [DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD   |   Times]
  4. This Tampa Bay Lightning wing rides the newest wave of fan interaction

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — There are photos of Lightning fan Shaun Egger as a toddler at center ice at the then-Thunderome, aka Tropicana Field. He's played in the Lightning's high school hockey league for Palm Harbor University. But his closest personal encounter with players had been waving through a crowd after a training camp …

    Tampa Bay Lightning player J.T. Brown wears his anti UV glasses as he talks over the headset with a hockey fan while they play against each other on line in an XBOX NHL video game in Brown's game room at his home in south Tampa. The fan chose to be the Washington Capitals and Brown, of course, was the Tampa Bay Lightning. Brown interacts with fans through video game systems as he streams the games live on Twitch with plans for the proceeds to go to charity.
  5. ‘Biggest fight' behind her, Petra Kvitova returns ahead of schedule


    PARIS — Five months after a home invader's knife sliced into her left hand, Petra Kvitova will return to competitive tennis at the French Open, a last-minute decision to make her comeback earlier than expected.

    Petra Kvitova adjusts her hair during a news conference at Roland Garros Stadium, where she will make her tennis return at the French Open. Kvitova's left hand was badly injured by a knife-wielding intruder in December; she has recovered ahead of schedule. [Associated Press]