Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

No players elected to National Baseball Hall of Fame

Craig Biggio gets the strongest support in his ballot debut.

Getty Images

Craig Biggio gets the strongest support in his ballot debut.

Once all the yelling subsided and the results were announced Wednesday, the lasting residue of the first real "Steroids Era" Hall of Fame voting was quiet.

No sounds of celebration over election. And no speeches to be given at the annual summer ceremony in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The Baseball Writers' Association of America voters delivered a shutout, just the second in the last 40-plus years, failing to elect any candidates, whether linked to performance-enhancing drugs or not.

Former Astros star Craig Biggio came the closest to the 75 percent standard, with 68.2 percent, 388 of the 569 votes cast, with pitcher Jack Morris next at 67.7. Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, two players who would have been overwhelming choices if not for the steroids issues, both got less than 38 percent. (Tampa's Fred McGriff received 20.7 percent, a slight drop from last year's 23.9.)

"I think as a player, a group, this is one of the first times that we've been publicly called out," pitcher Curt Schilling, who received 39 percent of the vote, told ESPN.

"I think it's fitting; unfortunately, I think there's some players who got dragged into the muck, Craig Biggio was one. If there was ever a ballot and a year to make a statement about what we didn't do as players — which is we didn't actively push to get the game clean — this is it."

The lead-up to the announcement was filled with rancorous debate, as voters (who have to be 10-year members of the BBWAA), current Hall of Famers, candidates, present players and fans all attempted to sort through a convoluted and controversial process. The 569 ballots were four fewer than last year and included five blanks (down from nine), which factored into the percentage.

Players union chief Michael Weiner called the voting "unfortunate, if not sad."

"To ignore the historic accomplishments of Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, for example, is hard to justify," he said. "Moreover, to penalize players exonerated in legal proceedings — and others never even implicated — is simply unfair. The Hall of Fame is supposed to be for the best players to have ever played the game. Several such players were denied access to the Hall today. Hopefully this will be rectified by future voting."

Bonds' agent, Jeff Borris, told the Associated Press: "It is unimaginable that the best player to ever play the game would not be a unanimous first-ballot selection."

Baseball commissioner Bud Selig, however, said he had no issues with the result.

"This is not to be voted to make sure that somebody gets in every year," he told the AP. "It's to be voted on to make sure that they're deserving. I respect the writers as well as the Hall itself. This idea that this somehow diminishes the Hall or baseball is just ridiculous in my opinion."

Hall of Famer pitcher Jim Palmer said he was more concerned with the impact on other candidates. "The problem is for a guy like Fred McGriff, who never had any kind of accusations and had almost 500 home runs, or Dale Murphy,'' he told the Baltimore Sun. "Their numbers pale (in comparison), and people forget how good they were. That's the tragedy."

While some voters have said they are opposed to voting for any player connected to PEDs, others indicated they voted No now but might change their opinion.

Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson suggested a long-range view as players get to stay on the ballot for 15 years.

"It's a tough period for evaluation, that's what this chalks up to," he said. "Honestly, I think that any group you put this to would have the same issues. … There's always going to be discussion and concern about players who didn't get in, but at the end of the day it's a process and again, a snapshot in time isn't one year, it's 15 with this exercise."

To maintain interest in the July 28 ceremony, which still includes Pre-Integration Committee electees umpire Hank O'Day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th-century player Deacon White, the Hall also will honor 12 previous enshrinees who didn't have formal inductions, topped by Lou Gehrig and Rogers Hornsby.

First-timers on next year's ballot include three near locks, former Braves pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine and ex-White Sox slugger Frank Thomas.

Marc Topkin can be reached at

2013 Hall of Fame Voting

569 votes cast, 427 needed:

Player Votes Pct.

Craig Biggio 388 68.2%

Jack Morris 385 67.7%

Jeff Bagwell 339 59.6%

Mike Piazza 329 57.8%

Tim Raines 297 52.2%

Lee Smith 272 47.8%

Curt Schilling 221 38.8%

Roger Clemens 214 37.6%

Barry Bonds 206 36.2%

Edgar Martinez 204 35.9%

Alan Trammell 191 33.6%

Larry Walker 123 21.6%

Fred McGriff 118 20.7%

Dale Murphy 106 18.6%

Mark McGwire 96 16.9%

Don Mattingly 75 13.2%

Sammy Sosa 71 12.5%

Rafael Palmeiro 50 8.8%

By receiving fewer than 29 votes (less than 5 percent), Bernie Williams 19 (3.3%), Kenny Lofton 18 (3.2%), Sandy Alomar Jr. 16 (2.8%), Julio Franco 6 (1.1%), David Wells 5 (0.9%), Steve Finley 4 (0.7%), Shawn Green 2 (0.4%), Aaron Sele 1 (0.2%), Jeff Cirillo 0, Royce Clayton 0, Jeff Conine 0, Roberto Hernandez 0, Ryan Klesko 0, Jose Mesa 0, Reggie Sanders 0, Mike Stanton 0, Todd Walker 0, Rondell White 0 and Woody Williams 0 are no longer eligible for election by the BBWAA.

No players elected to National Baseball Hall of Fame 01/09/13 [Last modified: Thursday, January 10, 2013 12:08am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. State baseball: Unbeaten Calvary Christian makes it 29 straight wins, reaches final


    FORT MYERS — Calvary Christian is one game from season-long perfection. And its first state championship.

     Calvary Christian players celebrate their win after the FHSAA class 4A semi-final against American Heritage on Friday May 26, 2017 at Hammond Stadium in Fort Myers, Fla. Calvary defeated American Heritage 7 to 1. Calvary takes on Pensacola Catholic in the championship tomorrow night, at Hammond Stadium.
  2. USF eliminated by UCF in AAC baseball; Florida, FSU, Miami win


    CLEARWATER — Roughly 16 hours after a ninth-inning collapse against East Carolina in the American Athletic Conference's double-elimination baseball tournament, USF returned to Spectrum Field presumably set for a reboot.

    It simply got booted instead.

    ’NOLES win: Tyler Holton gets a hug from Drew Carlton after his strong eight innings help Florida State beat Louisville.
  3. Rays journal: Rookie Daniel Robertson takes pride in sparkling defense

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — Rookie INF Daniel Robertson has earned raves for his defensive play at both second base and shortstop, making a highlight play almost every game he starts, including one in the fifth inning Friday.

  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Friday's Rays-Twins game

    The Heater

    RF Steven Souza is always, shall we say, entertaining. In the second, he made an impressive running, leaping catch. In the seventh, he made either the worst dive for a ball a good 15 feet away or was trying for the best deke. In the eighth, he hit a massive homer.

  5. Rowdies anxious to get back on track


    ST. PETERSBURG — Having already played four matches in less than two weeks' time, the Rowdies have to turn around again on short rest to host Saint Louis FC today.

    And they're actually glad about it.