Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Rays opening day timeline

Opening day timeline

11 a.m.: Trop parking lots open

12:10 p.m.: Gates open, with Rays players greeting fans first few minutes

12:20: Rays batting practice

1:20: Orioles batting practice

2:46: Introductions

2:57: Moment of silence

2:58: National anthem, performed by Tampa Bay area saxophonist BK Jackson, fourth opener. Colors presented by U.S. Centcom Joint Service Color Guard

3:02: Ceremonial first pitch, senior adviser Don Zimmer, entering his 65th season of pro baseball, joined by his family: wife Soot, son Tom, daughter-in-law Marian, grandsons Bo and Ron

3:08: Rays take the field, to Bang a Gong (Get It On)

3:10: First pitch, by Cy Young Award winner David Price

For openers

How Rays have fared in openers:

1998 vs. Detroit 11-6 L

1999 at Baltimore 10-7 L

2000 at Minnesota 7-0 W

2001 vs. Toronto 8-1 W

2002 vs. Detroit 9-5 W

2003 vs. Boston 6-4 W

2004 vs. New York* 8-3 W

2005 vs. Toronto 5-2 L

2006 at Baltimore 9-6 L

2007 at New York 9-5 L

2008 at Baltimore 6-2 W

2009 at Boston 5-3 L

2010 vs. Baltimore 4-3 W

2011 vs. Baltimore 4-1 L

2012 vs. New York 7-6 W

2013 vs. Baltimore

Leading men

The Rays' opening day starters by position:

Catcher (5): Toby Hall 5; John Flaherty, Dioner Navarro 4; John Jaso 1; Jose Molina 1

First base (7): Fred McGriff, Carlos Peña 4; Travis Lee 3; Steve Cox, Dan Johnson, Tino Martinez, Ty Wigginton 1

Second base (10): Miguel Cairo 3; Brent Abernathy, Jorge Cantu, Aki Iwamura 2; Elliot Johnson, Sean Rodriguez, Rey Sanchez, Bobby Smith, B.J. Upton, Ben Zobrist 1

Shortstop (9): Jason Bartlett, Julio Lugo, Kevin Stocker 3; Reid Brignac, Chris Gomez, Felix Martinez, Rey Ordonez, Sean Rodriguez, Ben Zobrist 1

Third base (10): Evan Longoria 4; Wade Boggs, Aubrey Huff 2; Willy Aybar, Vinny Castilla, Alex Gonzalez, Aki Iwamura, Herbert Perry, Damian Rolls, Bobby Smith 1

Leftfield (7): Carl Crawford 8; Greg Vaughn 2; Johnny Damon, Matt Joyce, Mike Kelly, Paul Sorrento, Jason Tyner 1

Centerfield (10): B.J. Upton 3; Rocco Baldelli, Gerald Williams, Randy Winn 2; Elijah Dukes, Joey Gathright, Desmond Jennings, Matt Joyce, Quinton McCracken, Chris Singleton 1.

Rightfield (10): Ben Grieve, Dave Martinez 3; Ben Zobrist 2; Jose Cruz Jr., Gabe Gross, Eric Hinske, Damon Hollins, Aubrey Huff, Matt Joyce, Delmon Young 1

DH (13): Pat Burrell, Jose Canseco 2; Rocco Baldelli, Steve Cox, Cliff Floyd, Jonny Gomes, Aubrey Huff, Jeff Keppinger, Al Martin, Josh Phelps, Manny Ramirez, Paul Sorrento, Greg Vaughn 1

Pitchers (10): James Shields 4; Wilson Alvarez, Scott Kazmir 2; Dewon Brazelton, Joe Kennedy, Albie Lopez, David Price, Tanyon Sturtze, Steve Trachsel, Victor Zambrano 1

Rays opening day timeline 04/01/13 [Last modified: Monday, April 1, 2013 9:45pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. For starters: Rays at Orioles, facing another old friend in Jeremy Hellickson


    The Rays take on the Orioles again tonight and will face another old friend for the first time, as RHP Jeremy Hellickson will take the mound for the home team.

    Hellickson was drafted by the Rays in 2005 and pitched for them from 2010-14, then was traded to Arizona. He has since bounced to the Phillies and …

  2. Bucs have chance to beat Vikings in their third stadium


    Here's a cool sign that the Bucs are getting up there as an NFL franchise: If Tampa Bay can win Sunday at U.S. Bank Stadium, it will mark the first time the Bucs have posted road wins against the same NFL opponent in three different stadiums.

    TIMES ARCHIVES (2012) | Bucs RB Doug Martin runs during Tampa Bay's 36-17 win at the Vikings in 2012, in what was then called Mall of America Field. If Tampa Bay wins Sunday, it will mark the first time they have road wins against the same NFL opponent in three different stadiums.
  3. NFL commissioner, players' union angrily denounce Trump comments on national anthem


    SOMERSET, N.J. — The National Football League and its players' union on Saturday angrily denounced President Donald Trump for suggesting that owners fire players who kneel during the national …

    President Donald Trump walks off the stage after he speaks at campaign rally in support of Sen. Luther Strange, Friday, Sept. 22, 2017, in Huntsville, Ala. [Associated Press]
  4. Matt Peca making case for Lightning spot


    Center Matt Peca said he didn't read too much into the fact he was the only Lightning player to appear in each of the first three exhibition games.

    But Peca, 24, loved it.

    Matt Peca won nine of 10 faceoffs Friday, a skill the Lightning badly needs.
  5. Bucs players respond to Trump comments on anthem protests


    President Donald Trump shared his thoughts Friday night on NFL players protesting during the national anthem, suggesting that NFL owners should "fire" players who kneel during the anthem in protest. His remarks are alreading drawing responses from many NFL players, including some Bucs.

    Bucs players Mike Evans and Jameis Winston stand with coach Dirk Koetter during the national anthem in a game played in San Diego last season.