weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

3 Florida Gators earn All-SEC basketball honors

GAINESVILLE — Three Gator basketball players were named All-SEC selections on Tuesday, and sophomore F Patric Young was honored as the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Junior G Kenny Boynton and freshman G Bradley Beal were named first-team All-SEC, and senior G Erving Walker was a second-team selection. Boynton and Beal are the first Florida teammates to receive first-team honors in the same season since Al Horford, Corey Brewer and Joakim Noah in 2007. Beal was also named to the All-Freshman team — becoming the first player in Florida history to be named first-team All-SEC and SEC All-Freshman in the same season.

Young is the third Gator to earn SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors, joining two-time winner Lee Humphrey (2006 and 2007) and Ray Shipman (2010). Young holds a 3.37 GPA in telecommunications.

Kentucky's John Calipari is the SEC Coach of the Year and freshman Anthony Davis is Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Antonya English, Times staff writer

3 Florida Gators earn All-SEC basketball honors 03/06/12 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 6, 2012 4:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours