Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Florida Gators' Billy Donovan, Chandler Parsons named SEC Coach and Player of the Year

GAINESVILLE — After 15 seasons — including two national championships — Florida coach Billy Donovan on Tuesday was honored by his league peers with his first SEC Coach of the Year award.

Senior forward Chandler Parsons was named SEC player of the year, the first Florida player to win the award from the league's coaches. Florida's Patric Young was named to the All-Freshman team, and Gator guards Kenny Boynton and Erving Walker were All-SEC second-team selections.

"I am extremely humbled to be named SEC coach of the year by my peers," Donovan said. "This league has outstanding coaches and a number of deserving candidates to win the award. I'm fortunate and blessed to have a great group of players, assistant coaches and staff — this honor is more a reflection of their work and effort than anything that I have done."

With the league tournament starting Thursday, Donovan has led Florida to a 13-3 record in the SEC, 24-6 overall. He has the third-most wins by an SEC coach with 355, trailing Kentucky's Adolph Rupp (876) and LSU's Dale Brown (448).

Parsons, who went through a tough stretch earlier this season, has become Florida's most versatile player, averaging 11.4 points, 7.8 rebounds, 3.6 assists and one steal per game.

"Obviously this award is handed out to a single player, but I share it proudly with my teammates and coaching staff," Parsons said.

Florida Gators' Billy Donovan, Chandler Parsons named SEC Coach and Player of the Year 03/08/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 8, 2011 6:42pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Countryside alum A.J. Andrews lands in ESPN's annual body issue (w/video)


    A.J. Andrews has taken over the spotlight in softball. Last year, the former Countryside High and LSU standout became the first female to win a Rawlings Gold Glove in the award's 59-year existence.

    Former Countryside and LSU softball standout A.J. Andrews will be among 23 athletes to be featured in ESPN The Magazine's body issue. "I have a really ripped back," Andrews says while laughing in the video. [Photo from video]

  2. James Wilder Jr. back at running Canada


    Remember when former Plant High star and Florida State running back James Wilder Jr. announced he was switching to linebacker?

    That was short-lived, apparently.

  3. Cup-winning Lightning captain Dave Andreychuk makes Hockey Hall of Fame

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — Hall of Fame coach Scotty Bowman said Dave Andreychuk's name has surfaced often the past eight years with the selection committee.

    30 Oct 2001:  Left wing Dave Andreychuk #25 of the Tampa Bay Lightning skates towards the blue line during the NHL game against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada.  The Maple Leafs defeated the Lightning 3-2.  Mandatory Credit:  Dave Sanford /Allsport
  4. Rays acquire slick-fielding shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria from Marlins

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Chaim Bloom said the Rays weren't necessarily in the market for a shortstop. The team has a number of those. But when the Marlins recently began shopping Adeiny Hechavarria, well, that was too much to pass up.

    Adeiny Hechavarria has emerged as one of baseball’s top defensive shortstops in the past three seasons with the Marlins.
  5. Rays at Pirates, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, Pittsburgh

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Pirates

    7:05, PNC Park

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Probable pitchers

    Rays: Alex Cobb (6-5, 4.05)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)