Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Castroneves rides on fumes to capture Indy 300 victory

SPARTA, Ky. — Helio Castroneves crossed the finish line in front. This time it counted.

The IndyCar star won the Indy 300 at Kentucky Speedway on Saturday night, driving the final 53 laps on one tank of fuel around the 1.5-mile oval and taking advantage when the leaders made late pit stops to fill up.

Pole-sitter Ed Carpenter was second, followed by St. Petersburg resident Dan Wheldon, Tony Kannan and Dario Franchitti. Points leader Will Power led 82 laps but slipped to eighth after a late-race error.

Power's bobble allowed Franchitti to draw within 17 points with two races left.

Castroneves was fined $60,000 after a postrace outburst in July in Edmonton, where he was penalized for blocking late in the race.

Officials ordered Castroneves to the back. He stayed in front instead, crossing the finish line first even as the flagman withheld the checkers until Scott Dixon crossed moments later.

The normally ebullient Castroneves lost his cool in the aftermath, striking a security official.

On Saturday, Castroneves and the same official hugged after Castroneves collected the 24th victory of his IndyCar career.

Nationwide: Jamie McMurray thought he had the fastest car from the first practice to the last lap. And he proved the point by taking the lead for good on the final restart and holding off Kyle Busch to win the Great Clips 300 at Atlanta Motor Speedway in Hampton, Ga.

Busch, trying to become the first driver in the 28-year history of the series to win 11 races in a season, fell short in his late attempt to catch McMurray.

Busch led the most laps but finished second, and Carl Edwards was third.

NHRA: Larry Dixon took the Top Fuel qualifying lead at the U.S. Nationals at O'Reilly Raceway Park in Clermont, Ind. Dixon, winner of nine races and top seed entering the Full Throttle Countdown to the Championship, had a track-record run of 3.776 seconds at 324.36 mph. Matt Hagan (Funny Car), Jeg Coughlin (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) led their divisions in the first of six playoff events.

Castroneves rides on fumes to capture Indy 300 victory 09/04/10 [Last modified: Sunday, September 5, 2010 12:14am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays at Twins, 2:10 p.m. Saturday, Minneapolis

    The Heater

    Today: at Twins

    2:10, Target Field, Minneapolis

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun, 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

  2. State baseball: Unbeaten Calvary Christian makes it 29 straight wins, reaches final


    FORT MYERS — Calvary Christian is one game from season-long perfection. And its first state championship.

     Calvary Christian players celebrate their win after the FHSAA class 4A semi-final against American Heritage on Friday May 26, 2017 at Hammond Stadium in Fort Myers, Fla. Calvary defeated American Heritage 7 to 1. Calvary takes on Pensacola Catholic in the championship tomorrow night, at Hammond Stadium.
  3. USF eliminated by UCF in AAC baseball; Florida, FSU, Miami win


    CLEARWATER — Roughly 16 hours after a ninth-inning collapse against East Carolina in the American Athletic Conference's double-elimination baseball tournament, USF returned to Spectrum Field presumably set for a reboot.

    It simply got booted instead.

    ’NOLES win: Tyler Holton gets a hug from Drew Carlton after his strong eight innings help Florida State beat Louisville.
  4. Rays journal: Rookie Daniel Robertson takes pride in sparkling defense

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — Rookie INF Daniel Robertson has earned raves for his defensive play at both second base and shortstop, making a highlight play almost every game he starts, including one in the fifth inning Friday.

  5. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Friday's Rays-Twins game

    The Heater

    RF Steven Souza is always, shall we say, entertaining. In the second, he made an impressive running, leaping catch. In the seventh, he made either the worst dive for a ball a good 15 feet away or was trying for the best deke. In the eighth, he hit a massive homer.