Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2009 includes former Miami quarterback Gino Torretta but not former Florida State cornerback Deion Sanders

Former Florida State star cornerback Deion Sanders will have to wait for at least another year for entry into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Sanders, a two-time unanimous first-team All-American (1987-88), was on the ballot again but not among 16 players and two coaches announced Thursday as members of the 2009 Division I-A class.

Heisman winners Gino Torretta (1992, Miami quarterback) and Tim Brown (1987, Notre Dame receiver) are among the inductees.

"It's awful hard to turn down, when you go into their offices and the last five (starting quarterbacks) are on the cover of Sports Illustrated," Torretta said of attending UM after his first choice, Stanford, wasn't interested in him.

Torretta was 26-2.

"Everything worked out," he said. "You do good things and you're a good person, you end up in good places."

Brown said he had only a good education in mind when he started at Notre Dame, but coach Lou Holtz pushed him to aspire for greatness as a player.

"When you picked up a helmet and a football when you were 8, 9 years old, the last thing you thought about was ending up in the college football Hall of Fame," Brown said.

The veterans committee selected Williams Lewis, who played center for Harvard from 1892-93 and was the first black player to be picked as an All-American by Walter Camp.

Sanders redefined his position with speed, savvy and style. He returned four interceptions for touchdowns and returned three punts for scores (both tied for the most in school history), often high stepping toward the end zone and holding a hand to his ear.

But Sanders created a controversy by his reported infrequent class attendance in the fall semester of his final season that led the Board of Regents to pass an attendance rule known as the "Deion Rule.''

FSU: Receiver Cameron Wade didn't make it to court Wednesday in Tallahassee for a pretrial hearing on a misdemeanor battery charge and has a warrant out for his arrest for failing to appear. The redshirt sophomore was arrested in November for his part in a brawl on campus with members of a fraternity. Wade and four other receivers were suspended for one game last season for their part in the brawl.

draft change: College basketball players will have to decide more quickly whether they plan to stay in the NBA draft. A new rule approved by the NCAA's Board of Directors requires early entrants to withdraw from the draft by May 8 instead of the current June 15.

Information from Times wires was used in this report.

class of 2009

College Football Hall of Fame

Pervis Atkins, New Mexico State, HB

Tim Brown, Notre Dame, WR

Chuck Cecil, Arizona, DB

Ed Dyas, Auburn, FB

Major Harris, W. Va. QB

Gordon Hudson, BYU, TE

Williams Lewis, Harvard, center

Woodrow Lowe, Alabama, LB

Ken Margerum, Stanford, WR

Dick McPherson, Syracuse, coach

Steve McMichael, Texas, DL

John Robinson, UCLA/UNLV, coach

Chris Spielman, Ohio State, LB

Larry Station, Iowa, LB

Pat Swilling, Georgia, Tech, DE

Gino Torretta, Miami, QB

Curt Warner, Penn St., RB

Grant Wistrom, Nebraska, DE

College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2009 includes former Miami quarterback Gino Torretta but not former Florida State cornerback Deion Sanders 04/30/09 [Last modified: Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:55pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Anthem protest, the latest: Jerry Jones joins Cowboys on field in show of solidarity


    As President Donald Trump continued tweeting Monday about his displeasure with NFL players for staging demonstrations during the national anthem, the Cowboys took a knee on the field just before the anthem was performed on Monday Night Football. Dallas players were joined by owner Jerry Jones, and they quickly …

    Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, center, joins the team in taking a knee before the national anthem Monday night. They stood and linked arms for the anthem.
  2. Bucs journal: Gerald McCoy says players who kneel have team's support


    TAMPA — Receivers Mike Evans and DeSean Jackson were the only Bucs players kneeling during the national anthem before Sunday's game against the Vikings, but DT Gerald McCoy said the team supports their protest "100 percent."

    Bucs tight end Cameron Brate pulls in a touchdown catch as Vikings safety Andrew Sendejo (34) hits him in the back of the head.
  3. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
  4. Luke Del Rio regains UF starting job, for now


    GAINESVILLE — Luke Del Rio is once again the starting quarterback for No. 21 Florida.

    Luke Del Rio provided a needed spark when he replaced starter Feleipe Franks and rallied Florida past Kentucky.
  5. Four questions the Lightning still has to answer

    Lightning Strikes

    FORT LAUDERDALE — The Lightning made its biggest round of cuts Monday, with some of the big-name prospects heading out.

    Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos (91) looks on from the bench during a shift change at Lightning hockey training camp in Brandon on Monday (09/18/17). In background on right is Nikita Kucherov (86). DIRK SHADD   |   Times