Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Florida Gators junior quarterback Tim Tebow does not win back-to-back Heismans, finishing third

NEW YORK — Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford won the coveted Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, but Florida fans might have won something even bigger.

One more year of Tim Tebow.

In one of the closest Heisman races in history, Tebow finished third in the voting behind Bradford and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy. Bradford won the award by 122 points over McCoy, 151 over Tebow, who actually garnered the most first-place votes (309) of the three finalists.

"I had more of a gut feeling that I was going to win last year," Tebow said. "But I thought I had a chance. I'm competitive. I want to win everything that I do. So obviously I wanted to win."

Tebow's third-place finish was the second-closest total ever to the winning total. The 2007 Heisman winner, Tebow was trying to become just the second ever to win the award for the nation's outstanding college football player twice, joining Ohio State's Archie Griffin.

Asked what finishing third meant: "I guess maybe more motivation for one more year to tie Archie. I don't know," Tebow said. "Maybe."

That might have been just part of the payoff.

By the time he arrived at the podium for interviews 30 minutes after the announcement, Tebow said his Gator teammates had sent text messages en masse. And although he wouldn't reveal the messages, his teammates were undoubtedly fired up by his loss. And by 9 p.m., minutes after the announcement, the Gators had moved on to bigger things.

"To tell you the truth, it's probably more motivating for my teammates than it is for myself," Tebow said. "We still get Jan. 8 to decide something a little bit better. They're excited, and we're all going to be ready for Jan. 8."

When the BCS title game is played Jan. 8 in Miami between Oklahoma and Florida, it will be the first time since Oklahoma's Jason White and USC's Matt Leinart in 2004 that two Heisman winners will be featured.

If history is any indication, Gator fans might have something to take comfort in. In the 10 years the Bowl Championship Series has existed, six Heisman winners have played in a national championship game. Only Leinart won a national title (2004). Oklahoma has never won a Heisman and a national championship in the same year.

Bradford became just the second sophomore to win the Heisman, following in Tebow's footsteps. It was the eighth time in the past nine years that a quarterback has won the award.

"I don't think I could put into words what I feel. It was a surreal experience," said Bradford, who threw for 4,464 yards and 48 touchdowns this season. "I think it will take until at least (today) to realize what happened. I was pretty nervous. I really wasn't expecting my name to be called."

Bradford became only the third Heisman winner who did not receive the majority of first-place votes (Notre Dame's Paul Hornung, 1956; Oklahoma's Billy Sims, 1978). Out of all six regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Southwest, Midwest and Far West — Tebow was the only finalist left off the most ballots in any region. He earned just 184 points in the Southwest, where Bradford and McCoy both play. He was left off 154 of the 904 ballots.

Not since 1956 had a player drawn the most first-place votes and finished third; Tommy McDonald of Oklahoma holds that distinction.

"I think it shows they either love us or they hate us," said Tebow, who said he was disappointed he didn't win but happy for Bradford. "That's the Gator Nation. I kind of love that about us. I appreciate everybody who voted for me and thought I was worthy of it. And if they didn't think I was worthy, oh well, I could get one more chance, right?"

When asked how long it would take him to get over losing the award, Tebow let his competitiveness resurface.

"Why get over it?," he said. "Why get over it? It's motivation, just like Ole Miss."

Heisman voting

Voting for the 2008 Heisman Trophy, with first-, second- and third-place votes and total points (voting on a 3-2-1 basis):

Player 1st 2nd 3rd TOT.

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma 300 315 196 1,726

Colt McCoy, Texas 266 288 230 1,604

Tim Tebow, Florida 309 207 234 1,575

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech 13 44 86 213

Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech 3 27 53 116

Shonn Greene, Iowa 5 9 32 65

Patrick White, W. Virginia 3 1 8 19

Nate Davis, Ball State 0 1 8 10

Rey Maualuga, USC 2 1 1 9

Javon Ringer, Michigan St. 1 0 5 8

Regional voting

Breakdown of the finalists:


1. Sam Bradford, 289; 2. Tim Tebow, 274; 3. Colt McCoy, 266


1. Bradford, 267; 2. Tebow, 264;

3. McCoy, 252


1. Tebow, 382; 2. Bradford, 250;

3. McCoy, 247


1. Bradford, 360; 2. McCoy, 313;

3. Tebow, 184


1. McCoy, 292; 2. Bradford, 281;

3. Tebow, 259


1. Bradford, 279; 2. McCoy, 234;

3. Tebow, 212

Florida Gators junior quarterback Tim Tebow does not win back-to-back Heismans, finishing third 12/13/08 [Last modified: Friday, December 19, 2008 9:36am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Roberto Aguayo, Jonathan Drouin, Tim Beckham are coming for revenge


    Forget the Three Tenors.

    Make it the Three Terrors.

    The 2017 Unfulfilled Expectations Tour is about to hit Tampa Bay.

    From left, former Bucs kicker Roberto Aguayo, ex-Lightning forward Jonathan Drouin and former Rays infielder Tim Beckham. [LOREN ELLIOTT | Times; DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD | Times; Getty Images]
  2. Longest home run at Trop and Erasmo Ramirez's pitching doom Rays (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Kevin Kiermaier returned. The problem was, so did Erasmo Ramirez.

    Seattle Mariners first baseman Yonder Alonso (10) scores on the double by Seattle Mariners designated hitter Nelson Cruz (23) in the first inning of the game between the Seattle Mariners and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Friday, August 18, 2017.
  3. Rays journal: Kevin Kiermaier returns, Mallex Smith sent to Triple A

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — It didn't take CF Kevin Kiermaier long to make his presence felt during his return Friday to the Rays lineup. Kiermaier pretended to have Mariners DH Nelson Cruz's first-inning line drive lined up even as the ball went past him to his right and to the wall.

    Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier (39) flies out in the first inning of the game between the Seattle Mariners and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Friday, August 18, 2017.
  4. Rays vs. Mariners, 6:10 p.m. Saturday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Mariners

    6:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    This is a 2017 photo of Jake Odorizzi of the Tampa Bay Rays baseball team. This image reflects the 2017 active roster as of Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017 when this image was taken. (AP Photo/David Goldman)