Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Heisman Trophy thoughts and tidbits

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded this evening in New York. We offer our Two Cents on the top prize in college football.

Rolling with the Tide

It's hard to believe that Alabama, with one of the richest traditions in college football, has never had a Heisman Trophy winner. Running back Mark Ingram could change that today. Here's a look at Crimson Tide players who fell just short of winning the Heisman.

Harry Gilner

The quarterback finished fifth in voting in 1945 and 1947. Those years featured two of the greatest Heisman winners — Army's Doc Blanchard in 1945 and Notre Dame's Johnny Lujack in 1947.

Pat Trammel

The quarterback finished fifth in 1961, the year Syracuse legend Ernie Davis won.

Lee Roy Jordan

One of the all-time great linebackers was fourth in the 1962 balloting.

Johnny Musso

Known as the "Italian Stallion,'' the senior running back finished a distant fourth in 1971 behind winner Pat Sullivan of Auburn, Cornell's Ed Marinaro and Oklahoma's Greg Pruitt.

Terry Davis

The wishbone quarterback was fifth in the 1972 vote, the year another famous running quarterback, Johnny Rogers of Nebraska, won the award.

David Palmer

Palmer is the closest any Alabama player has come to the Heisman. The quarterback finished third in 1994, although he wasn't close at all. Florida State quarterback Charlie Ward won going away, finishing with 2,310 points to Tennessee quarterback Heath Shuler's 688 and Palmer's 292.

Jay Barker

The senior quarterback finished fifth overall in 1994 but was third among quarterbacks, behind Alcorn State's Steve McNair and Penn State's Kerry Collins. Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam won.


Michigan's Charles Woodson, below, the 1997 winner, is the only primarily defensive player to win the Heisman, though it should be noted that the year the cornerback won, he had signature moments scoring touchdowns on a punt return and an offensive reception. This year, Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh is among the five players invited to New York for the trophy presentation, but he appears to be a long shot to win.

Here's a look at other defensive players to make a run at the Heisman.

Hugh Green

The Pitt defensive end (and former Bucs linebacker) had 179 first-place votes, 125 second-place votes and 74 third-place votes in 1980 but finished second, losing by 267 points to South Carolina running back George Rogers. But many thought the winner should've been Georgia running back Herschel Walker, who finished third and didn't win only because many voters didn't think a freshman should.

Brian Bosworth

The brash Oklahoma linebacker finished fourth in 1986, but few complained about who won: Miami quarterback Vinny Testaverde, in a landslide over Temple running back Paul Palmer and Michigan quarterback Jim Harbaugh.

Marvin Jones

The Florida State linebacker finished fourth in 1992 behind Miami quarterback Gino Torretta, San Diego State running back Marshall Faulk and Georgia running back Garrison Hearst. Two other linebackers finished in the top 10. Miami's Micheal Barrow was seventh, and Alabama's Eric Curry was 10th.

Warren Sapp

The former Miami and Bucs great might have had a shot in any other year besides 1994. Sapp finished seventh behind several players who had spectacular seasons, including Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam, Penn State stars Ki-Jana Carter and Kerry Collins, and Alcorn State quarterback Steve McNair.

Rich Glover

He was one of the greatest and yet most underrated defensive players in college football history. The Nebraska defensive tackle finished third in 1972 behind winner and teammate Johnny Rogers and Oklahoma back Greg Pruitt.

Thoughts and tidbits

Best class

Looking back, it's hard to beat the 1982 class . Georgia's Herschel Walker won, followed by Stanford quarterback John Elway, SMU back Eric Dickerson, Michigan receiver Anthony Carter and Nebraska's Dave Rimington, one of the greatest offensive linemen in college football history. Heck, Pitt quarterback Dan Marino finished ninth in the voting, and the tie for 10th was a pair of sensational running backs, Penn State's Curt Warner and future Heisman winner Mike Rozier of Nebraska.

Worst class

The 2006 race was full of great college players whose success hasn't translated to the pros. The top five vote-getters were Ohio State's Troy Smith, Arkansas' Darren McFadden, Notre Dame's Brady Quinn, West Virginia's Steve Slaton and Michigan's Mike Hart.

Closest race

Auburn running back Bo Jackson nipped Iowa quarterback Chuck Long by 46 points in 1985. Last year, Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford finished 122 points ahead of Texas' Colt McCoy and 151 ahead of Florida's Tim Tebow.

Biggest blowout

In 1968, USC running back O.J. Simpson, right, won by a whopping 1,750 points over second-place finisher Leroy Keyes of Purdue for the biggest margin of victory. In 2005, USC running back Reggie Bush garnered a record 84 percent of the first-place votes.

First, but not first

Notre Dame's Paul Hornung (1956), Oklahoma's Billy Sims (1978) and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford (2008) are the only winners not to receive the most first-place votes. In 1956, Hornung had 197 first-place votes, but Oklahoma's Tommy McDonald, who finished third, had 205. In 1978, Penn State quarterback Chuck Fusina, who was the runnerup, had 163 first-place votes to Sims' 151. Florida's Tim Tebow finished third last season even though he had 309 first-place votes, nine more than Bradford.

Heisman Trophy thoughts and tidbits 12/11/09 [Last modified: Friday, December 11, 2009 10:51pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Bucs' Vernon Hargreaves: 'I'm not making any plays'


    TAMPA — Eli Manning gathered his receivers together on the sideline during the Giants' Week 4 game against the Bucs and told them he planned to target the weakest link of the secondary all afternoon.

    Patriots receiver Chris Hogan gets position in front of Bucs cornerback Vernon Hargreaves for a 5-yard touchdown pass in New England’s win on Oct. 5.
  2. Lightning's J.T. Brown to stop anthem protest, focus on community involvement

    Lightning Strikes

    COLUMBUS, Ohio — Lightning wing J.T. Brown will no longer raise his first as a protest during the national anthem before games.

    J.T. Brown says he will work more with the Tampa police and groups that serve at-risk young people.
  3. Signs point to Jameis Winston dressing vs. Bills


    TAMPA — The Bucs didn't sign another quarterback Wednesday, which would suggest they are confident that Jameis Winston can be active as a backup to Ryan Fitzpatrick on Sunday at Buffalo if he doesn't start.

  4. FSU doesn't feel need for ongoing reminder of last year's beatdown at Louisville


    Of course Florida State remembers what happened against Louisville last year. The 63-20 loss was one of the worst defeats in Seminoles history.

    Louisville's Lamar Jackson looks back at the action from the sidelines during the first half of an NCAA college football game against Murray State, Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017, in Louisville, Ky. (AP Photo/Timothy D. Easley)
  5. Goodell: NFL not changing its national anthem policy


    NEW YORK — In the face of fan unrest and accusations from the president about the league being unpatriotic, the NFL is not changing its national anthem policy to require players to stand.

    NFL commissioner Roger Goodell speaks during a news conference, Wednesday in New York. [AP Photo/Julie Jacobson]