Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Winston, FSU rake in football awards

FSU’s Jameis Winston shows his Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback.

Associated Press

FSU’s Jameis Winston shows his Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback.

LAKE BUENA VISTA — Florida State was the big winner at Thursday night's Home Depot College Football Awards as the Seminoles took home three national awards — the most of any school.

FSU quarterback and Heisman Trophy finalist Jameis Winston was honored with the Davey O'Brien Award, presented to the nation's top quarterback. Winston is the second freshman to win the O'Brien Award, following Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, who won it last year. Winston joins former Seminoles Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke as O'Brien winners.

"I'm just enjoying the night," said Winston, who was also named Walter Camp player of the year. "I'm thankful for the opportunity."

FSU's Roberto Aguayo won the Lou Groza Award for the nation's outstanding placekicker, and FSU's Bryan Stork won the Rimington Trophy for outstanding center. Stork is the first Rimington winner from FSU and the first from the ACC.

For Aguayo, Thursday was extra special: He grew up in Mascotte, less than an hour from Orlando, playing for South Lake High.

"I lived down the road 35-40 minutes from here," Aguayo said. "And coming back and winning it here means a lot to me."

A lifelong FSU fan, Aguayo joins Sebastian Janikowski (1998 and 1999) and Graham Gano (2003) as Seminoles to win the Groza Award. FSU is the only school to have three Groza winners. The redshirt freshman set a school and ACC season record for points (147). He was 19-of-20 on field goals and made all 90 extra points. Marvin Kloss of USF also was a Groza finalist.

FSU's Lamarcus Joyner was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (cornerback), won by Michigan State's Darqueze Dennard.

The ACC totaled four winners.

The SEC was well-represented as well. Auburn coach Gus Malzahn was named national coach of the year. He is the first first-year coach to win the SEC title in 66 years. Alabama quarterback and Heisman finalist AJ McCarron became the first Alabama player to win the Maxwell Award for college player of the year. He's the second SEC player to win since Cam Newton in 2010.

Antonya English can be reached at

Up next

Heisman Trophy presentation

Florida State QB Jameis Winston will be the heavy favorite at Saturday's ceremony (8 p.m., ESPN) in New York. The other finalists: Alabama QB AJ McCarron, Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch, Boston College RB Andre Williams and Auburn RB Tre Mason.

Award winners

Maxwell (most outstanding): AJ McCarron, Alabama

Chuck Bednarik (defensive player of year): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Fred Biletnikoff (receiver): Brandin Cooks, Oregon St.

Lou Groza (placekicker): Roberto Aguayo, FSU

Ray Guy (punter): Tom Hornsey, Memphis

Davey O'Brien (quarterback): Jameis Winston, FSU

Outland (interior lineman): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Jim Thorpe (defensive back): Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State

Doak Walker

(running back): Andre Williams, Boston College

Dave Rimington (center): Bryan Stork, FSU

John Mackey (tight end): Austin Sefarian-Jenkins, Washington

Winston, FSU rake in football awards 12/12/13 [Last modified: Thursday, December 12, 2013 10:18pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. U.S. repeats as Solheim Cup champion


    WEST DES MOINES, Iowa — Lexi Thompson set the tone by rallying from four holes down. The rest of the Americans took it from there and restored their dominance in the Solheim Cup

    Lexi Thompson, left, comes back from four holes down to halve the day’s first singles match with Europe’s Anna Nordqvist to set the tone for the United States.
  2. Rays see the Blake Snell they've been waiting for in win over Mariners

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — It was a one-run game Sunday when the Mariners' Robinson Cano singled with one out in the seventh inning, bringing the dangerous Nelson Cruz to the plate.

    Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Blake Snell (4) throwing in the third inning of the game between the Seattle Mariners and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, Aug. 20, 2017.
  3. Bucs journal: Demar Dotson (mild groin strain) expected back for opener


    TAMPA — The Bucs got good news Sunday on starting right tackle Demar Dotson, whose MRI exam showed only a mild right groin sprain and who should be back at practice next week.

    Tackle Demar Dotson has only a mild groin strain.
  4. Bucs counting on better health creating better pass rush


    TAMPA — Ask Bucs coaches about the improved depth and health of their defensive line, and they'll look around for a piece of wood to knock on.

    Retired All-Pro defensive end  Simeon Rice, right, the last Buc to have double-digit sacks in a season,  works with defensive end Ryan Russell, who last season was promoted from the practice squad for the second half of the year as injuries piled up. He is competing for a backup job this year.
  5. Rays journal: Jake Faria heads to DL with left abdominal strain

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — RHP Jacob Faria made the trek he didn't want to take after his last start. It was to the trainer's room. The pain in his left abdominal went from nagging to an issue during his start that night in Toronto.

    Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Jacob Faria (34) throwing in the first inning of the game between the Milwaukee Brewers and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Friday, August 4, 2017.