Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wuerffel makes College Football Hall of Fame

GAINESVILLE — Danny Wuerffel, the former Florida Heisman Trophy-winner who led Florida to its first national championship, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in December.

Wuerffel, 38, led Florida to four-consecutive SEC Championships (1993-96) and one national championship (1996). When he completed his collegiate career, he held 48 records (four NCAA, 12 SEC and 32 Florida), and threw for 10,875 yards with 114 touchdowns. He is the seventh Florida player to be inducted into the College Hall of Fame.

"What an incredible honor," Wuerffel said. "To think about the guys in this class, and looking over the history of it, to be included in this is a tremendous honor for me. … I just can't thank the Gator Nation enough. It is great to be a Florida Gator."

The Class of 2013 was announced Tuesday by the National Football Foundation, and includes former Miami Heisman Trophy winner Vinny Testaverde. Also in the class: Ted Brown (N.C. State), Tedy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State) and Don Trull (Baylor). Former coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, 1959-64; Temple 1970-82) and Bill McCartney (Colorado 1982-94) also will be inducted.

One of the first calls Wuerrfel made after he learned he had been named an inductee was to former coach Steve Spurrier.

"I just took the opportunity to really thank him for all that he's done in my life, and the way that his coaching has impacted much more than just football for me," Wuerffel said. "And so, it was really nice to get that moment."

Antonya English can be reached at

Wuerffel makes College Football Hall of Fame 05/07/13 [Last modified: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 4:38pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. James Wilder Jr. back at running Canada


    Remember when former Plant High star and Florida State running back James Wilder Jr. announced he was switching to linebacker?

    That was short-lived, apparently.

  2. Cup-winning Lightning captain Dave Andreychuk makes Hockey Hall of Fame

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — Hall of Fame coach Scotty Bowman said Dave Andreychuk's name has surfaced often the past eight years with the selection committee.

    30 Oct 2001:  Left wing Dave Andreychuk #25 of the Tampa Bay Lightning skates towards the blue line during the NHL game against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada.  The Maple Leafs defeated the Lightning 3-2.  Mandatory Credit:  Dave Sanford /Allsport
  3. Rays acquire slick-fielding shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria from Marlins

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Chaim Bloom said the Rays weren't necessarily in the market for a shortstop. The team has a number of those. But when the Marlins recently began shopping Adeiny Hechavarria, well, that was too much to pass up.

    Adeiny Hechavarria has emerged as one of baseball’s top defensive shortstops in the past three seasons with the Marlins.
  4. Rays at Pirates, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, Pittsburgh

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Pirates

    7:05, PNC Park

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Probable pitchers

    Rays: Alex Cobb (6-5, 4.05)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
  5. Lightning journal: Forward Yanni Gourde agrees to two-year deal

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — Just three years ago, Yanni Gourde was fighting to stay in pro hockey.

    Tampa Bay Lightning center Yanni Gourde celebrates after scoring against the Florida Panthers during the second period of an NHL hockey game, Saturday, March 11, 2017, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara) TPA108