Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

North Suncoast: Wiregrass Ranch sweeps Sunshine Athletic Conference titles

NEW PORT RICHEY — Wiregrass Ranch cross country coaches Chris Loth and Don Howard have seen the level of effort from their boys and girls squads continue to rise as district and region meets get closer.

So not much needed to be said by either coach Saturday morning before the Sunshine Athletic Conference meet at Starkey Park. After sweeping the boys and girls titles, the Bulls know there may be bigger things to come.

"I don't think there is a team more confident than we are right now," said Loth, the boys coach.

"The team chemistry and the way these guys have jelled the past eight weeks is amazing. I show up and tell them what to do and they do it. They're taking the team and running with it, literally."

The Wiregrass Ranch boys (22 points) placed six runners in the top 10 on Saturday, including seniors Josh Reilly, who continued his stellar season by conquering the 3.1-mile race in 16 minutes, 6 seconds, and Ryan Pulsifer (16:13) in second. Other top-10 Bulls placers were Sam Hippely (fifth), Ermias Bireda (sixth), Logan Selzer (eighth) and Tyler Mattera (10th).

Mitchell (103) was second in the boys team standings, while Sunlake and Land O'Lakes tied for third (119).

Pasco's Anthony Plourde continued his solid season, taking third individually (16:18).

The Wiregrass girls (23 points) topped Gulf (76) for the team title. Bulls had seven runners in the top 10, all finishing in less than 21 minutes. Sophomore Nikita Shah (19:28) was second to lead the Bulls finishers.

But individually the race belonged to Mitchell's Kelli Williams, who set a course record of 18:52, beating the mark of Northside Christian's Katelyn Greenleaf (19:14).

"I was planning on breaking 19 today," Williams said. "It's my senior year, and I had to step up today. I felt really good and really strong."



Wiregrass 22, Mitchell 103, Sunlake 119, Land O Lakes 119, Ridgewood 122, Pasco 154, Anclote 194, Gulf 198, River Ridge 203, Wesley Chapel 256, Fivay 269, Zephyrhills 284


Josh Reilly, Wiregrass, 16:06; Ryan Pulsifer, Wiregrass, 16:13; Anthony Plourde, Pasco, 16:18; Kenneth Fessel, Sunlake, 16:20; Sam Hippely, Wiregrass, 16:21; Ermias Bireda, Wiregrass, 16:26; Kolby Watson, Ridgewood, 16:29; Logan Selzer, Wiregrass, 16:32; Colby Sullivan, Mitchell, 16:46; Tyler Mattera, Wiregrass, 16:50


Wiregrass 23, Gulf 76, Ridgewood 80, Mitchell 108, Pasco 147, Land O Lakes 154, Wesley Chapel 185, Anclote 242, Sunlake 242, Fivay 263


Kelli Williams, Mitchell, 18:52; Nikita Shah, Wiregrass, 19:28; Ariel Gray, Wiregrass, 19:41; Alyssa Baladad, Ridgewood, 20:20; Marissa Tomei, Wiregrass, 20:29; Elise Cedre, Wiregrass, 20:33; Taylor Hixson, Wiregrass, 20:38; Amy Mueller, Ridgewood, 20:40; Kelsey Sturman, Wiregrass, 20:42; Chelsea Davis, Wiregrass, 20:51

North Suncoast: Wiregrass Ranch sweeps Sunshine Athletic Conference titles 10/23/10 [Last modified: Saturday, October 23, 2010 9:12pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays journal: Erasmo Ramirez ready to start a day after closing game

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — RHP Erasmo Ramirez was on the mound to finish Sunday's 15-inning marathon win over the Twins and will start tonight's game against the Rangers.

    The Rays’ Erasmo Ramirez throws 12 pitches in the 15th inning against the Twins to earn the save then says after the game that he’s ready to make his scheduled start against the Rangers: “My arm feels good.”
  2. Rays exhausted but happy after 15-inning win over Twins (w/video)

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — Before the Rays eventually won Sunday's 6½-hour, 15-inning marathon against the Twins 8-6, they did plenty to lose it. And we need to get that out of the way first.

    The Rays’ Evan Longoria enjoys a laugh after scoring, barely, to tie it in the ninth on Steven Souza Jr.’s two-out single.
  3. Tom Jones' Two Cents: ABC's Indy 500 coverage is stellar again

    TV and Radio

    Times columnist Tom Jones looks back at the best and worst from a weekend of televised sports.

    Best coverage

    Takuma Sato left, celebrates after winning the Indianapolis 500 as Helio Castroneves is a little late passing him. ABC’s coverage of the race is stellar throughout, with plenty of extras but no fake drama.
  4. Takuma Sato surprise winner of wreck-filled Indy 500

    Auto racing

    INDIANAPOLIS — Takuma Sato, a journeyman driver, became the first Japanese winner of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday when he held off three-time champion Helio Castroneves in a 230-mph wheel-rubbing duel to the finish.

    Scott Dixon’s car goes over the top of Jay Howard, soaring so high that Helio Castroneves drove under it while it was airborne. Stunningly, there were no serious injuries.
  5. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Sunday's Rays-Twins game

    The Heater

    The Rays won because they got two innings of good relief from each of the two pitchers who contributed to them losing Saturday's game, Danny Farquhar (who again struck out Miguel Sano) and Tommy Hunter, who both posted zeroes.