Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Enshrinees high-step final yards into Hall

Former Irish receiver Tim Brown, the Heisman winner after the 1987 season, poses appropriately in his Hall of Fame blazer.

Associated Press

Former Irish receiver Tim Brown, the Heisman winner after the 1987 season, poses appropriately in his Hall of Fame blazer.

SOUTH BEND, Ind. — Tim Brown struck the Heisman Trophy pose on stage at the urging of a fan after putting on his new College Football Hall of Fame blazer, then moments later, Steve McMichael playfully rushed past emcee Mark May like he was about to chase down a quarterback.

Related News/Archive

Both drew appreciative cheers from the crowd gathered for a rally to see the 24 former players and coaches who were being enshrined Saturday. The biggest cheer, though, was for Chris Spielman, with nearly 100 people in the crowd wearing his No. 36 Ohio State shirt.

"This is how we do it at Ohio State," Spielman said.

Even former Southern Cal coach John Robinson drew applause despite being in the back yard of rival Notre Dame. "It's nice to be in South Bend and not get booed," he said.

Among the others being honored were former Miami quarterback Gino Torretta, who won the Heisman in 1992; Penn State running back Curt Warner; and West Virginia quarterback Major Harris.

Those being honored found out in April 2009 they were going in and were inducted during a ceremony in New York in December. The South Bend event was the final step.

"To be part of the fabric of college football forever is just awesome," Torretta said.

"One of the things I miss most about being in the game is being in the locker room. When you come to things like this you get it back," said McMichael, a Longhorn from 1976 to 1979.

Dean Smith's memory slipping, family says

RALEIGH, N.C. — The family of former North Carolina basketball coach Dean Smith wrote in a letter to former players and friends that Smith, 79, is losing some of the remarkable memory that used to recall even the smallest details of the past.

Smith's condition was described as a "progressive neurocognitive disorder that affects his memory."

"He may not immediately recall the name of every former player from his many years of coaching, but that does not diminish what those players meant to him or how much he cares about them," the letter said. "He still remembers the words of a hymn or a jazz standard, but may not feel up to going to a concert. He still plays golf, though usually only for nine holes instead of 18."

Notre Dame: The son of former Irish football standout Joe Montana was among 11 athletes arrested on misdemeanor charges of underage drinking at a party Friday. A total of 44 people were arrested after South Bend police responded to a call about a fight and discovered the party. The most recognizable athletes arrested were Nate Montana, a football walk-on, and Tim Abromaitis, the second-leading scorer on the basketball team.

Fast Facts

2010 Hall of Fame inductees

Players: RB Pervis Atkins, New Mexico State; RB Emerson Boozer, Maryland Eastern Shore; WR Tim Brown, Notre Dame; WR Troy Brown, Marshall; DB Chuck Cecil, Arizona; FB Ed Dyas, Auburn; QB Major Harris, West Virginia; TE Gordon Hudson, Brigham Young; LB Brian Kelley, California Lutheran; C William Lewis, Harvard (FBS Veterans Committee pick, deceased); LB Woodrow Lowe, Alabama; WR Ken Margerum, Stanford; DT Steve McMichael, Texas; TE Milt Morin, UMass (deceased); LB Chris Spielman, Ohio State; LB Larry Station, Iowa; DE Pat Swilling, Georgia Tech; QB Gino Torretta, Miami; RB Curt Warner, Penn State; DE Grant Wistrom, Nebraska

Coaches: Willie Jeffries, Howard, Wichita State, S.C. State (Divisional Veterans Committee pick); Ted Kessinger, Bethany (Kan.); Dick MacPherson, UMass, Syracuse; John Robinson, Southern Cal, UNLV

Enshrinees high-step final yards into Hall 07/17/10 [Last modified: Saturday, July 17, 2010 9:55pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Ronde Barber: Want intimidation? Look at past Bucs teams


    Ronde Barber says these days "it's hard to find throwbacks, where you go, 'That guy is a badass.' Where do you find that now? It's such a show-off sport." (Times 2012)
  2. Rays blow lead in ninth, lose in 10 to Rangers (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Rays manager Kevin Cash liked the way Alex Cobb was competing Friday night. He liked the way the hard contact made by the Rangers batters went away after the second or third inning. So as the game headed toward the ninth, there was no doubt in Cash's mind that sending Cobb back to the mound was …

    Rays starter Alex Cobb can hardly believe what just happened as he leaves the game in the ninth after allowing a leadoff double then a tying two-run homer to the Rangers’ Shin-Soo Choo.
  3. Rays journal: Steven Souza Jr. gets extra day off to let hip heal

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — RF Steven Souza Jr. ran in rightfield before batting practice under the watchful gaze of the Rays training staff and manager Kevin Cash. Afterward, Souza told Cash he could use one more day of rest before playing on the left hip he strained Wednesday in Oakland.

    Steven Souza Jr., hugging Mallex Smith after Smith’s solo home run in the eighth inning, feels relief after tests are negative on his injured hip.
  4. Rays vs. Rangers, 7:10 p.m. Saturday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Rangers

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: FS1; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)