Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Previous Super Bowl champions, MVPs

Team Comparison

Regular season

Record (Won-lost-tied) 10-6 11-4-1

Offense BAL SF

First downs 314 322

Rushing 98 128

Passing 182 172

Penalty 34 22

Rushing (net) 1901 2491

Avg. per game 118.8 155.7

Yards per rush 4.3 5.1

Passing (net) 3739 3298

Avg. per game 233.7 206.1

Pct. completed 59.6 66.3

Yards gained 3900 3551

Sacked 38 41

Had intercepted 11 8

Punts avg. yards 47.1 48.1

Avg. punt return 9.4 10.5

Avg. kickoff return 27.3 24.8

Returned for TD 2 0

Yards penalized 929 960

Fumbles by 14 26

Fumbles lost 5 8

Opp. fumbles 23 21

Opp. fumbles lost 12 11

Poss. time (avg.) 32:25 31:46

Extra-point kicks 42/42 44/44

2-Point conversions 1/2 0/0


Opp. first downs 326 284

Rushing 105 72

Passing 187 178

Penalty 34 34

Opp. yards gained avg. 350.9 294.4

Rushing avg. per game 122.8 94.2

Yards per rush 4.0 3.7

Opp passing avg. 228.1 200.2

Pct. completed 60.1 59.4

Sacked 37 38

Yards lost 250 270

Intercepted by 13 14

Yards returned 196 216

Returned for TD 2 2

Opp punt returns 49 36

Avg. return 7.8 6.9

Opp kickoff returns 37 48

Avg. return 23.2 26.9

Super Bowl Champions

2012—N.Y. Giants (NFC) 21, New England (AFC) 17

2011—Green Bay (NFC) 31, Pittsburgh (AFC) 25

2010—New Orleans (NFC) 31, Indianapolis (AFC) 17

2009—Pittsburgh (AFC) 27, Arizona (NFC) 23

2008—N.Y. Giants (NFC) 17, New England (AFC) 14

2007—Indianapolis (AFC) 29, Chicago (NFC) 17

2006—Pittsburgh (AFC) 21, Seattle (NFC) 10

2005—New England (AFC) 24, Philadelphia (NFC) 21

2004—New England (AFC) 32, Carolina (NFC) 29

2003—Tampa Bay (NFC) 48, Oakland (AFC) 21

2002—New England (AFC) 20, St. Louis (NFC) 17

2001—Baltimore Ravens (AFC) 34, N.Y. Giants (NFC) 7

2000—St. Louis (NFC) 23, Tennessee (AFC) 16

1999—Denver (AFC) 34, Atlanta (NFC) 19

1998—Denver (AFC) 31, Green Bay (NFC) 24

1997—Green Bay (NFC) 35, New England (AFC) 21

1996—Dallas (NFC) 27, Pittsburgh (AFC) 17

1995—San Francisco (NFC) 49, San Diego (AFC) 26

1994—Dallas (NFC) 30, Buffalo (AFC) 13

1993—Dallas (NFC) 52, Buffalo (AFC) 17

1992—Washington (NFC) 37, Buffalo (AFC) 24

1991—N.Y. Giants (NFC) 20, Buffalo (AFC) 19

1990—San Francisco (NFC) 55, Denver (AFC) 10

1989—San Francisco (NFC) 20, Cincinnati (AFC) 16

1988—Washington (NFC) 42, Denver (AFC) 10

1987—N.Y. Giants (NFC) 39, Denver (AFC) 20

1986—Chicago (NFC) 46, New England (AFC) 10

1985—San Francisco (NFC) 38, Miami (AFC) 16

1984—L.A. Raiders (AFC) 38, Washington (NFC) 9

1983—Washington (NFC) 27, Miami (AFC) 17

1982—San Francisco (NFC) 26, Cincinnati (AFC) 21

1981—Oakland (AFC) 27, Philadelphia (NFC) 10

1980—Pittsburgh (AFC) 31, L.A. Rams (NFC) 19

1979—Pittsburgh (AFC) 35, Dallas (NFC) 31

1978—Dallas (NFC) 27, Denver (AFC) 10

1977—Oakland (AFC) 32, Minnesota (NFC) 14

1976—Pittsburgh (AFC) 21, Dallas (NFC) 17

1975—Pittsburgh (AFC) 16, Minnesota (NFC) 6

1974—Miami (AFC) 24, Minnesota (NFC) 7

1973—Miami (AFC) 14, Washington (NFC) 7

1972—Dallas (NFC) 24, Miami (AFC) 3

1971—Baltimore Colts (AFC) 16, Dallas (NFC) 13

1970—Kansas City (AFL) 23, Minnesota (NFL) 7

1969—N.Y. Jets (AFL) 16, Baltimore Colts (NFL) 7

1968—Green Bay (NFL) 33, Oakland (AFL) 14

1967—Green Bay (NFL) 35, Kansas City (AFL) 10

Super Bowl MVPs

2012—Eli Manning, QB, N.Y. Giants

2011—Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay

2010—Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans

2009—Santonio Holmes, WR, Pittsburgh

2008—Eli Manning, QB, N.Y. Giants

2007—Peyton Manning, QB, Indianapolis

2006—Hines Ward, WR, Pittsburgh

2005—Deion Branch, WR, New England

2004—Tom Brady, QB, New England

2003—Dexter Jackson, FS, Tampa Bay

2002—Tom Brady, QB, New England

2001—Ray Lewis, LB, Baltimore

2000—Kurt Warner, QB, St. Louis

1999—John Elway, QB, Denver

1998—Terrell Davis, RB, Denver

1997—Desmond Howard, KR, Green Bay

1996—Larry Brown, CB, Dallas

1995—Steve Young, QB, San Francisco

1994—Emmitt Smith, RB, Dallas

1993—Troy Aikman, QB, Dallas

1992—Mark Rypien, QB, Washington

1991—Ottis Anderson, RB, N.Y. Giants

1990—Joe Montana, QB, San Francisco

1989—Jerry Rice, WR, San Francisco

1988—Doug Williams, QB, Washington

1987—Phil Simms, QB, N.Y. Giants

1986—Richard Dent, DE, Chicago

1985—Joe Montana, QB, San Francisco

1984—Marcus Allen, RB, L.A. Raiders

1983—John Riggins, RB, Washington

1982—Joe Montana, QB, San Francisco

1981—Jim Plunkett, QB, Oakland

1980—Terry Bradshaw, QB, Pittsburgh

1979—Terry Bradshaw, QB, Pittsburgh

1978—Randy White, DT and Harvey Martin, DE, Dallas

1977—Fred Biletnikoff, WR, Oakland

1976—Lynn Swann, WR, Pittsburgh

1975—Franco Harris, RB, Pittsburgh

1974—Larry Csonka, RB, Miami

1973—Jake Scott, S, Miami

1972—Roger Staubach, QB, Dallas

1971—Chuck Howley, LB, Dallas

1970—Len Dawson, QB, Kansas City

1969—Joe Namath, QB, N.Y. Jets

1968—Bart Starr, QB, Green Bay

1967—Bart Starr, QB, Green Bay

Previous Super Bowl champions, MVPs 02/02/13 [Last modified: Saturday, February 2, 2013 9:18pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. HomeTeam 100: Players 21-30


    TAMPA - Jesuit linebacker Anthony Nelson will help lead the Tigers into the 2017 season. Taken 5-17-17 by Scott Purks
  2. For starters: Cobb on the hill against Orioles



    Alex Cobb takes the mound, hoping to duplicate his performance from Friday when he was three outs away from pitching a complete game.
  3. Bucs DE Jacquies Smith (ACL) will start on active PUP list


    In the first quarter of a season opening win at Altanta last season, Jacquies Smith suffered a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee while attemping to cover a punt.

    Jacquies Smith will begin training camp on the active Physically Unable to Perform list.
  4. Odorizzi on disabled list with lower back strain


    Odorizzi (6-4, 4.47) has been victimized this season by the long ball, allowing 23 home runs in his 18 starts. He will miss starts in homer-friendly Yankee Stadium and against the homer-happy Astros in Houston next week.

    Jake Odorizzi was placed on the 10-day disabled list this morning.
  5. Bucs rookies Beckwith, McNichols cleared for training camp


    The Bucs took a calculated risk on two injured players that were discounted in the NFL draft and it may pay off.

    LSU linebacker Kendell Beckwiith (51) fell to the third round after he tore his anterior cruciate ligament in a game against Florida Nov. 19.