Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Pro Football Hall of Fame selection process

How the selection process works

The 46-member selection committee for the Pro Football Hall of Fame consists of one media representative from each NFL city, with two from New York, the Pro Football Writers of America president and 13 at-large delegates.

There is a seniors committee that consists of five voters. They identify players who have exhausted their 15-year period of eligibility and were not elected but might still be considered worthy of induction.

The list of about 125 nominees — players and coaches must be out of football for five years to be eligible — is released in September, then cut to 25 semifinalists in November. Today's 15 finalists were revealed in January.

On the Saturday before the Super Bowl, the 46 selectors meet and the NFL city representative serves as the presenter for that team's nominated person. Tampa Bay's Warren Sapp will be presented by Ira Kaufman of the Tampa Tribune.

After a group discussion, there is a vote, with the top 10 moving to the second round. Then there is a second vote on just that list, with the top five moving on to final consideration.

Then there is a third vote, but this time just yes or no on whether the finalist deserves to be inducted. A finalist must receive 80 percent (37 yes votes) approval for entry.

The accounting firm Deloitte & Touche tabulates the votes and presents a sealed envelope with the names of the enshrinees to the Hall of Fame president at a news conference immediately after the selection meeting.

Rick Stroud, Times staff writer

Pro Football Hall of Fame selection process 02/01/13 [Last modified: Friday, February 1, 2013 11:16pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Anthem protest, the latest: Jerry Jones joins Cowboys on field in show of solidarity


    As President Donald Trump continued tweeting Monday about his displeasure with NFL players for staging demonstrations during the national anthem, the Cowboys took a knee on the field just before the anthem was performed on Monday Night Football. Dallas players were joined by owner Jerry Jones, and they quickly …

    Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, center, joins the team in taking a knee before the national anthem Monday night. They stood and linked arms for the anthem.
  2. Bucs journal: Gerald McCoy says players who kneel have team's support


    TAMPA — Receivers Mike Evans and DeSean Jackson were the only Bucs players kneeling during the national anthem before Sunday's game against the Vikings, but DT Gerald McCoy said the team supports their protest "100 percent."

    Bucs tight end Cameron Brate pulls in a touchdown catch as Vikings safety Andrew Sendejo (34) hits him in the back of the head.
  3. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
  4. Luke Del Rio regains UF starting job, for now


    GAINESVILLE — Luke Del Rio is once again the starting quarterback for No. 21 Florida.

    Luke Del Rio provided a needed spark when he replaced starter Feleipe Franks and rallied Florida past Kentucky.
  5. Four questions the Lightning still has to answer

    Lightning Strikes

    FORT LAUDERDALE — The Lightning made its biggest round of cuts Monday, with some of the big-name prospects heading out.

    Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos (91) looks on from the bench during a shift change at Lightning hockey training camp in Brandon on Monday (09/18/17). In background on right is Nikita Kucherov (86). DIRK SHADD   |   Times