Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Raymond James Stadium displays updated Bucs murals

Four corners

The new updated murals on the corners at Raymond James Stadium are now up, with cannons firing around players and the "SIEGE THE DAY!" slogan as well.

DT Gerald McCoy and LB Lavonte David are back from last year's murals, but the rest are new, with QB Jameis Winston and RB Doug Martin replacing WRs Mike Evans and Vincent Jackson.

Who they're wearing

It's not exactly scientific, of course, but it's annual rite of Bucs preseason practice: walking a lap through the crowd and jotting down all the jerseys worn by Bucs fans in the stands.

It probably isn't hard to guess which player has the most jerseys in the Bucs crowd. But pause before you read on, and guess how many Winstons there were in that 100, and which players you think were next on the list.

Winston had 45 of those jerseys, more than double his closest teammate, which reinforces the whole "face of the franchise" aspect of his rise to prominence after only one NFL season. Next most popular? There were 18 of Martin's No. 22, just ahead of 17 fans wearing Evans' No. 13. Then 10 Davids and seven Jacksons, with two fans wearing rookie Vernon Hargreaves and one fan wearing Gerald McCoy's No. 93.

Former Bucs jerseys represented? Nine Mike Alstotts, four John Lynches and an impressive spectrum of former Bucs with a single jersey: Warrick Dunn, Ronde Barber, Derrick Brooks, Keyshawn Johnson, Warren Sapp, Joe Jurevicius, LeGarrette Blount, Josh Freeman and Mike Williams.

Full go

After three days of easing into contact, the Bucs have their first day of full-pad, full-contact practice today. Of the team's 11 practices open to the public, five are in the next week, with more open Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. Admission and parking are free at One Buc Place.

Bucs coaching records

Jon Gruden, 2002–08 57-55-0 .509

Tony Dungy, 1996–2001 54-42-0 .563

John McKay, 1976–84 44-88-1 .333

Sam Wyche, 1992–95 23-41-0 .359

Ray Perkins, 1987–90 19-41-0 .332

Raheem Morris, 2009–11 17-31-0 .354

Greg Schiano, 2012–13 11-21-0 .344

Lovie Smith, 2014-15 8-24-0 .250

R. Williamson, 1990–91 4-15-0 .211

Leeman Bennett, 1985–86 4-28-0 .125

Dirk Koetter is the new coach for 2016

Raymond James Stadium displays updated Bucs murals 07/30/16 [Last modified: Saturday, July 30, 2016 9:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Blake Snell steps up, but Rays lose to Orioles anyway (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Blake Snell stepped up when he had to Monday and delivered an impressive career-high seven-plus innings for the Rays. That it wasn't enough in what ended up a 5-0 loss to the Orioles that was their season-high fifth straight is symptomatic of the mess they are in right now.

    Tim Beckham stands hands on hips after being doubled off first.
  2. Rays vs. Orioles, 7:10 p.m. Tuesday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Orioles

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

  3. Rays journal: Sergio Romo excited for fresh start in AL

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — RHP Sergio Romo was about to play catch with LHP Adam Kolarek before Monday's batting practice when he paused.

    RAMOS EXITS: Rays catcher Wilson Ramos clutches his head after being beaned by Ruben Tejada’s broken bat in the fifth inning. Ramos leaves the game and receives six staples to close a laceration on his head.
  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Monday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    LHP Blake Snell stepped up when the Rays needed him to — and perhaps when he had to to keep his job — working a season-high seven plus innings. And it wasn't only that he got deep into the game, but how he did so, using his fastball to pound the strike zone.

  5. Urban Meyer says the Big Ten is now the equal of the SEC


    CHICAGO — Ohio State coach Urban Meyer doesn't just believe the Big Ten has closed the gap with the more heralded SEC. He is convinced the race is a dead heat already.

    Ohio State’s Urban Meyer says the Big Ten East is as strong as the SEC East was when he coached UF to two national titles.