Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Record day for Hall of Fame voters

NEW YORK — The 46-member Hall of Fame selection committee met for a record 8 hours and 59 minutes on Saturday, according to longtime voter Peter King of The longest debate, 46 minutes, involved former Bucs coach Tony Dungy, he said.

Then came the voting. The first took the finalists from 15 to 10. Those eliminated, according to

Morten Andersen, Tim Brown, Eddie DeBartolo, former Bucs safety John Lynch and Dungy.

The second vote took the finalists from 10 down to five. Those eliminated, according to

Jerome Bettis, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Marvin Harrison and Will Shields.

The vote totals, as well as those for the players who were elected, weren't disclosed.

Record day for Hall of Fame voters 02/02/14 [Last modified: Sunday, February 2, 2014 12:21am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours