Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Ariya Jutanugarn wins LPGA player of year, Charley Hull takes season finale

Ariya Jutanugarn wins LPGA player of the year and the money and points titles.

Getty Images

Ariya Jutanugarn wins LPGA player of the year and the money and points titles.

NAPLES — Ariya Jutanugarn couldn't accept the CME Globe trophy when it was first being presented to her, needing both hands to hold a plastic cube stuffed with $1 million in cash. That's a great way to end a season.

Jutanugarn's breakout year ended with a haul of prizes Sunday at the season-ending LPGA Tour Championship: the player of the year award, the money title and the season points title, which comes with a $1 million bonus.

A winner of five tournaments in a year that started slowly for her and turned around with three consecutive wins in May, Jutanugarn held off Lydia Ko for all three of those trophies.

"I never expected, like, that much," Jutanugarn said. "I just really wanted to win my first tournament this year."

In Gee Chun made a 10-footer for birdie on the final hole to win the scoring title by a stroke, making her the first player since Nancy Lopez in 1978 to win the Vare Trophy for scoring and rookie of the year in the same season. If Chun's final putt had not fallen, Ko would have won the Vare for the first time.

Charley Hull won the event, shooting 6-under 66 in the final round to finish two shots ahead of So Yeon Ryu (67) at 19-under 269. Jennifer Song (68) was third at 15 under and Jutanugarn (69) fourth at 14 under. Seminole's Brittany Lincicome, tied for second after the third round, shot 73 to finish tied for 10th at 11 under.

PGA: Third-round leader Mackenzie Hughes, Blayne Barber, former Gator Camilo Villegas and Henrik Norlander couldn't finish their playoff in the RSM Classic before darkness caused play to be suspended at Sea Island, Ga. The four and former Gator Billy Horschel were tied at 17-under 268 after the last round. Horschel was eliminated after missing a birdie putt at No. 18 on the first playoff hole. Play was to resume this morning. It was the largest tour playoff since Alex Cejka won a five-man playoff in Puerto Rico in 2015.

PGA EUROPE: Henrik Stenson won the season title for the second time in four years, and Matthew Fitzpatrick won the season-ending Tour Championship in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Stenson, who also won the title in 2013, shot 7-under 65 to finish at 12-under 276 in a four-way tie for ninth that included Rory McIlroy (65). He earned a bonus of $1.25 million as the tour's top player. Fitzpatrick (67) totaled 17-under 271, one stroke better than Tyrrell Hatton (68). Third-round leader Victor Dubuisson (72) tied for fourth at 275.

Ariya Jutanugarn wins LPGA player of year, Charley Hull takes season finale 11/20/16 [Last modified: Sunday, November 20, 2016 10:12pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Ole Miss football coach Hugh Freeze resigns over 'inappropriate conduct' (w/ video)


    OXFORD, Miss. — Mississippi coach Hugh Freeze was at Jackson Country Club on Wednesday night, giving his yearly rah-rah speech about the Rebels overcoming adversity and getting ready for the college football season.

    If Hugh Freeze hadn’t resigned, Ole Miss says it would have fired him for violating his contract’s moral turpitude clause.
  2. Fennelly: With playoff chase in high gear, it's time for Rays to make a move

    The Heater


    Thursday was an off-day for the Rays, who are coming off a solid western swing. I assume there was no rest for the tag-team Rays baseball brain trust of Matt Silverman, Erik Neander and Chaim Bloom, whose job it is to improve this team in advance of the trade deadline. They've done a good job …

    Evan Longoria is glad to see the Rangers coming to town: He’s batting .296 against them with 15 homers and 56 RBIs in 69 career games.
  3. Rays vs. Rangers, 7:10 p.m. Friday, Tropicana Field

    The Heater

    Tonight: vs. Rangers

    7:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
  4. Good news for Rays on Steven Souza Jr. as MRI shows 'no damage' to hip


    The Rays got good news today on RF Steven Souza Jr., as an MRI showed "no damage" to his left hip.

    Steven Souza Jr. #20 of the Tampa Bay Rays holds his leg after hurting himself trying to steal second base in the first inning against the Oakland Athletics at Oakland Alameda Coliseum on July 19, 2017 in Oakland, California.
  5. Bucs raise prices for single tickets to marquee games


    The Bucs will have single-game tickets for 2017 home games on sale July 28, with a new wrinkle: the best games will cost more for fans.

    Bucs fans cheer Jameis Winston after a victory in their final home game of the 2016 season. Individual tickets for the Bucs' three most coveted home games (against the Patriots, Bears and Giants) will cost more in 2017.