Monday, December 11, 2017
Golf

Lang wins U.S. Women's Open when Nordqvist is called for grounding club (w/ video)

SAN MARTIN, Calif. — Eleven years after finishing as runnerup as an amateur in her first U.S. Women's Open, Brittany Lang won her first major title — with help from a playoff penalty on Anna Nordqvist.

Lang made par on all three holes of the aggregate playoff and Nordqvist was given a two-stroke penalty for touching the sand with her club in a fairway bunker on the second playoff hole Sunday, helping deliver Lang the title.

The players were not told of the penalty until they were in the middle of playing the final hole after officials reviewed a Fox video in the latest controversy at a USGA event. Lang sealed the win with a short par putt on the final playoff hole, while Nordqvist made bogey to lose by three.

"It was definitely a shame for Anna for it to come down to something like that," Lang said. "You never want it to be because of a penalty but to be because of better play.

"I am ecstatic. I feel for her but definitely it (the penalty) took a little bit of pressure off me. I can't believe it. It means absolutely everything. This is what you dream of. It's amazing."

The weird ending — which included USGA president Diana Murphy calling Lang "Bethany" during the trophy presentation — marred a day in which Nordqvist played brilliantly, closing with 67 to come from six strokes back. Lang's closing 71 left them tied at 6-under 282, two strokes ahead of third-round leader Lydia Ko (75), Amy Yang (73), Sung Hyun Park (74) and Eun Hee Ji (74).

At last month's men's U.S. Open, eventual winner Dustin Johnson played much of the final round not knowing if he would be penalized one stroke because his ball moved as he addressed it on the fifth green. The penalty ended up proving moot as Johnson won by three shots.

Lang and Nordqvist both made pars on the first hole of the playoff, which was played on the final three holes of the course. Things got interesting on the next hole after Nordqvist hit her tee shot into a fairway bunker.

While preparing to hit the shot, Nordqvist's club barely touched the sand. She did not realize it and both players made par.

According to John Bodenhamer, the USGA's senior managing director for rules, competitions and equipment, the USGA did not see a violation during its initial review of the footage and thus saw no need to stop play. But after Fox, which broadcast the tournament, notified USGA officials, they saw the more clear replay that showed the penalty.

An official told Nordqvist about the penalty after she hit her third shot on the 18th hole but before Lang hit hers.

"I couldn't really believe that it happened," Nordqvist said. "It wasn't my intention to ground the club. It's blowing 35, 40 out there, and I had a 5-iron off a downhill lie in the bunker. It's been a long day, a long week. So probably misjudged it a little bit and touched a little bit of sand and that is a penalty. …

"I just wish they would have told me a little earlier. They told me after I hit my third shot. It might not have changed anything, but I just wish it was a little bit earlier."

Ultimately, she took the high road.

"I don't think anyone should feel sorry for me," she said. "I'm still going to wake up (today)."

CHAMPIONS: Paul Goydos shot bogey-free 69 to win the Dick's Sporting Goods Open in Endicott, N.Y. A birdie at the 17th hole gave Goydos a two-shot victory over Wes Short (69) as he finished at 14-under 202 for his third victory on tour. Second-round leader John Riegger (72) finished tied for fourth at 10 under with Joe Durant (68).

OLYMPICS: Rickie Fowler took to Twitter to say he's going to the Rio Games, and Patrick Reed confirmed at the Scottish Open that he will join his fellow American.

Comments
O’Hair-Stricker team wins QBE Shootout in Naples

O’Hair-Stricker team wins QBE Shootout in Naples

NAPLES — Steve Stricker provided the pep talk and Sean O’Hair delivered the shot to secure victory Sunday in the QBE Shootout. Stricker and O’Hair closed with 8-under 64 for a two-shot victory over Graeme McDowell and Shane Lowry, effectively clinchi...
Updated: 6 hours ago
Rory McIlroy to make Valspar Championship debut at Innisbrook next year

Rory McIlroy to make Valspar Championship debut at Innisbrook next year

The Valspar Championship will get a notable boost in star power next year.Four-time major winner and former world No. 1 Rory McIlroy will play the PGA Tour event at Innisbrook in Palm Harbor for the first time, the tournament announced Friday after i...
Published: 12/08/17
Rickie Fowler rallies to win, Tiger Woods finishes strong at Hero World Challenge

Rickie Fowler rallies to win, Tiger Woods finishes strong at Hero World Challenge

NASSAU, Bahamas — Rickie Fowler was the first player to offer a scouting report on Tiger Woods ahead of his return to golf, hinting that Woods was hitting it "way by" him in some of their matches in Florida. Fowler’s own game apparently was in pretty...
Published: 12/03/17
Tiger falls behind as Charley Hoffman leads Hero World Challenge

Tiger falls behind as Charley Hoffman leads Hero World Challenge

NASSAU, Bahamas — Tiger Woods fell behind early and never recovered. Charley Hoffman pulled away late and made himself hard to beat. Hoffman handled the blustery conditions in the Hero World Challenge on Saturday for 2-under 70, one of only five roun...
Published: 12/02/17

Tiger brings the buzz back by taking lead but falters on back nine

NASSAU, Bahamas — One of the biggest cheers at the Hero World Challenge came from seeing the name Tiger Woods moved to the top of the leaderboard. It just wasn’t there for long. In another impressive showing in his latest comeback from back surgeries...
Published: 12/01/17
Tiger Woods returns from layoff with solid round in Bahamas

Tiger Woods returns from layoff with solid round in Bahamas

NASSAU, Bahamas — Tiger Woods looked a lot better in his return to golf than he did when he left. Playing for the first time since his fourth back surgery, Woods returned from a 10-month layoff with 3-under 69 on a breezy Thursday that left him three...
Published: 11/30/17
Ariya Jutanugarn rallies past Lexi Thompson to win LPGA’s Tour Championship

Ariya Jutanugarn rallies past Lexi Thompson to win LPGA’s Tour Championship

NAPLES — Lexi Thompson never had a putt so short that was potentially worth so much. She had a one-shot lead when she settled over a 2-foot par putt on the final hole Sunday at the Tour Championship. A victory would be worth $500,000 in prize money ...
Updated one month ago

Rookie Sung Hyun Park continues to roll at LPGA’s Tour Championship

NAPLES — Golf felt so easy to Sung Hyun Park that only when she took out her card to catch up on her scores did she realize she had closed out the front nine with five straight birdies Friday at the Tour Championship. Park kept right on attacking. Th...
Updated one month ago
Kevin Sutherland wins Charles Schwab Cup Championship, takes Champions season title

Kevin Sutherland wins Charles Schwab Cup Championship, takes Champions season title

PHOENIX — Kevin Sutherland finally broke through on the Champions Tour, taking the season-ending Charles Schwab Cup Championship — and topping the yearlong competition, too. Sutherland closed with 5-under 66 Sunday for a one-stroke victory over Vijay...
Updated one month ago