Make us your home page
Instagram

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Woods penalty spotlights golf rules

Golf's complicated, arcane rules can make the game hard to understand in the mildest of circumstances. In trying to sort out what was in play in Tiger Woods' drop controversy at the Masters, tackling quantum physics might be easier.

The rules range from the options Woods had after his wedge into the par-5 15th hole in Friday's second round struck the flag stick and bounced into the water to the rationale for not disqualifying him for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Pulled together by the Associated Press, they total almost 35 inches in length.

A simple summary is that the Masters competition committee penalized Woods two strokes for violating Rule 26-1(a) because in choosing to drop his ball near the original shot to continue his round, he did not drop "as near as possible" to the original spot.

Woods was not disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard because of Rule 33-7, which protects a player who did not know he violated a rule before signing and later was reported to have done so by people watching on television. The rule gives the discretion of whether to disqualify a player to tournament officials.

A TV viewer Friday questioned the way Woods took his penalty drop, about 2 yards behind where he had hit his previous shot. Fred Ridley, head of the competition committee, said officials reviewed the video of the drop and found nothing wrong, so they didn't bother talking to him before he signed for 71.

It was only after Woods explained in interviews why he took that drop — to land short of the pin — that prompted another call to the club and led to another review that led to a two-shot penalty awarded Saturday before the start of the third round.

The penalty took Woods' score for the round from 1-under 71 to 2-over 73 and dropped him from three shots off the lead to five. Though Woods was guilty of breaking the rule, even unknowingly, Augusta National took the blame for not alerting him of a potential violation pointed out by a TV viewer. Therefore the club said it wouldn't disqualify him from the Masters.

Woods penalty spotlights golf rules 04/13/13 [Last modified: Saturday, April 13, 2013 10:24pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...
  1. Alex Faedo, Florida advance to face LSU in College World Series finals

    College

    OMAHA, Neb. — Alex Faedo pitched three-hit ball for 71/3 innings in a second straight strong performance against TCU, and Florida moved to the College World Series finals with a 3-0 win Saturday night.

    Florida’s Austin Langworthy scores on a single by Mike Rivera in the second inning during a 3-0 victory over TCU.
  2. Jones: Bucs need success to get national respect

    Bucs

    Tampa Bay Times columnist Tom Jones offers up his Two Cents on the world of sports.

    No respect

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Dirk Koetter walks the field during the second day of mandatory minicamp at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Wednesday, June 14, 2017. LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times
  3. Rays journal: Jumbo Diaz falters after getting within a strike of ending rally

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Saturday's game got away starting with a leadoff walk in the seventh inning by Rays LHP Jose Alvarado, who was brought in exclusively to face Baltimore's lefty-swinging Seth Smith.

    Rays reliever Jumbo Diaz wipes his face as he walks off the mound after the Orioles score four during the seventh inning to give them a 7-3 lead. Diaz was one strike away from working out of the jam before he allowed a two-run double and a two-run homer on back-to-back pitches.
  4. Rookie Jake Faria dissatisfied with performance in Rays' loss to Orioles

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The rookie pitcher walked to his locker Saturday after tossing the fourth quality start in as many tries to begin his career. He held the potent Orioles bats to three runs and for six innings gave his team a chance to win.

    Orioles third baseman Manny Machado tags out the Rays’ Mallex Smith at third after a rundown in the first inning.
  5. Roger Mooney's takeaways from Saturday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    It was refreshing to see RHP Jacob Faria take the blame after the loss even though he gave the Rays a chance to win. Too often young pitchers are encouraged by what they did and not necessarily the outcome, but Faria, making just his fourth big-league start, came to the Trop to win, didn't, and pointed the finger …