PITTSFORD, N.Y. — Webb Simpson shot 72 Thursday that felt like 64. Then he went out and shot an actual 64.
Simpson, who was at 5 over after his first eight holes of the PGA Championship, surged into contention Friday by tying the course record at Oak Hill, only to have the record broken a few hours later. With 6-under 64 in the morning, he was at 4-under 136 overall, five strokes behind Jason Dufner, who matched the mark for a major with 63 in the afternoon.
Simpson didn't know the course record, but he was almost positive 63 was the standard for a major. And when he made four birdies in five holes to reach 7 under with three to play, he couldn't help but fantasize about history.
"I made the turn — I'm still trying to make the cut. It's amazing how a day like (Friday), you go from outside the cut line, to just in, to going for the all-time major record," Simpson said. "It's a big swing of emotions. But the mind is powerful, so I was just trying to not think about it and just stay kind of in my rhythm."
The ballad of Tiger and Phil: It was supposed to be a week for the ages at the PGA Championship with Tiger Woods on a roll again and Phil Mickelson coming off his British Open win into the year's final major. Instead, the stars have been also-rans.
Woods struggled with his putting all day, posting four birdies and four bogeys in a round of 70 that left him at 1-over 141 and 10 shots off the lead.
"I made my share and missed my share, just the way it goes," he said. "Obviously, I need to hit the ball better than I have."
Mickelson was all over Oak Hill and still managed 34 on the back nine until his wild shots caught up with him. Another 71 left him 11 shots out of the lead.
"It's just a little bit off," Mickelson said. "I feel like I can turn it around in a second."
Austin's bad day: Tampa native Woody Austin was assessed a four-stroke penalty for carrying an extra club in his bag and ended up missing the cut by one.
Golfers are allowed to carry 14 clubs in their bag. Austin discovered the extra club while playing the third hole. He removed it from the bag and reported the infraction to an official.
The rules call for a two-stroke penalty for each hole played with an extra club, up to a maximum of four strokes. Austin added two strokes to his score for the first and second holes. His 71 became 75 and put him at 4-over 144.
"Can't say I was angry because it was more of a shock, so you're like pretty bummed," said Austin, 49, who went to Chamberlain High and the University of Miami.
"I think after 20 years, you do one stupid thing of each, and that's the first time I've ever done something like that. Now all I've got to do is figure out how to get (disqualified)."
The trouble began when Austin couldn't decide whether he should keep his 3-iron or go with a hybrid. He was using both on the range and decided to stick with the 3-iron because he was hitting it better.
In Friday's light rain, caddies had covers over the clubs to keep them dry. So neither Austin nor caddie Dave Lawson realized both clubs were still in the bag as the round began.
"It's my fault as much as (Lawson's) fault," Austin said. "If it wasn't raining, we would have caught it."