Mostly Cloudy50° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy50° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page

Get the latest breaking news and in-depth reports about the Bucs, Lightning and Rays - all in one email.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Anaheim Ducks' Corey Perry voted NHL MVP; Tampa Bay Lightning's Marty St. Louis third

LAS VEGAS — Ducks forward Corey Perry, who scored a league-best 50 goals, won the Hart Trophy as the NHL's MVP on Wednesday at the annual awards show. He was a surprise winner over scoring champion Daniel Sedin of the Canucks. The Lightning's Marty St. Louis finished third in the voting.

Sedin was voted the most outstanding player by the players. He bested Perry and the Lightning's Steven Stamkos.

The Red Wings' Nicklas Lidstrom won his seventh Norris Trophy as best defenseman. He ties Doug Harvey as a seven-time winner, one behind record-holder Bobby Orr. The Bruins' Tim Thomas added his second Vezina Trophy as top goalie.

Times wires

NHL award winners

Winners of the major awards presented at Wednesday's ceremony in Las Vegas:

• Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship): Marty St. Louis, Lightning

• Hart Trophy (MVP as voted by media): Corey Perry, Ducks

• Ted Lindsay Award ("most outstanding player" as voted by players): Daniel Sedin, Canucks

• Jack Adams Award (coach of the year): Dan Bylsma, Penguins

• GM of the year: Mike Gillis, Canucks

• Calder Trophy (rookie of the year): Jeff Skinner, Hurricanes

• Vezina Trophy (best goalie): Tim Thomas, Bruins

• Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings

• Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Ryan Kesler, Canucks

Anaheim Ducks' Corey Perry voted NHL MVP; Tampa Bay Lightning's Marty St. Louis third 06/22/11 [Last modified: Wednesday, June 22, 2011 10:51pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2016 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours