Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

How Stanley Cup champs have fared

The seasons after celebrating

How the past 10 Stanley Cup champions have fared in their next three seasons with their rank in points in the conference and playoff round in which they were eliminated:

Season Champ First Second Third

'06-07 Ducks Third (first)——

'05-06 'Canes Missed playoffs Missed playoffs—

'03-04 Lightning Eighth (first) Seventh (first) Missed playoffs

'02-03 Devils Sixth (first) Fourth (second) Second (second)

'01-02 Wings Second (first) First (second) First (first)

'00-01 Avs Second (third) Third (first) Fourth (second)

'99-00 Devils First (Cup final) Fifth (first) Second (Won Cup)

'98-99 Stars Third (Cup final) Third (Second) Missed playoffs

'97-98 Wings Third (second) Second (second) Second (second)

'96-97 Wings Second (Won Cup) Third (second) Second (second)

How Stanley Cup champs have fared 04/26/08 [Last modified: Saturday, April 26, 2008 6:11pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours