Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Sidney Crosby wins NHL MVP; Lightning shut out of trophies

Lightning goaltender Ben Bishop arrives on the red carpet before the NHL awards show at Las Vegas. Bishop was nominated for the Vezina Trophy but lost to Boston’s Tuukka Rask.

Getty Images

Lightning goaltender Ben Bishop arrives on the red carpet before the NHL awards show at Las Vegas. Bishop was nominated for the Vezina Trophy but lost to Boston’s Tuukka Rask.

LAS VEGAS — Seven years after Sidney Crosby won his first Hart Trophy, the Pittsburgh captain has been recognized as the NHL's best once again.

Crosby was named most valuable player for the second time Tuesday at the league's awards ceremony on a night when four members of the Lightning were nominated but none won.

After his first full season without major injuries since 2010, the Penguins' 26-year-old center capped a fruitful year that included a second gold medal as Canada's captain at the Sochi Olympics. Crosby also collected the Art Ross Trophy as the league scoring champion and the Ted Lindsay Award as the players' choice for outstanding player.

Crosby thanked his teammates and family, saying: "I appreciate all the sacrifices you've made to allow me to play the game I love every day."

Crosby won his second NHL scoring title with 104 points, including 68 assists in his fifth career 100-point season.

Boston goalie Tuukka Rask won the Vezina Trophy, with Tampa Bay's Ben Bishop third. Boston's Patrice Bergeron won his second Selke Trophy (best defensive forward), and Chicago's Duncan Keith won his second Norris Trophy (top defenseman).

The all-league first team was Crosby, Keith, Rask, Ducks forward Corey Perry, Stars forward Jamie Benn and Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara.

Colorado coach Patrick Roy won the Adams Award, while Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon became the youngest player to win the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie.

Both beat Lightning candidates. MacKinnon was up against two, Ondrej Palat and Tyler Johnson.

Roy, in his first season behind the bench, was up against the Lightning's Jon Cooper, who finished third, and Detroit's Mike Babcock. Cooper, in his first full season coaching Tampa Bay, received five first-place votes.

MacKinnon garnered 130 of 137 first-place votes. Palat finished second and got five first-place votes, while Johnson was third. Both Johnson and Palat were named to the league's all-rookie team.

Dominic Moore of the New York Rangers, a former Lightning player, won the Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication.

Lightning, Callahan close: The Lightning and veteran wing Ryan Callahan are on the verge of a long-term deal, which could be set today. Callahan, 29, is scheduled to be an unrestricted free agent July 1. Terms weren't available, but the deal is believed to be in excess of five years and up to $5.5 million annually. Callahan was acquired from the Rangers in March in the Marty St. Louis trade.

Kings: Goalie Jonathan Quick will be off the ice for up to three months after wrist surgery.

Times staff writer Joe Smith contributed to this report.

.Fast facts

The winners

Winners of major NHL awards Tuesday:

Hart (MVP voted by media): Sidney Crosby, Penguins

Ted Lindsay (MVP voted by players): Sidney Crosby, Penguins

Jack Adams (coach of the year): Patrick Roy, Avalanche

Vezina Trophy (top goalie): Tuukka Rask, Bruins

Calder Trophy (rookie of the year): Nathan MacKinnon, Avalanche

Norris Trophy (top defenseman): Duncan Keith, Blackhawks

GM of the year: Bob Murray, Ducks

Sidney Crosby wins NHL MVP; Lightning shut out of trophies 06/24/14 [Last modified: Wednesday, June 25, 2014 12:02am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rowdies settle for draw at home


    ST. PETERSBURG — The good news for the Rowdies is that they still haven't lost a game at Al Lang Stadium since late April. The bad news is they had to settle for a 1-1 tie against Ottawa on Saturday night in front of 6,710 sweaty fans.

  2. Bats come to life, but Rays' freefall continues (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG —The six runs seemed like a ton, just the second time the Rays had scored that many in a game during their numbing two-plus-weeks stretch of offensive impotency, and amazingly, the first time at the Trop in nearly two months.

    Lucas Duda connects for a two-run home run in the sixth, getting the Rays within 7-5. A Logan Morrison home run in the ninth made it 7-6, but Tampa Bay couldn’t complete the comeback.
  3. Rays journal: Cesar Puello, who has one major-league game, claimed off waivers

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Looking to add punch to their right-handed lineup, the Rays claimed OF Cesar Puello off waivers Saturday from the Angels.

  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Saturday's Rays-Mariners game

    The Heater

    SS Adeiny Hechavarria doesn't always look like he's going hard, but he showed impressive reactions Saturday in reversing field to catch a ball that clanked off the catwalk then firing to second to double up Guillermo Heredia on an attempt to tag up.