Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Keselowski denies Junior

Brad Keselowski earns his second Sprint Cup victory and his first for Penske Racing, which he joined last season.

Getty Images

Brad Keselowski earns his second Sprint Cup victory and his first for Penske Racing, which he joined last season.

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Dale Earnhardt Jr. was charging again, hoping this time he'd come out on top in a frantic late fuel-mileage battle.

But leader Brad Keselowski stretched his tank perfectly Sunday to win the Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway — and extend Earnhardt's winless streak to 106 races.

Keselowski led the final nine laps of the STP 400 for his second Sprint Cup victory in 66 races, and his first since a stunner for owner James Finch in 2009 at Talladega.

"There are some secrets to it, and I just maximized them all. I had plenty (of fuel) left," Keselowski said.

Earnhardt appeared set to make a late charge on Keselowski. That push never came — though Earnhardt moved up to third in the standings, just one point behind Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson, who finished seventh.

For the second week in a row in a fuel-mileage race, Earnhardt came up just short. He ran out of gas near the finish in Charlotte and wound up seventh.

"Anytime you win a fuel-mileage race you've done something as a driver," Earnhardt said. "We don't know what we're doing really trying to save gas or how much we're saving. But (Keselowski) had a hand in it."

Denny Hamlin was third, followed by Jeff Gordon and Carl Edwards, who holds a 40-point lead over Johnson.

David Reutimann of Zephyrhills was 22nd, one lap down.

Pole-sitter Busch led 152 laps and finished ninth. He had to stop for gas as the leader with 10 laps left.

"I was all smiles. I felt the groove again, to lead the race. It was great. It was solid," Busch said. "There was always something in the back of my mind that we weren't going to win, but I am proud Brad Keselowski did."

Keselowski earned the pole last week at Charlotte and has been on a monthlong upswing for Penske.

He seemed to come to life just as teammate Busch reached a boiling point, with his displeasure culminating in an expletive-laden rant on team management.

That led to behind-the-scenes personnel changes at Penske, including the announcement that technical director Tom German was leaving to attend a graduate program at MIT.

But Keselowski also took exception to a comment Busch made that it had been several years since he'd had a teammate capable of running the same pace as him.

Since then, Keselowski logged a third-place finish, raced into the All-Star Race main event and, on Sunday, earned a win that could help him nab a wild-card spot in the Chase to the Championship. The top 10 in points plus the two drivers in spots 11-20 with the most wins make the Chase; Keselow­ski moved up to 21st in points.

Because several drivers in front of him stopped late for fuel, and he wasn't updated on his team radio, Keselowski didn't know he was leading until he spotted a scoring pylon with two laps to go.

"I was instantly mad at my guys for not telling me, but you get over that pretty quick when you cross the finish line first," he said.

ONE OF THOSE NAMIN' DEALS: Sprint chief executive officer Dan Hesse said his company is in talks with NASCAR to extend its title sponsorship of the Sprint Cup series. "Our intention is to continue the sponsorship with NASCAR," Hesse told the Kansas City Star before Sunday's race. Sprint is in the eighth year of a 10-year, $750 million sponsorship that goes through the 2013 season.

.Sprint cup

Gearhead stats

Winner's average speed: 137.184 mph

Time of race: 2 hours, 55 minutes, 10 seconds

Margin of victory: 2.813 seconds

Caution flags: 5 for 22 laps

Lead changes: 17 among 9 drivers

Lap leaders: Montoya 1; Ky.Busch 2-8; Montoya 9-17; Ku.Busch 18-45; Cassill 46; Mears 47; Ku.Busch 48-83; Edwards 84-112; Ky.Busch 113-116; Hamlin 117-140; Stewart 141-153; Hamlin 154-159; Ku.Busch 160-204; Stewart 205-211; Hamlin 212-215; Ku.Busch 216-258; Keselow­ski 259-267

Points standings

Through 13 of 36 races. The top 10 drivers plus two wild cards (based on wins) through 26 races make the Chase for the Championship.

Driver Pts. Bk.

1. Carl Edwards 485—

2. Jimmie Johnson 445 40

3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 444 41

4. Kevin Harvick 442 43

5. Kyle Busch 425 60

6. Kurt Busch 414 71

7. Matt Kenseth 412 73

8. Tony Stewart 393 92

9. Clint Bowyer 391 94

10. Ryan Newman 382 103

Up next

Pocono 500, 1 p.m. Sunday, Pocono (Pa.) Raceway


Keselowski denies Junior 06/05/11 [Last modified: Sunday, June 5, 2011 10:36pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Ever since the Bucs made Gerald McCoy the third overall pick in the 2010 NFL draft, he has struggled to overcome the shadow cast by Pro Bowl defensive tackle Warren Sapp.
  2. HomeTeam 100: Players 41-50


    Bulldog QB Charles Harrison III, (12) during the fourth quarter of the Zephyrhills at Nature Coast High School football game on Friday, 11/11/16.
  3. Lake Tarpon bass tournament still going strong after nearly 40 years (w/video)


    Matt Smith, left, and Gary Muchler, work to bring a large mouth bass into Smith's bass boat with only minutes to spare while fishing off Dolly Bay in Lake Tarpon during the Lake Tarpon Tuesday Night Bass Fishing Tournament on Tuesday (7/18/17). The fish sealed second place for the duo.
  4. Rays series preview: Who are the Orioles?


    After the Rangers swept them over the weekend, the Rays won't have much time to rest, with 14 games scheduled for the next 14 days. The second half of their homestand begins tonight against the Orioles. Here's the information you need to know about Baltimore before the action kicks off.

    Starter Wade Miley has melted down after a hot start.
  5. Sergio Romo celebrates striking out Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers to win Game Four of the Major League Baseball World Series at Comerica Park in 2012.