Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

All-Pinellas County boys basketball team

Clearwater’s dominant forward Okaro White is a repeat winner of the county player of the year award. The FSU commitment averaged 17.0 points and 9.4 rebounds a game.


Clearwater’s dominant forward Okaro White is a repeat winner of the county player of the year award. The FSU commitment averaged 17.0 points and 9.4 rebounds a game.

Boys player of the year

F Okaro White, Sr., Clearwater

At 6-foot-9, White was one of the tallest players in the county. He also was the most intimidating. Using his size to his advantage, White seized control in the paint, averaging 17.0 points and 9.4 rebounds per game. He also had 2.1 blocks and 2.1 steals per game. Those numbers were enough to help the Tornadoes win conference and district titles, and advance to the region finals, where they lost to eventual state finalist Sickles.

Biggest accomplishment: Clearwater started the season 2-3 while White missed the first five games because of an ankle injury. Once he returned, the Tornadoes were dominant, losing just three more games the rest of the season.

Future plans: White plans to play in two all-star games in April, then spend the spring playing club basketball. After that, he will head to Tallahassee to get ready for his freshman season at Florida State.

Did you know? This is the second straight season White has been named county player of the year. Last season, he led the Tornadoes to the Class 5A state final.

First team

F Breon Bostic, Sr., Largo: An inside presence who averaged 20 points and 12 rebounds per game.

F Ke'Owen Walker, Sr., Gibbs: Team leader turned it on in second half of the season to help Gladiators win district title.

G LaDarius Barnes, Sr., Lakewood: Came through in big games, including 39 points against Blake in region semifinals.

G Cory Carden, Sr., Clearwater: Steady guard averaged 6.2 points and 5.3 assists per game.

G Gabe Moton, Sr., St. Petersburg: Speedy guard led Green Devils to district title and region finals.

Second team

F John Hogan, Jr., Clearwater

F Dominic Lane, Sr., Lakewood

G Kenny Smith, Jr. Boca Ciega

G Dino Tabakovic, Sr., Countryside

G Allen Wilson, Sr., St. Petersburg

Honorable mention

Admiral Farragut: Josh Burch, Chris Myrick, Chance Russell; Boca Ciega: D.J. White, Norman Williams; Calvary Christian: Jimmy Appelt, Christian Colangelo; Canterbury: Bryce Wilson; Clearwater: Joey Nungester; CC Catholic: Tyler Brew, Nick Ramos; Countryside: Kyle Kinnear, Jared Low; East Lake: Sean Dean, Blake Grimm, Max Klein; Gibbs: Charlie Brooks, Quincy Ford; Indian Rocks Chr.: Blake Farver, Tommy McGarry, Brent Montzka; Keswick Chr.: Scott Oliver, Tanner Wozniak; Lakeside: Josh Bien, Chase Burdick; Lakewood: Mike Singleton; Largo: Pat Kearney, Kevin McKellar; Northeast: Andres Sanchez; Northside Chr.: Kyle Keck; Osceola: Austin Floyd; Palm Harbor U: Mike McNeely; Pinellas Park: Corey Edwards, Srdjan Jankovic; St. Petersburg: Darion Bentley, Javarius Murray, Jerry Poindexter-Brown; SP Catholic: Dominique Foreman, Rei Ozolins; Seminole: Flynn Bluett, David Hegg, Chris Whiting; Shorecrest: Luke Blume, Alex Griffith, Mike Milov, Ricky Quiroz; Tarpon Springs: C.J. Bargman, C.J. Mackey

Coach of the year

Chris Blackwell, St. Petersburg: At the end of the season, Blackwell got the most out of his veteran team, helping it win the district title as a No. 4 seed, then going on to advance to the region finals. It was the Green Devils' best season since 1972.

All-Pinellas County boys basketball team 03/20/10 [Last modified: Saturday, March 20, 2010 11:13pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays late-night bullpen shuffle: Alvarado, Pruitt down; Kolarek up


    The Rays shuffled their bullpen again after Tuesday's game, sending down struggling LHP Jose Alvarado along with RHP Austin Pruitt to Triple-A Durham, and turning next to LHP Adam Kolarek, who will make his major-league debut at age 28,

  2. Rays journal: Alex Cobb brilliant, Alex Colome worrying in 10-inning victory (w/video)

    The Heater

    PITTSBURGH — RHP Alex Cobb couldn't have been much better for the Rays on Tuesday, taking a no-hitter into the seventh inning while working eight solid. And Alex Colome couldn't have been much worse, blowing a two-run ninth-inning lead.

    Rays starter Alex Cobb carries a no-hitter into the seventh and pitches eight shutout innings in his best outing of the season.
  3. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Tuesday's Rays-Pirates game

    The Heater

    RHP Alex Cobb continues to look better and better, which could make the decision whether to trade him tougher. Cobb had a no-hitter through six and threw his biggest pitch with a 1-0 lead in the seventh, getting Josh Bell to roll into a double play.

  4. For good of the Rays, Tim Beckham should embrace move to second

    The Heater

    PITTSBURGH — The acquisition of slick-fielding shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria said a lot of things, most notably that the Rays are serious about making in-season moves to bolster their chances to make the playoffs, with a reliever, or two, next on the shopping list.

    PITTSBURGH, PA - JUNE 27:  Tim Beckham #1 of the Tampa Bay Rays celebrates with teammates after scoring during the eighth inning against the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park on June 27, 2017 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Joe Sargent/Getty Images) 700011399
  5. Rays at Pirates, 7:05 p.m. Wednesday, Pittsburgh

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Pirates

    7:05, PNC Park, Pittsburgh

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Blake Snell #4 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)