Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Lee Stephens wins long-awaited first Times Turkey Trot 10K


Lee Stephens drew away from the field, pumping his arms rhythmically, looking fresh and steady as he charged through the homestretch of Thursday's Times Turkey Trot 10K.

Moments before crossing the finish line, the St. Petersburg resident raised his arms in triumph. Years of frustration were finally over.

Stephens, a Turkey Trot veteran, won the 6.2-mile race for the first time, finishing in 32 minutes, 27 seconds.

"This is one of my lifelong goals," Stephens said.

The day aligned nicely for Stephens. Tony Nicolosi, the former Seminole High standout and defending champion, decided not to run. And Stephens' toughest competitor, former Northeast High star Jon Mott, ran in the 5K about two hours earlier.

Stephens and Mott dictated the pace and stayed within striking distance of one another through the first 3 miles. Then Stephens sped up to get water and noticed Mott's resolve start to sag.

Stephens surged into first and didn't relinquish his lead, finishing 1:23 ahead of Mott, who later was disqualified for finishing in the wrong lane.

"I was really motivated, and it was kind of a relief to win," Stephens said.

He hoped to see his wife, Christa Stephens (formerly Benton), win her fifth straight women's 10K.

That didn't happen.

Sara Petrick of Apollo Beach, who finished second last year, won in 36:49, 1:18 ahead of the second-place Stephens.

"My goal all along was to stay with Christa through the race and maybe beat her at the end," said Petrick, who was a distance runner for Tampa's Academy of the Holy Names and University of Florida.

Petrick did not have Stephens' company for long. By the first mile, Petrick surged ahead of the field as her race become mostly a solitary endeavor.

"Christa was having some labored breathing through the first mile or so," Petrick said. "Some days you have it. Some days you don't. I was able to stay ahead from the start and take control."

Briana Whaley and Ryan Ripley won the 5K (3.1 miles) in 17:19 and 15:07, respectively. Allison Shirley and Shane Stroup won the 1-mile in 5:54 and 4:16, respectively.

Lee Stephens wins long-awaited first Times Turkey Trot 10K 11/25/10 [Last modified: Thursday, November 25, 2010 8:46pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Thursday's Rays-Yankees game

    The Heater

    The 10 strikeouts look flashy, but RHP Chris Archer was not his sharpest Thursday. He allowed three runs on seven hits, including three straight in the two-run second and a Gary Sanchez homer in the third, and lasted only six innings, throwing 102 pitches.

  2. Rays fall to Yankees in 11 on Brett Gardner homer (w/ video)

    The Heater

    NEW YORK — The front office did its part Thursday, making two trades to bolster the Rays' roster in a bid to make the playoffs. But the team on the field didn't follow through in a frustrating 6-5 11-inning loss to the Yankees.

    Evan Longoria hits a solo home run in the fourth inning against the Yankees as the Rays come back from a 3-0 deficit to take a 5-3 lead. They lose 6-5 in 11.
  3. Believe it! Rays are buyers, trade for reliever Dan Jennings and 1B/DH Lucas Duda

    The Heater

    NEW YORK — Dan Jennings' ability to render lefty hitters useless with a sinker that gets beaten into the ground and Lucas Duda's power to blast baseballs off and over outfield walls should make the Rays better.

    Lucas Duda
  4. Bucs' direction is decidedly up for first time in several years


    TAMPA — If you want to see a team give the Heisman Trophy stiff-arm to expectations, check out the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

    Tight end O.J. Howard (20), the Bucs’ first-round draft pick this year, was brought in to give QB Jameis Winston another big-play option.
  5. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Friday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays relief pitcher Austin Pruitt (50) in the dugout during the ninth inning of the game between the New York Yankees and the Tampa Bay Rays on Opening Day at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, April 2, 2017. The Tampa Bay Rays beat the New York Yankees 7-3.