Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hillsborough: All-county boys soccer

Boys soccer

T.J. Roehn, Jr., Berkeley Prep

Why we picked him: Roehn, a forward, had surgery before the season and there were questions as to whether he would miss his junior year, coach Tim Cooper said. Roehn played but was often double- and triple-teamed. In the playoffs, he scored seven goals and had six assists through the state semifinals before a leg injury, which had a profound impact in a 2-1 loss.

Most impressive accomplishment: Roehn's preseason injury forced him to go from an explosive goal scorer to more of a team player. He scored 26 goals and added 21 assists anyway.

Future plans: Roehn, who plans to play in college, is looking at Indiana, Maryland, Duke and USF.

Did you know? Not too long ago, Roehn starred in a dodgeball tournament and found himself looking at the opponent and facing elimination. Roehn caught the ball and won the tournament for his team.

First team

F Andrew Buckley, Jr., Tampa Catholic: Led Hillsborough County in scoring with 29 goals and six assists

F Billy Fanning, Jr., Durant: Led the Cougars with 26 goals

F J.D. Post, Sr., Berkeley Prep: Had 23 goals and seven assists

F Deion Jones, Sr., Freedom: Scored 14 goals with 17 assists

MF Manny Martes, Sr., Freedom: Despite injuries, scored 12 goals with 12 assists

MF Eri Jacobs, Sr., Berkeley Prep: Scored 20 goals and had 20 assists

MF Joey Rosati, Sr., Berkeley Prep: Led the Bucs with 22 assists and eight goals

D Freeman Bass, Sr., Durant: Anchor of the defense

D Matt Noble, Sr., Wharton: A must-have in the back to contain the opposition

D Matt Felman, Sr., Berkeley Prep: Helped limit opponents to 22 goals for the season

GK Kyle Peel, Sr., Freedom: Made momentum-swinging postseason saves with a 1.00 goals-against average

Second team

F Cecil Clarke, Sr., Durant F Keith Sierra, Sr., Jesuit F Taylor Nalls, Jr., Freedom F Sebastian Matta, Sr., Sickles MF Daniel Lopez, Sr., Armwood MF Anthony Baumann, Jr., Tampa Prep MF Jorge Chirinos, Sr., Leto D James Crater, Sr., Jesuit D Mike Panter, Sr., Freedom D Gil Davis, Jr., Sickles GK Alex Jenkins, Sr., Berkeley

Honorable mention

Alonso: Chase Faulmann, Alejandro Garcia, Jonathan Thomas, Tristan Velez; Berkeley Prep: Matt Felman; Bloomingdale: Shawn Ballentine, Tevin Gage; Brandon: Brad Keefe; Cambridge: Blake Herber, Matt Kazanski; Durant: Connor Bass, Freeman Bass, Leandro Mesquita; East Bay: David Castillo, Brandon Romero, Miguel Cerveleon; Gaither: John Nardozzi, Josh Santos, Jordan See, Zach Wheeler; Hillsborough: Daniel Barboto, Evan Colborne; Jesuit: Corey Anderson, Aaron Burrell, Stephen Gathman, Robert Kouwe, Russell Moore; King: C.R. Lewis; Lennard: Jose Galarza, Johnathan Ospina; Leto: Cesar Camino, Jesse Dickerson, Hugo Ramos; Middleton: Judeson Faustin, Zack Wehr; Newsome: Matt Carbone, Steven Gonzalez, Kyle Hollingsworth; Plant: Ethan Bayne, Spencer Muratides; Plant City: Brian Fekete; Riverview:Ozzie Ayra-Soto; Robinson: Tony Seleznick; Sickles: Boris Simeunovic, Brandon Stout; Tampa Catholic: Chris Hoffman; Tampa Prep: Drew Goldsberry, Wes Sever, Alex Tuch; Wharton: Jacob Cohen, Will Hunt, Gerald Sheaffer, Alex Stickley

Coach of the Year

Dennis Derflinger, Freedom. For the first time in school history, the Patriots reached a final four and a state title game. In the postseason, they blew out foes with power offense. The balance and guidance from Derflinger provided an intangible recipe for success.

Hillsborough: All-county boys soccer 03/21/09 [Last modified: Saturday, March 21, 2009 11:31pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. College World Series: Gators, LSU face off in all-SEC finals


    OMAHA, Neb. — The matchup for the College World Series finals bolsters the case for those who say the best baseball in the land is played in the SEC.

    Florida’s Brady Singer, delivering during a CWS win over Louisville last week, is scheduled to start tonight against LSU.
  2. Jones: Fox Sports Sun shows depth in Rays coverage

    TV and Radio

    tom jones' two cents

    Tampa Bay Times columnist Tom Jones looks back at the best and worst from a weekend of televised sports.

    Best coverage

    Tampa Bay Rays third baseman Evan Longoria (3) makes a run home for a score in the in the final game of a three-game series between the Tampa Bay Rays and AL East rival the Baltimore Orioles at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, June 25, 2017.
  3. Brian Boyle says returning to Lightning a 'huge option'


    As former Lightning forward Brian Boyle approaches free agency this week, he said he's trying to stay busy.

    Former Tampa Bay Lightning player center Brian Boyle (24), on the ice during first period action at the Amalie Arena in Tampa on March 16, 2017.
  4. Rays journal: Blake Snell to rejoin rotation, Erasmo Ramirez heads to bullpen

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — LHP Blake Snell is rejoining the Rays' rotation, but the move has as much to do with helping the bullpen as it does with Snell's improvement during his time at Triple-A Durham.

    Tampa Bay Rays relief pitcher Erasmo Ramirez (30) delivers a pitch in the first inning against the Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, June 21, 2017 in St. Petersburg.
  5. Rays' bullpen stars lit up in loss to Orioles

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Saturday it was the soft underbelly of the bullpen that let one get away from the Rays, incurring the wrath of the team's faithful followers, who wondered why the high-leverage guys weren't pitching.

    Rays closer Alex Colome, coming in with the score tied in the ninth, allows three runs in his second straight poor outing.